We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. Don't even consider it.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlito's Sunrise Paradise
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Overpriced, awful shacks. That wasn't the worst part. The staff are rude and bandits. I can't recall being treated so poorly in all my travels. Honestly, don't consider this place. If you are looking for budget and basic, go two doors down to Elsa's.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lisanwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 110 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

It's hard to complain when you're on beautiful little corn island. The beaches and people are so beautiful so we spent most of our time outside. Though we were bummed out about paying 50$ a night for extremely basic shacks. Like others have said, the service is definitely lacking. We needed to ask for toilet paper, towels, and when we had entered our room there were no sheets. In our 5 day stay they never came to empty our trash, change the sheets, or offer new towels and toilet paper. These things are all fine if you're paying a significantly smaller amount of money.

In terms of location however, it was quite convenient. On the eastern side, it received a lot of wind and was a short distance from town (15-20 mins). I've read that the beach has eroded, or disappeared over by carlitos which meant that our hut was literally 5-10 feet from the water. These waters are not the calm light blue you might imagine, though we swam our share here. You'll have to hike up further north for the outrageously beautiful waters.

Ultimately, I'd recommend you look into Elsa's place or the Cool Spot (which are right next door to carlitos) or stay further up north and endure the trek!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Caity O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I booked 5 nights here with a double room and kitchen for $80 a night thinking I might get one of their better cabins, NOT.
Rooms are very basic and expected but this place was trashed. The kitchen was a Colman like stove, rusty sink, two pots and a refer that dint work. front porch was 3 feet from the main trail for the beach traffic. My wife and her sister could not stay here so while I was out fishing they moved next door to Elsa's for 1/2 the price, but they forgot one of my bags with my Ipad. They held it hostage until I bucked up another $80, unbelievable. We contacted the police but they were no help. They bad mouthed and cussed at us, it was a very terrible experience, they just don't give a dam about anyone. We talked to a few other people that moved out and disgruntled as well. Avoid this place, there are plenty of other places for much less that will take good care of you right next door.

Room Tip: There is no good room here, service is the worst I have ever had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location is great for catching the breezes and waves of the east side of Little Corn. The dwelling is extremely basic. The bedding is questionable at best and I left with a nasty spider bite after 1 night. Would not recommend for the faint of heart.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank bertholet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The huts at Carlito's/Sunrise Paradise are very basic. We didn't have a mosquito net though other cabins did. Our hut also seemed to be infested with ants, and we did see a couple of cockroaches, but I would assume that's common anywhere on the island. We needed to ask for toilet paper and in the 9 nights we stayed, they did not clean the room, empty the toilet bin or offer us new towels. We had to move the bed because we got soaked when it started raining as the ceiling leaks. But you can't beat the location. Wide porches set very closely to the beach, some have hammocks. You're close enough to town but also halfway between nicer swimming beaches to the North and South (we recommend heading north). The other guests were super friendly and we made lots of friends. We ate breakfast at the restaurant twice but soon learned there are better and cheaper breakfasts elsewhere. They were constantly out of food (even basics like rice and beans). The staff are unfriendly. We'd go back because we loved the strong sea breeze we got in the location and the front porch, but you might be able to find slightly nicer places for the same amount or less.

Room Tip: They had less expensive cabins in the second or third row but I think it's worth it to have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Wanderer127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was a little surprised at how basic this bungalow was for $45 a night. Don't expect much from the staff either, they aren't particularly friendly or welcoming. When we asked for towels we were told they would them bring them to us - they never materialised. We checked out after one night and moved to west side of the island.

Carlitos is in a lovely location, right on the waterfront but the beach on the east side of the island is sadly not what it was 12 months ago. Currently, there is not much space in front of the bungalows. We thought the lack of beach was due to the time of year and the wind but when we chatted to the locals they said it disappear last year and they feared it was lost for good! The pictures of the wide beach are not currently the reality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed @ Carlito's for a week 1st week of April.

Pros: easy to book; the owner, Carlito, responded to my email within 24 hours; other accommodations took them 3-5 days to respond; cabins are steps away from the beach so you sleep in a sound of the waves; located in a peaceful part of the island; no bugs/mosquitoes during our entire stay; good for minimalist travelers; there's a greeter in the dock when you arrive with a wheel borrow for your stuff

Cons: if you need wifi to survive, this is not a place for you; amenities are limited; for me, no negative comment at all and will come back to this place again.

We stayed whole day outside and just went back our cabin to sleep @ night. Anyway, that's why we went to this island, to be in the beach and not to stay inside.

Room Tip: Ask for a front cabins. They're the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arleanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.4 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
269 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#2 of 7 in Big Corn Island
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlito's Sunrise Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlito's Sunrise Paradise

Address: Little Corn Island, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Little Corn Island
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlito's Place/Sunrise Paradise is set on the cool and breezy side of Little Corn Island, right on the beach. The turquoise Caribbean sea is steps away from your cabin. All cabins have a sea view, and windows on three sides let the breeze in to keep you cool at night. Each bed has a mosquito net. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet, wash basin and shower. Relax in a hammock on your own deck, gazing out over the sea, or pick one in the shade under a tree. Watch the sunrise from your deck, take a morning dip right out of bed, or book a snorkelling trip that leaves twice a day right from our beach. Carlito's Place is very quiet at night, but sunset drinks and live music in one of the island restaurants in the village are only a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlito`s Sunrise Paradise Hotel Little Corn Island
Carlito's Sunrise Paradise Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing