We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Setting in a paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carlito's Sunrise Paradise
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed @ Carlito's for a week 1st week of April.

Pros: easy to book; the owner, Carlito, responded to my email within 24 hours; other accommodations took them 3-5 days to respond; cabins are steps away from the beach so you sleep in a sound of the waves; located in a peaceful part of the island; no bugs/mosquitoes during our entire stay; good for minimalist travelers; there's a greeter in the dock when you arrive with a wheel borrow for your stuff

Cons: if you need wifi to survive, this is not a place for you; amenities are limited; for me, no negative comment at all and will come back to this place again.

We stayed whole day outside and just went back our cabin to sleep @ night. Anyway, that's why we went to this island, to be in the beach and not to stay inside.

Room Tip: Ask for a front cabins. They're the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arleanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights on this side of the island - beautiful setting.
Huts actually struck me as fairly quaint from the outside, very spartan within but hey you are unlikely to spend your daylight hours there nor should you be too judgemental at what is a fairly inexpensive rate. Forthcoming service is lacking but the staff should you need them are generally found around restaurant/reception area. Big fan of little corn island, and this place served it's purpose.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jl06agac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at Carlito's last week. It was wonderful! We were met at the boat when we arrived, with a white board with our name on it, and our back-packs were rolled to our cabin in a wheel barrel. We were immediately greeted and given a key to the cabin we had requested months earlier. It was right on the beach. The cabin is simple, but this is what we were looking for. Our stay was all about the experience on the beach, and meeting amazing locals and travelers - which we did. There was a group of people there that return for 3 weeks each year. Book early. It is getting harder to find a place to stay on Little Corn for those arriving without reservations. We met a few people that were moving to different places each night.
Carlito's is a great person. He helps local and travelers alike. The ladies working in the restaurant/office area are very helpful and make wonderful meals. You can pick up a Tona (beer) for 30 Cordova (about a $1.05), and they will add it to your bill. The atmosphere is quiet, but if you want a bit more, Cool Spot is next door, and it is a 15 minute walk to the Village for a late night. It is nice to return to your oasis after hitting the social spots.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyLyons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Dirty little shack, stay away! Rude owners, who suddenly speak English when there is a problem. The little twit worker called my husband and me liars when we informed them of the cock roach in the room. We left that day and only used the room for 2 hours to hold our bags. When we told the staff that we would not be staying there due to the roach they made us pay the full amount and made a big scene. Anywhere else on the island is better than this dirt hole!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Hazel-Ash-Organics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Carlito's is on a perfect spot on Little Corn Island. It's a picture-postcard beach, you can swim to the next reef right in front of the place and snorkel (if the sea is calm enough). As the east-coast of Little Corn is a bit windier, it's not as hot as the west-coast (around the Village) - that really helps to get some sleep.
The cabins are very basic. Nobody tried to make them pretty, but they are practical.
The service is more or less non-existant. If you don't ask, you don't get towels. And if you stay several days, they never come to clean or change towels. It's not quite clear when the restaurant is open. But the good news: beer is almost always available.
The guests were very friendly, with some 50% US pensioners who spend several weeks or months at Carlito's during winter.
We still think that Carlito's was a good choice, as the other places nearby are either more basic or very gringo-American. Grace's / Cool spot might be similar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandHVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Simple casita with two beds and private bath. Very simple, bathroom has a curtain not a door. I enjoyed my stay here for two nights. The first night was really windy, so I didn't sleep well, but I used my earplugs the 2nd night and slept much better. Some small improvements and I would give this place a perfect 5. Perhaps add hooks so the curtain doesn't blow open for the bathroom/shower area. Our main area light did not work. We were told there had been a power surge and the bulb blew out, but no one ever came to replace it, so we used our bathroom light instead & we had flashlights with us as well.. They also ran out of hammocks, so we didn't get one...that was a bit disappointing, but not a deal breaker. Overall the room had a lot of charm and functionality, so I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight and earplugs if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1earthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you want to fall asleep, and wake up to, the sound of waves, with a nice breeze and your own little piece of peaceful beach under shady palms, then this is where you must stay on Little Corn.
We stayed 5 days, and after exploring the whole island, we were so glad that we pre-booked at Carlitos (we usually like to ‘land’ then shop around).
Fantastic value, perfect spot on the breezy east side (essential), and only a 10 min. walk to the other side of the island. An easy, paved path to eatieries (check out El Bosque, halfway btw.Rosa and Iguana on the trail), and totally safe to traverse if you feel the need for a liveilier scene at night (with flashlights, of course).
We had a perfect, little spartan cabin, with a flush toilet and shower. Not ‘fancy’, so not for princesses. Roomy ehough to spread our stuff out (we had 2 beds). All cabins have little front decks with a line to hang bathing suits and towels, and it's a perfect place to swim, read, reflect, or play scrabble. Highly recommend

Room Tip: i think #1 is the best. Closer, by a few feet, to the shore, and has a bathroom (note: you have to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malbecvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.4 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
115 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlito's Sunrise Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlito's Sunrise Paradise

Address: Little Corn Island, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Little Corn Island
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlito's Place/Sunrise Paradise is set on the cool and breezy side of Little Corn Island, right on the beach. The turquoise Caribbean sea is steps away from your cabin. All cabins have a sea view, and windows on three sides let the breeze in to keep you cool at night. Each bed has a mosquito net. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet, wash basin and shower. Relax in a hammock on your own deck, gazing out over the sea, or pick one in the shade under a tree. Watch the sunrise from your deck, take a morning dip right out of bed, or book a snorkelling trip that leaves twice a day right from our beach. Carlito's Place is very quiet at night, but sunset drinks and live music in one of the island restaurants in the village are only a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carlito`s Sunrise Paradise Hotel Little Corn Island
Carlito's Sunrise Paradise Little Corn Island, Nicaragua - Corn Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing