We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paraiso Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Great Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The place is pretty and aesthetic, 10 min walk from the most beautiful beach.
the staff are really kind and helpful, about everthing.
The room was pretty clean and the ac worked well
The food in the resturant was good.

over all we had a great experience and the price is worthy. recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    90
    54
    28
    12
See reviews for
49
128
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Double beds, shower, a/c worked- exceeded my expectations
Staff very friendly & accomdating, cold beer and quality food (didn't have shrimp substitute with lobster - oh well) Power outages - so what didn't last more than 5 minutes. Definetely recommend this place on Big Corn - felt safe and would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Had I not come to this hotel with high expectations due to the description and photos from the websites, Paraiso Beach Hotel would have been just fine. As it turned out, the idyllic beach views were blocked by a bunch of overturned fishing skiffs that never moved in the 5 days I was there, and the white buildings had all been painted a grotesque ox blood color. The wait staff in the restaurant were indifferent at best and hostile at worst when I ate there the first night, and they never had a catch of the day availabe, in spite of being 20 yards from the sea. The wait staff in the morning were friendly and accommodating, and the young woman at the front desk was also very helpful.
A hotel guest was robbed at machete point on the dirt road that passed between the hotel grounds and the water one night in spite of the armed guard that was on the premises, and one is advised not to go anywhere at night by foot, which really is a nuisance, but not the hotel's fault. The people on the island are generally friendly and readily returned greetings except for the young men, who would just avoid eye contact or look at me from the corners of their eyes when we passed. To be fair, there is a lot of poverty on the island and little in the way of employment outside of fishing and tourist services, but I will not return to Big Corn Island, in spite of the physical beauty of the place.
There are three shipwrecks just off the beach of the hotel, which made for hours of snorkeling fun just drifting over the wrecks and the coral reefs, where I saw thousands of fish including barracuda, manta rays, wrasses, blue and yellow tangs, and parrot fish. I walked up to Frankie's bicycle rental shop and with a decent bike rented from him, circled the island in about three hours' time, and it was a very pleasant day. There is also a small bakery and a store just up the road, which was a good place to buy water and beer, as the restaurant was considerably more expensive.
The room I had was comfortable enough, even if the air conditioner was loud and the ceiling fan vibrated and wobbled back and forth so much that I didn't use it for fear of it falling on me in my sleep. No wifi was available the whole time I was there, in spite of advertisement that there was. I don't mind that there wasn't wifi; just don't advertise that there is. The other guests with whom I spoke on this issue also stated they couldn't get any service, so it wasn't just my computer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyingma13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I booked a room with 2 queen beds and A/C, online, in advance. When I arrived, they put my friend and I in a room with 1 queen bed and no A/C. After showing them the paperwork from my booking, they moved us to a room with two twin beds, but that also didn't have A/C. Finally, they moved us to a room with 3 beds and A/C. It was a bit of a debacle, but they were accommodating and friendly. The room was basic, but just what we needed. There wasn't any hot water, but I hadn't expected that there would be. The mosquito nets were welcomed to keep from getting bit at night. The food at the Buccaneer was good. I read somewhere that it was the most expensive restaurant on the island, but I didn't find that to be the case. You should be aware that all food on the island is made to order and takes about 50 mins to an hour, from time of ordering. Go eat before you get too hungry. The staff was willing to help out with any activity arrangements and airport transfers. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Please see more on Big Corn Island on my site: www.tinygreenshoes.com

Room Tip: Room number 12 had A/C and 3 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryBrecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

PROs: The island Big Corn is an interesting place to visit, evn if not a safe one.

CONs: We had booked a 3 nights stay in that hotel. We booked a 'Bungalow'. After arrival and check in, the staff member showed us the accommodation. I became very angry and the anger kept until the end of our stay. We got a simple double room with 3 old beds in a mostly wooded complex of 3 rooms. It was obviously the old accommodation and had nothing to do with the 'Bungalow' we booked. They kept telling us this is the bungalow...also some neighbours were not happy about the same. The room was about almost 90 USD per night, not including breakfast. We paid for airconditioning and what we got was the first model of airconditioning mankind has seen...it did even after a 4 ours full power usage not cool down even 1 degrees celsius, but left a noise you'd think a truck runs through this dark hole. There are no windows!!! Only wooden, selfmade window shutters, having inside an old and insufficient unsealing moskito net. These windows and the fact airconditioning does not work made the nights sleepless and terrible for a high price! At check-in, the staff told us not to walk around at night, as it is dangerous. So we had to skip the 15 minute walk and take a taxi to the restaurant. The island is not yet touristy and there is not so much time to enjoy, as it is dangerous. There have just been a number of criminal incidents days before we arrived. Local taxi drivers (spanish) told us also how dangerous it is and they feel discriminated too. This fact can be seen in this hotel too, as we had the farthest building (not Bungalow!!) out, we heard the dog barking and the saw the security guy and once even the owner shining all ovr with the torch and running after some noise. All this, made our stay terrible. No sleep, wrong and really terrible accommodation, heavy security lacks on the island, where police gets paid off by criminals. I honestly with all feeling disrecommend especially this hotel, but also the island itself. but especially the hotel, as their offering of the room type Bungalow and pictures were obviously not true, but a lie!! The onsite restaurant is about 30-45% more expesnive than the best local restaurants, where you can eat fresh seafood for cheap. Don't eat there. Don't sleep there. Save your money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwissTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Staff was wonderful to us, rooms were good and food was excellent. Make sure you take the island tour with Frankie, (you wont regret it) and don't get conned from Anthony on the beach selling Conk shells to make milk money for his kid.

Room Tip: We had room right across from restaurant and it was very nice. No fitness centre just accidently cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I just returned from the Corn Islands and while on Big Corn we stayed at Paraiso. The location is excellent. The staff is absolutely wonderful and Tom the owner was great. I stayed a total of 5 nights while there and could not be happier with my stay. If you are going to Big Corn you should definitely consider Paraiso. They make you feel like you are part of a family there. Alissa took us out dancing one night and Imaura took care of any and all of our needs. I wish I could go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
10.3 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
10.7 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Beach Hotel

Property: Paraiso Beach Hotel
Address: Shipwreck Beach, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paraiso Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paraiso offers great service in a fantastic setting right on the beach. Your private cabana is well equipped and close to restaurant and bar. Paraiso is located right on the beach and close to the village and shops. We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paraiso Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Club Hotel Big Corn Island
Paraiso Hotel Big Corn Island
Paraiso Resort Big Corn Island
Paraiso Beach Hotel Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing