We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Canada - nicest on Big Corn”
Review of Casa Canada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Canada
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Each cabana is very clean, modern, and air-conditioned. The grounds and the pool are beautiful. The restaurant is just OK. This hotel is not on a beach. We rode in taxis and rented golf carts to get around the small island. The islands are very restful and not at all toursity. It is definitely the nicest hotel we saw in the Corn Islands. The water around the islands is great for snorkeling and diving.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank egak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Casa Canada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2008

We switched to this hotel from Club Paraiso ( see my review about this hotel) and were relieved. What a nice place. Hotel has nicely furnished big rooms and washrooms, swimming pool. Even though it is no beach just 5 minutes away is great long beach with beautiful waives.. Restaurant has o.k. food but we did not eat there a lot, tried to check local places, but bought a nice wine which is hard to find on the island...

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank MarinaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We ended up at Casa Canada after initally reserving at Hotel Paraiso and finding it absolutely unlivable. The folks at Casa Canada were very friendly and the place was absolutely first rate. We were impressed at every turn, especially after two and a half weeks traveling through Nica. These guys know how to do it right. The rooms were large and luxurious, king sized beds in all and the A/C was great. Another luxury that you can't take for granted in Nicaragua: hot water. The infinity pool was great, the restaurant as well. And the people who worked there. I can't say enough about how friendly they were. We noticed some people on the Corn Islands that had attitudes, but everyone at Casa Canada did nothing but smile at us and go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Only thing is be careful of the monkey ... he looks cute but he bites! We would not recommend staying anywhere else if you are going to Big Corn Island.

One other word of advice for Big Corn: don't eat at Seva's, Dos Millas. It was awful and we got violently ill from the seafood. We had to have a doctor come to Casa Canada because we threw up for two days straight. The Doctor said it is very common for people to get sick from eating at Seva's. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank RooSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2007

We stayed at Casa Canada for two weeks in January. Had the time of our lives. There was hot water showers, good food, AC in the cabanas which overlook the ocean and the only pool on the island! We ate fesh cocount, papaya, mango, coconut bread. The fresh fish and lobster is awesome. Cheap prices for everything, food, rum, beer. We are going back next year as well. We went over to Little Corn Island. A spectacular place. No cars, only dirt roads. Very unspoiled and beautiful The water is the bluest blue you ever saw un your life.The people were wonderful to us, we were very welcomed where ever we went. We went on a glass bottom boat to see the reef and old shipwrecks. We went to a local bar called Nico's. A blast! We would highly recommend Casa Canada any day. So comfortable.
We felt very safe the whole time we were there. We saw no violent crime, nothing. A wonderful place to be for some excellent R&R. Check it out, you won;t be sorry you did.

Stayed: January 2007
26  Thank CanadaLetstravel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Isabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanada, Owner at Casa Canada, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank asimmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanada, Owner at Casa Canada, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaCanada, Owner at Casa Canada, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
9.5 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
9.2 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
158 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
229 reviews
10.0 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canada

Address: Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range: $113 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Canada Hotel Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing