We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on Corn Island”
Review of Casa Canada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Canada
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Richland, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best on Corn Island”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a great visit on Big Corn Island. Casa Canada's room was very clean and the best of any of the hotels we looked at on the island. The rooms are individual casitas. The bed was a little hard for me but my husband loved it. The staff was very polite and helpful. We had a great time visiting with them and learning about the island. We were greeted by Ebony in the office and she took us to the room and explained how everything worked. In the bar and restaurant Dennis and Alex took great care of us. Marilyn was in the kitchen and makes great chicken curry! The whole staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our visit. The hotel is a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on the island. Even though we were there during a rainy time it was warm and didn't rain for very long at a time, it was amazing to watch the storms come across the ocean and reach the island. It was great to walk along the beach after a storm. Definitely the place to stay on Big Corn Island. Thanks to the whole staff at Casa Canada for an excellent time!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    73
    49
    11
    8
See reviews for
62
119
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, the rooms were really nice, had a big living room on each. It has a nice pool with sea view, and also a restaurant and terrace with that same view.
The staff was OK except for the manager, who was not helpful at all.
It has only a tiny stretch of beach, if you want to be in front o the beach maybe try going to Arenas Beach Hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JIPVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I will start with the room. It was decent. I was not keen on the leather couch that they had in the room. The furniture looked like a bachelor pad. Why have leather in a nice carribean island setting? I liked the rocking chairs in front. The shower is a whole another story. The shower head was taped with duck tape. Really? I was very disappointed. The sheets were clean and I was glad there were snacks. The restaurant has much to be desired. However, when in comparison withother places to eat on the rest of the island it was not the worst. Please note--there is no beach on this hotel. You can see the ocean but there are all rocks. So if you are looking for direct beach access this is not the place to stay. Will I stay again? Maybe because I think it really is the best place on the island because I heard stories about other places. The housecleaners were extremely nice--best part of stay talking with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamalasessoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

To resume place is very clean, best in the Island as far as I am concerned. Also if you are a canadian, you can pay directly with your debit card in canadian dollars :)

Now for the food, I don't know what people are complaining, I was there last week, and the food was great, I know that they just hired a new Chef. People have to understand that we are on a tiny Island and we cannot expect to have the entire menu ready. Maybe a bit expensive on certain dishes. But if you asked me I would certain go back.

Only downside, is a 10 minutes walk to the nearest beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samoual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great rooms, great pool. Very comfortable. But you do pay excessively for it.

However, the restaurant was absolutely atrocious. Without even seeing the food, it was VASTLY overpriced. You are paying European prices so you at least think it would be good. How wrong I was. The food was ridiculously bad. It was like we were eating school dinners. It was pathetic. Portions were tiny and he food was poorly cooked and terrible quality. It was worse quality than a bad fast food restaurant and I am not exaggerating.

Not only that, but I had the chicken burger and it gave me food poisoning. The restaurant was so poor that it ruined what was actually a decent enough place. Don't be tricked into staying here and thinking you'll just eat somewhere else...there is nowhere else around so yo are trapped.

Avoid this place at all costs. I can't convey how bad the restaurant was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Number5Bulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The location is fantastic. Right on the the beach, amazing view from all rooms. You can lie in a hammock, sit in a rocking chair or swim in the pool and stare out to that beautiful ocean, either way its divine. We'd have breakfast on our veranda every morning taking in the view and it was a wonderful way to start the day.

The decor at Casa Canada is a little dated but not so much that it is uncomfortable. It kind of adds to the charm a little. Anything too modern in that setting might not work so well.
The rooms are good size but they have terrible lay-out and the big leather lounge seems out of place in a Caribbean island. The king size bed is super comfortable. The shower is hot. There was no wifi service to the rooms when we were there, we needed to go to the restaurant/bar or office to connect to their wifi.

It rained for the entire week we were there (rainy season) so we spent a lot of time at the bar chatting to the staff and other guests. Casa Canada staff are really amazing and should be rewarded for their hard work and amazing hospitality. Ebony, the manager, is super efficient and on hand for anything you need, with a smile! She is also super nice and fun and we loved every minute we got to spend with her. She even organised a cake for one of our birthdays which was on a day we were there. Gina in the office was also very helpful and efficient. At the bar, Kendy and Denis make a great tag team. The bar in a resort is where you want personality and friendliness to come across and these boys have it in bucket loads. Kendy is one of the best guys you will meet on the island, entertaining us with his vibrant personality, love of singing and contagious smile. Denis is a real sweetie and will whip up a great cocktail with a smile and an eagerness to please. The girls waitressing were Heylie, gorgeous and sassy and just perfect in every way, and Bielka, so helpful and fun and hard working. Virginia is one of the super cool cleaning staff who was great to chat to and she very kindly even took me along to a baseball game one afternoon (do yourself a favour and get to a game with the locals while you are there, it was one of my favourite things I did on the island)
Due to the fact that we were stuck in the hotel due to the rain, the standout for our visit by far was the staff. Thank you to all of them for making it a great, fun time.

The huge drawback and big disappointment of this hotel is the food. It is really of quite a low standard and not at all fitting with the rest of the service there. Other than breakfast which was included in the cost, we ate elsewhere. It was hard to comprehend how the food quality issue has continued on so long without being addressed. The old-school system of pen&paper in the bar/restaurant needs to be updated as well. Its 2013 and they should really be using a computerised system. We were 3 friends sharing and had to split our bill in 3 unequal parts and with a hefty bar and minibar bill it took a long time to sort through that old fashion system. If the management can get a proper chef, proper menu and proper system set up in there, Casa Canada will be the *perfect* Caribbean holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbsOnTheGoGoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The casitas are great and immaculate. The setting is gorgeous and the pool is fantastic. The office staff and cleaning staff are amazing. The restaurant staff are not so great - and the cooking leaves ALOT to be desired. Squiggles of ketchup and mayo on everything do not a gourmet Neal make. Also, the sewer venting needs to be extended higher into the air as you constantly get whiffs of it. If that was fixed; the restaurant staff given some training on customer service; and a new chef put in this place would be perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seetheworldmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
9.5 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
492 reviews
10.0 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
73 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#6 of 7 in Big Corn Island
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canada

Property: Casa Canada
Address: Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Canada Hotel Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing