We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farm Peace & Love
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Los Delfines(Little Corn Island)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Dobedo(Little Corn Island)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
3 Brothers(Little Corn Island)(Great Value!)
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Sea View(Little Corn Island)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel(Little Corn Island)
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sunshine Hotel(Little Corn Island)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Christina's GuestHouse(Little Corn Island)
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
DreamCatcher(Little Corn Island)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Ensuenos(Little Corn Island)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Carlito's Sunrise Paradise(Little Corn Island)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
34
4
3
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
4
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh eggsthe main houseoutdoor showerevery morningthe north endpaolabingstarfruitcottagecoconutlimeshandmadesoapprivacyislandcornfishing
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 46 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We did not stay at this establishment. But we had read reviews that the restaurant was really good so we decided to try it out. Paula the owner/operator was very cold and unwelcoming. It was almost as if we were not Italian so we were second class.
The food was O.k. if it was priced at $10.00 but at $45.00 - what a rip-off. We were truly dissapointed with Farm Peace and Love.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
5  Thank Prime_Sandy_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Farm Peace and Love was exactly what it promised, a relaxing and unhurried environment. Paola made sure we received first class treatment too. We booked our room at the Best Western, so we could take the earliest flight to Little Corn from Managua. The people from Best Western were waiting with our names on a list and drove us to the hotel across the street; they dropped us back off in the morning too. When we arrived from Managua to Big Corn, Paola’s and Bing's nephew, Elvis picked us up and brought us to the dock where we were to catch our panga to Little Corn. On arrival at Little Corn we didn't even get off the panga, Paola and Bing were there to pick us up, and we simply moved to the their boat.
Paola keeps her house stocked with wine and beer for guests. She will run a tab for you that you can pay for at the end of your vacation including dinners and boat rides. You can go to town to pick up snacks. We had come after the hurricane, so we didn't find much in the way of fruit to eat, but I imagine it would have been better if we had been there when the trees were producing. We had dinner with at her place every night except for two where we went to Eusuenos, which was just as good – a little more rustic housing.
The beach out front is great and you can snorkel right under the little windmill and see fish. I had a fairly large stingray swim up next to me in maybe 3 feet of water. Have Bing take you on the boat to White Hole to get the real snorkel experience. You can see the break from the beach in front of Farm Peace and Love. We brought our own equipment, but they do have equipment at the house that they will rent to you.
The cottage I rented was perfect. I wasn't expecting anything over the top. I got what I was expecting. The front deck is great for making friends with the chickens. :) We saw a few giant iguanas and land crabs, so you feel a little like you are experiencing a nature show, less the mosquitoes, which was perfectly fine with me.
I love this place. I would recommend it to all of my friends (and I have).

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank playinginthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Farm Peace and Love is the picture of paradise. Practically empty white sand beach dotted with shady palms. Clear warm water chocked full of snorkeling sights. Bing picks you up from the chaos of the ferry dock and spirits you away from the crowded, tourist-ridden village to the quiet, peaceful beach of Farm Peace and Love. No sweaty 30 minute hike thru the jungle hauling your bags! Huge hibiscus plants dot the property with color, feeding the few iguanas who you might be lucky enough to see. In the morning as you sit in the shade at the table on your deck, Bing may walk up with a fresh-baked loaf of coconut bread, fresh eggs and some coconuts opened for you to drink from. You might follow breakfast by reading in the hammock on your porch, or walking across the lawn to the beach, where you can set up a chair in the shade and watch the sea as a ray swims by. Or go for a horseback ride with Paola. Or maybe Bing will take you out past the reef to snorkel. The walk to town is a hot 30 min thru the jungle each way, but you could be very happy staying at the Farm for a delicious Italian dinner made by Paola with ingredients like fresh mozarella and good red wine that you would never expect to find on this island. The place is heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CampIsGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Farm “Peace and Love”, Little Corn Island, Nicaragua:

At the outset, let me state a few pointers for this trip: ideally one should use back-packs and travel very light. Laundry can be done almost anywhere – many locals will do this for a small fee. With temperatures in February around 27 to 31 C in the shade, not much is really needed.
Bring a flashlight and spare batteries for whatever electronics you have – charging may be possible, but only in a few places. Bring at least one beach towel, matches, and a few candles. The farm has wi-fi and you can use Paola’s lap-top for a small fee. You should be able to use “Firefox” in Spanish.

The farm is situated on the North shore of the island, between “Ensuenos” and “Derek’s Place”. The beach, which is kept natural, is protected by an outer reef, which makes for great diving, snorkeling and fishing. The water temperature in February was around
27 C.

It is a working farm: fruit, sugar cane, chicken, horses, and I believe we saw a cow in the distance. There are two dogs and at least one cat – all very friendly.
To get to the farm, we flew “La Costena” from Managua to Corn Island, had breakfast there and caught the 10:00 water taxi to Little Corn Island. There we were picked up by our host by boat for another 15 minute trip.
The flight from Managua is worth every penny, if you get one of the smaller planes – you see so much more and it’s very casual.
The water taxi (panga boat) ride outward, can be rough, even in good weather, since the young drivers keep slamming the boats at top speed into the swells, translating the hard impact on the water through your derriere and tailbone (sit on the life jacket, unless they make you wear it – seems optional, depending on driver). In really bad weather they don’t run and you need to have a back-up plan. The return trip is usually very smooth and faster than the outbound trip. You are going with the swells. Cost C$ 110 p.p. and trip.

At the farm, we stayed in the “suite”, which is attached to the main house. It provided us with a bedroom, bath room with flush toilet (!) & running cold water, an outdoor shower, a pantry kitchen and a lovely porch with chairs and a hammock. The place was very clean and daily maid service was provided. The bed had a very good mattress and a mosquito net – we never saw any of these pests though.
The kitchen was basic equipped and we did cook some meals. There was a propane stove which worked very well, and a small bar fridge – power was on 75% of the time, so keep the fridge closed as much as you can. If you bring anything, a good knife will go a long way (I always carry a decent Buck Knife), and so will a small bottle of olive oil (we brought one of these 300 ml spray bottles made of Aluminum). The host provided us initially with milk, butter, some eggs, some tea, very good coffee (cannot get it on the islands), sugar, flour, salt, bread and a small jar of jam. We did get more fresh eggs during the stay (you see the chicken everywhere, go to bed with them and wake up to the cock’s call in the morning  ),and the rest we replenished in the village, which is a comfortable ½ hour walk through the woods (no danger anywhere!).
On the farm, you can drink the water from the tap – we did, and as I write, never a “twinge”. They do have their own well and a good septic system far from it.
The local stores have all the basics – rice, beans, some chicken, fruits, some vegetables, potatoes etc. – selection is limited and by weekend usually low, until the supply boat comes in again. Wine, beer (very good), Rum etc. is everywhere to be had in the stores. “Oliver’s” is a good choice in the village. Fresh bread you can get daily in the village - some women bake around 3:00 PM, just ask where.
On the farm you can help yourself to whatever fruits you find on the trees – during our visit this was basically coconuts (great to drink), Oranges and limes. The bananas were still very small and too young, pineapples also still very small and not ready. There were some ripe papayas. The oranges and limes were great juiced with gin and a shot of pineapple juice or sprite (no Tonic anywhere to be had). Keep the bottle in the fridge, the ice cubes took three days to form. There is a small herb garden, where you also can help yourself.
The coffee, as already stated, was of excellent quality and the Espresso type. The pot provided was a very small (two demi tasse) size and should be larger. We had to make two pots in the morning, to get one decent cup each. If someone wants to step up, bring a larger model and leave it behind (http://www.ineedcoffee.com/06/moka/ ).
Our host, Paola, also served dinner on request – just advise her in the morning. Three courses (pasta, main, and dessert) for US 18.00, drinks extra. She also has wine and cold beer, but the wine is cheaper at the village grocer. If you stay longer, buy a case of beer from the depot in town and get your host to transport it by boat.
The food was good, although a bit high sodium; for a change of fare, you can go to any of the other places (Ensuenos, Derek’s, Casa Iguana etc.) around the island, advise them in the morning and then join them for dinner in the evening. We met some very nice and interesting people this way. For the trip back “home” you will need your flashlight. There are also a few small restaurants in the village. Habana Libre, next to the Farm the most expensive of the lot, but very good food (expensive used as compared to others and the cost of living on these islands in general).

The beach is only thirty paces away from the house, and palm trees provide a good shade canopy to within 25 ft of the water line. This was very welcome, since the sun is strong. There were some simple chairs, a “lounge” and the best, some hammocks. A welcome breeze was usually present – this and a cold Toña while swinging in a hammock was pure bliss. If you feel energetic, you can walk along the beach for miles and you can cross the island comfortably in an hour. The part of the beach out front is one of the most scenic ones on the island and makes for great photography. But you will find many more interesting places on your hikes.
There is also a self contained bungalow on the farm, but since it was occupied, we did not see it. The people renting it while we were there had no complaints.
The hosts are very friendly and will help you with whatever you need. If you wish to be left alone, they do this as well. The place is at the high end of the scale for accommodations on Little Corn, but then you have electrical power and a really lovely spot to spend your time. And you are at the quiet end of the island – ideal for those who seek true R & R.
There was a small safe bolted to the floor in our bedroom – for your extra cash and passports. Other than that, we slept by open doors and windows, and doors were never locked, even when we went out. A good feeling and one of the few places I know we could still do this.



Below a few useful links:
Map link: http://www.bigcornisland.com/files/Dive_map_Little_Corn_Island.pdf
Island link: http://www.bigcornisland.com/index.html

Note: C$ = Cordoba

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank amphitryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews