We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, relaxing, no worries, fishing, snorkeling, reading...when can I go back...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxing, no worries, fishing, snorkeling, reading...when can I go back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB) is even better than advertised. Even my wife was pleased : ) This was our first trip to Nicaragua - usually we go to the Bahamas.
1) The travel to the island was as described: flights to Managua then to Big Corn Island, then the Panga to Little Corn, and a 15 minute hike to the Hotel (the staff met us at the dock to carry our luggage). No problems with the travel, just a long day. (Details: $10 pp entry tax at Managua imigration; $2 pp tax for La Costenga airlines; $.25 pp tax for the Panga - one dollar confuses them, until we said "no change please"; and the cab from the Big Corn airport to the Panga was $1 each---who knows when the prices will change, but things are inexpensive so bring plenty of small bills.)
2) We arrived on the afternoon Panga, so it was dark when we got to LCBB. The staff greeted us and told us about the resort, showed us our room, and left us to get organized. We were tired and chose to have drinks, eat dinner and go to bed.
3)LCBB is great. We booked the Crusoe cabin with the king bed, no loft. The bed was really comfy and we are picky. We also booked the D and A package. This was a perfect choice for us...I was able to use the kayaks when I wanted, I never had to worry about meals, the beer was cold and unlimited (we love the Tonya), and the water was good and safe (I have traveled to Mexico, Belize, and Guatemala many times in the past and I always get ill -sometimes really badly -for a few days. On this trip, I never had a problem!)
4)Food. Awesome! Our favorite breakfasts were the French Toast and Eggs Benedict. For lunch, the fish tacos barely outshone the cheeseburger. Dinner had so many good choices, but our favorite was the fish with the curry sauce (made with coconut milk - you will have a lot of coconut on the island, served in different ways, all good). Of course the grass fed beef filet or the local lobster were darn good too. Not to mention the salads and desserts from the four course dinner...I would say that we did not have one bad meal in six days. The portions were enough that we could split a breakfast and lunch, and often did. (we never split dinner, which was why we were so full in the mornings). And the coffee is great!
5)Activities. I like to fish. My wife likes to snorkel and read. We did not come here to use computers or phones, so we did not (though you could, but I have no idea of the internet speed).
The snorkeling was good-$15 pp or less if on the D and A package and they pick you up at the resort beach. We brought our own gear, but you do not need to. The guides, and a guide is in the water with you at all times, have a snorkeling route and covers a lot of ground. If you want to go slowly, you might want to talk to the guide in advance. The coral is nice though it is bleached and broken in a lot of places. The staghorn coral is the standout here. The fish are in good numbers, but to see the big fish you will probably have to do a dive trip. It was apparent to me that the reef has been heavily fished over the years. Don't be discouraged though, it was absolutely worth the time to snorkel...there are turtles, rays and big nurse sharks in good numbers.
Fishing. We hired a guide to take us trolling. $100 (less on the D and A package) for 3 hours of trolling off the reef for barracuda and king mackeral. They would take you bottom fishing if you asked. We caught some fish and had a nice time. Details: the boat was a Panga, the seats were hard, the gear is old but functional, there is no cooler with ice, and the guides are great - we had fun. I also brought a spin rod with 10lb test to fish from the beach for Bonefish. I did really well on 2 to 5 lb fish and had a blast. Next time I will bring a fly rod. And it was free...The fishing here reminds me of what Hemingway's days must have been like in his day!
Reading and Relaxing. We had great weather...85 degrees, mostly sunny, 10 to 15 mph East wind (you are facing East on the resort beach). The resort has hammocks in the shade, wood chairs in your cabins and near the beach (they are better with a towel if you sit for a while - cushions would be better), and beach towels were provided by LCBB. The beach is narrow and the sun is gone by 3pm or so. Of course it gets light at 5am and is dark by 6pm (you are near the equator). My wife brought an inflatible pillow and read a lot of books comfortably in the sun. I fished and swam.
Things of note: There is no shopping on the island. Drink the rum and Tonya beer if you like those type of beverages. Hire a guide for a walking tour of the island. Bring bug spray, but don't expect to use much unless the wind dies. Cold showers feel great, because it is not really cold. Don't come if you do not like camping... Bring lots of books and plan to leave them. Have fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harrison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    58
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
73
266
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Literally one of the best places I have ever stayed. Food was superb, room was immaculate and the owners were very charming, very reasonable prices too. I really liked the attention to detail in the rooms and restaurant and it is clear that a lot of care has gone into designing the cabins and also in trying to minimize the environmental impact on the island. Travel accommodation rarely leaves much of an impression on me but this place definitely stands out as a real gem. I can't wait to go back and i highly recommend it to anybody planning to visit Little Corn.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorimer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you're looking for relaxing beachside holiday then LCBB is the perfect place for you. The bungalows we stayed in were delightful and the bed unexpectedly comfortable for such a low-key location. When you're not in bed there are also several hammocks to lie in strung up amongst the dense palm trees sheltering the property from the seashore.

After sleep the second most important thing on a holiday is food. The meals at the restaurant are terrific and everything on the menu is worth sampling at least once during your stay. We only dined out elsewhere once. The lobster portions are huge and the pulled pork sandwiches are something to write home about. I also really enjoyed the coconut and chocolate cookies and pina coladas.

The yoga at Firefly studio was great and offered daily. The open-air studio is nestled in the palm forest behind the bungalows, providing a tranquil setting to stretch and meditate. Sarah the teacher is really sweet and engaging. All levels are accommodated and she can tailor the instruction on the spot to isolate and soothe any aches in the body. Massage is also available.

LCBB really is the best place for you to stay. Book it now!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here back in November last year and am just writing this review in response to the reviews i have been reading. Most of the reviews are right on. The owners are great. Very responsive and pay attention to the littlest detail. The staff was friendly. The food was incredible, really some of the best resort food we have ever eaten, and we have travelled all over the Caribbean, South America, Central America and Hawaii.

My guess is that for the two or three whiners who are complaining, there is another side to the story.

When you get to LCBB, you will get exactly what they advertise, and it is a great bargain and one of the few remaining genuine getaways available anywhere. We hope to get back soon.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get one of the beachfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottBTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Having spent 3 weeks travelling around Nicaragua, we saved the best 'til last and Little Corn B&B did not disappoint. We had a fairly smooth panga ride over and were met at the dock by a nice young man with a wheelbarrow for our luggage and proceeded to walk 10 minutes to the other side of the small island to the idyllic spot where Little corn B&B is located.
We were greeted by very friendly staff who never seemed to stop smiling throughout out stay, nothing was ever too much trouble for the girls in the restaurant. The food was world class, we ate all our meals in the restaurant - there was always plenty of choice, from filet mignon to fresh lobster and all very reasonably priced considering the location. We enjoyed coffee being delivered to our cabana early each morning and cocktails throughout the day - I can't think of anything more relaxing than drinking mudslides, lying in a hammock on a beautiful Caribbean beach!
The resort itself was kept spotlessly clean, staff cleared the seaweed off the beach and the grounds were swept twice a day, cabanas were immaculate and we hardly saw any bugs the whole time we were there.
Scot and Kristine were perfect hosts and Lola the parrot provided much entertainment with her choice vocabulary and her night time escapades!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
WOW! We still get very excited when we it all comes together for us as a hotel and our guests leave very happy! Thanks so much for the very kind review.

We are especially happy that you enjoyed the" Dining and Activities" package that you chose. We are constantly working on improving our food, drinks, atmosphere, accommodation and of course most of all VALUE. It is good to see that our staffs hard work is paying off.

Thanks for taking the time to offer up your experience and we hope that we may see you back on LCI someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is about as high end as Little Corn gets. You do pay more for the "polished" nature of the place, but the location is incredible, and after long travel days to get there...it's nice to have a beautiful and clean place to crash.

It's an easy 5 minute walk to the main "village", and you have your choice of a couple of routes to take for variety.

We stayed in the "bunkhouse" which is behind the main casitas (they are beachfront), as it was more within out price range. It was fine, had the ocean breeze filtering in anyway, and had a nice comfy bed. It is located right next to the "utility" building at which all the washing, cleaning, etc for the resort gets done. So it was a bit noisy sometimes, and the smell of cleaning solvents was present fairly often. But this was mainly during the day, and what the heck would we want to be inside for during the day?!

We ate a few meals here at the turned turtle cafe, but found them just fair. The fish they were serving was not locally caught, which struck me as odd...as they are surrounded by water. Prices were on the high side, and sides were a steamed vegetable medly...from a bag like we get here in the USA. I don't like it here, and I had hoped for something more there, though I understand that fruits and veggies are hard to come by on Little Corn. I guess for the price, I'd just have expected the extra effort.

We didn't feel that the owners were "uptight", just well organized. They run a nice place and it shows.

Overall, the place was clean, well run, and in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are very happy that our guest enjoyed their stay with us.

We very much appreciate when a guest will take the time to share not only the good things about our hotel, but also in a positive way help us look at the things we can improve upon.

To that end . . . the Bunkhouse accommodations are significantly lower in price than our beach front cabins. There are a few reasons for this: garden location, shared bathroom, no hot shower and yes . . . one of them is close to the laundry wash area. We are constantly working with our staff to help them appreciate how their actions can affect a guests experience. With this feed back we are going to continue helping them understand that noise or the excessive use of detergents etc. can negatively impact our guest experience.

The Turned Turtle restaurant actually does use some frozen bagged vegetables. Contrary to what some would believe, fresh fruits and vegetables are rare on the island (except during certain brief prime seasons on the island). This means that all most all of these food stuffs must be brought from the mainland via truck, then ocean freighter and entailing an almost 7 day journey.

But, we also steam fresh vegetables, offer spinach, fresh steamed brocolli with hollandaise sauce and fresh soups. The bagged veggies are a back up to limited supply and used as an addition to certain fresh vegetable dishes.

Our fish IS locally caught (we are not sure where this guest got the idea that it is not?). Because the local fisherman are not very reliable, we soon learned that if we wanted to offer fresh fish on a consistent basis (we feel that consitency is one of the hall marks of a quality restaurant) we had to procure a more reliable source. Our fish is actually brought from Big Corn Island and purchased at the local business that buys fish from all the local fisherman. This allows us to ALWAYS offer every item listed on the menu.

Thanks for letting us share this information with you.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

These folks really have done a great job in making a well-managed, detailed to comfort (as best as could be expected in the locale) bungalow operation in a remote island. We stayed at a Gulliver suite. Over the past 25 years, we have stayed at remote bungalow operations throughout SE Asia and Caribbean...dozens if not nearing a hundred establishments. This place, granted now that we have money to afford this quality, is one of our favorites. The best of LCBB: pina colada (really the best ever with roasted coconut), very attentive and friendly service, multiple fans, feet rinsing container at bungalow steps, very clean, and many other great impressions. It is a very challenging accomplishment to make this level of quality in a remote location. They have done a great job.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OMJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
10.8 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#6 of 7 in Little Corn Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#7 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Property: Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Address: Cocal Beach, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Corn Beach and Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB) and Little Corn Island were recently listed in the New York Times #1 Best Selling Travel book, "1000 Places to See Before You Die". Recently, the Travel and Leisure website listed LCBB as 1 of 27 "Best Affordable Island Hotels" in the world. Come and join us on this beautiful remote tropical island. Experience an extraordinarily scenic and unique Caribbean world while stepping back in time. We offer relative comfort while respecting the islands delicate eco system. No cars, motorcycles, golf carts or airport disguise the fact that it is relatively easy to find this paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Little Corn Beach and Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Hotel Little Corn Island
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing