We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food Great Vibe!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chico, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food Great Vibe!!!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

As we were trekking along LCI we came upon this gem. Feeling hungry & thirsty we decided to have lunch. Best decision. The food was amazing & the piña coladas were absolutely the best we ever had. We had the pleasure of talking with owners. Cool people :)
We are hoping to come back next Dec. & stay at Beach Bungalow. Great location, food & vibe.
Cheers to a blessed New Year, Alie from Cali

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
It's great that you trekked right up to the Turned Turtle Restaurant and we did not let you down.

We hope you return next year and stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow with other travelers. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    59
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
79
278
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We didn't stay here (it was booked), but we wish we had! We spent our time hanging out, eating here and loved it! Great service, perfect access to beach, and GREAT breakfast!! Highly recommend! Very nice bungalows

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are happy you found us. Because we are on the remote beach side of the island people frequently miss the Turned Turtle Restaurant as they have not passed by. The good news though is that while it seems remote, it is only a 15 minute walk across the island from the "hustle and bustle" of the village side. We hope you come back to LCI soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port McNeill, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I walked by this place as we were touring little corn island and instantly had to stop at this place on first view. With the beachside bungalows and hammocks it is a perfect place to chill and relax with the amazing view. Unfortunately we were staying elsewhere and they were full, but the next time we come it will be a must stay. We decided to stay and enjoy a cocktail at least and were blown away by the pina colada topped with roasted shaved coconut. Now, if I only had the recipe! Guess it'll have to wait until the next time on Little Corn Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steepndeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks so much for giving us a try! That Pina Colada is loved by many :) Please do consider staying with us the next time you are on the island. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here in June of 2013 and had an amazing time. The bungalows were perfect and the location is unreal. My husband and I did the RADD package and it made sense for us... the restuarant on site is probably one of the best on the island so might as well take advantage. We had a couple of small issues while we were there (ironing out some billing problems with the dive shop and a small stumble that left me a little scrapped and in need of disinfectant) and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate. Things to keep in mind - you're on an island. There are limited resources: everyone will do what they can to get you what you need but be a little flexible. LCBB is rustic - as is basically everything else on the island. If you are looking for an all-inclusive, luxury resort, you should probably not go to Little Corn Island. But if you are looking for a tropical paradise with spectacular views, wonderful food, and laid back atmosphere, look no further!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are very happy that the RADDeal worked out well for you. "Best place on the island" is high praise indeed and we want to honor that praise by doing all we can to make everyone's stay with us as enjoyable as possible. Thank you for the kind words and it was a pleasure having you stay with us! PS: We hope you healed up all right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We were really impressed with our stay, the food and service!
We stayed and ate for 2 days and fully enjoyed ourselves. the staff is amazing!!!!
When we went to settle up our bill we were disappointed to be charged 12% credit card fees when everyone else on the island charges 5%.
We payed a lot for our room and food over $300! 12% was a little steep for us plus tax! Left us feeling a little upset that they charge more then anyone else.
We would have payed cash but the ATM was down on big corn.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dombomb2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We are very happy that our food, service and your stay overall impressed you and your family. And we agree too . . . our staff is amazing!

We are sorry though that these guests were disappointed with the 12% fee (remember there is no bank on the remote tropical island that our business is located upon).

We notify everyone about this fee with every email, on the first page of our website, at your cabin introduction and on the first page of the in cabin information guide. We do recommend that people that would like to avoid the fee bring cash to pay the balance of their bill or expenses on the island in general because all businesses who offer this convenience charge up to 10% (we charge 12% because that happens to be our cost as all of our card banking is done through the United States).

Unfortunately, we are on a remote tropical where we have no bank, ATM (the one that failed these island visitors is on Big Corn Island and their experience with the ATM further illustrates the frustration faced by businesses on LCI when it comes getting money to the island), mail or western union. All of our credit card transactions go through our US bank. Somehow the money that we need here on Little Corn where all of our bills are created and must be paid with cash has to find its way back to the island (again, there is no bank, atm, mail or western union, but quirky little things like that are what make our island special).

Between the credit card company/bank charges, transaction fees and the cost to get the money here our actual cost to provide the convenience of using a card is 12%.

We are very sorry about the reality of this situation and urge everyone to please bring US$ or Nicaraguan currency to the island to avoid any extra charges from ours or any business offering this convenience.

Safe travels, see you on LCI soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Little Corn Beach & Bungalow is a little slice of paradise heaven. Wonderful people work at this resort and the accommodations are basic but comfortable. The key word here is ECO - if you're looking for a place with air conditioning, all the hot water and toilet flushing you can waste, this is not the place for you.

But if you are into sustainability and as little impact as possible in harming the environment, this is your spot. If you're an animal lover, you will love this place. After seeing so many starving dogs throughout Nicaragua, it was wonderful to see so many healthy happy dogs roaming around. The owners started a spay/neuter program on the island 5 years ago that is obviously paying off.

The food at the resort was absolutely delicious - every meal we had was memorable.

There are only 2 things I want to mention. If you are arriving from Big Corn after dark, be sure to have a flashlight or headlamp on you. The guys that transported our luggage obviously know the trail very well and had no light source on them. It had rained before we arrived and it was a good 15 minute walk through mud and sludge to get to the resort - if we hadn't had a flashlight, it would have been a nightmare.

Also, I feel like the website is a bit misleading when it talks about the reef you can snorkel right off their beach. I'm an avid snorkeler and a good swimmer, but the reef in my opinion is a bit too far to swim to. If you walk a short distance down the beach, there are some rocks that offer a better place to enter the water and see some fish, but really, the snorkeling is not that great. If you haven't done much, it's probably fine, but if you've been to places known for good snorkeling, it might be a disappointment. We did do one excursion from a boat and saw a couple nurse sharks and 3 spotted eagle rays, but the water was very murky, the coral is in very sad shape and overall, I was disappointed. Maybe the day we went wasn't ideal conditions because I did hear other people talk about the amazing experiences they had. I think it's mostly about expectation and what your prior experiences have been.

Overall, if you want a beautiful spot to relax and chill away the days, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogsitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We are always excited to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us! Good food, friendly staff and comfortable clean accommodations are our goal.

We are grateful too for the feed back on the trip across the island. We work constantly with our staff to remind them of all of the nuances of making visitor to the island comfortable. We have reviewed procedure with our guys and think they will get better.

In regard to snorkeling here is what we say on our website FAQs page:

Can I snorkel to the reef from the beach?

Yes. The reef stretches about half way around the island on the East and North end. The inside of the reef is anywhere from 150 to 200 yards off the beach (as it is in front of LCBB) to as close as 50 yards at other locations. However, there is Tarpon Channel, an opening in the reef directly off shore from LCB&B. We suggest that you be aware of this and plan your snorkeling accordingly. Typically, it is safe to swim and snorkel right off the beach, but please use your personal knowledge about your swimming abilities and comfort levels to determine when, where and if you go snorkeling.

There is also a big map of LCI above our bar that shows the relative closeness of the reef to the beach all of the way around the island to help our guests and visitors orient themselves.

We urge anyone that is coming to stay with us or to the island in general to review our FAQs page completely to help avoid any surprises when you "reach".

Thanks so much to this guest for letting us know about their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We loved this place. Granted, it is a bit more expensive than most hotels on Little Corn, but why not spend a little extra for the best place on an already beautiful island?

We stayed in their biggest cabin and it is very comfortable and right on the beach. Their restaurant is really good, e.g. the fish with parmezan and lobster are to die for. The beach is very relaxed, lots of hammocks, great swimming, plenty of shadow and wind.

The service is really good - you can tell the staff has been trained really well by the American owners.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for all of the generous comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
1.1 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#6 of 7 in Big Corn Island
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Property: Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Address: | Cocal Beach, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Corn Beach and Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB) and Little Corn Island were recently listed in the New York Times #1 Best Selling Travel book, "1000 Places to See Before You Die." Recently, the Travel and Leisure website listed LCBB as 1 of 27 "Best Affordable Island Hotels" in the world. Come and join us on this beautiful remote tropical island. Experience an extraordinarily scenic and unique Caribbean world while stepping back in time. We offer relative comfort while respecting the island's delicate eco system. No cars, motorcycles, golf carts or airport disguise the fact that it is relatively easy to find this paradise. Come and see Little Corn Island before it becomes just another Caribbean island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Little Corn Beach and Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Hotel Little Corn Island
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing