We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not to recommend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paraiso Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paraiso Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not to recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

The owners are very nice - but that's about it. the rate was 70 USD/night PLUS taxes - which is completely overpriced for this friendly but very simple and rustical hotel. the beach is not the nicest on the island (I would recommend Martha's B&B instead, which is cheaper and located by a nicer beach, or Casa Canada - higher standard but the same price, though not directly at the beach). also food at the hotel was overpriced compared to prices in other (and even nicer) places on the island. overall, the entire corn island-trip was a bit disappointing experience.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MissSunshine080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    90
    53
    28
    12
See reviews for
48
125
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

Well we can’t really agree on the previous 2 comments because we had a great time in Paraiso. They have made a lot of improvements to the rooms and the beach. The hotel provides excellent information about the island and they have even made their own map of the island, including all the sites of interest. The map was really helpful.

The owners of Paraiso just finished building their new boat so we took a snorkeling trip around the island and that was just amazing. We saw lots of fish and even a sunken pirate ship! During the trip we also went tubing and waterskiing and they did not even charge extra for that.

The hotel was peaceful and very relaxed and we felt very safe during our stay. The food in the restaurant was the best that we found on the island and the staff was correct and very friendly. I believe Paraiso is the only restaurant which serves good cocktails and nice wines. We only missed a TV in our room but the owners told us that were working on that. The beach was good and the service on the beach was friendly. They charged our drinks and cocktails to the room so we did not have to bring money to the beach. The beachbar was lively in the evening until about 8 pm.

They have also initiated a project to improve the education on the island. They even hired a teacher trainer and raised lots of money from Holland to build new schools. And we always appreciate social involvement in poor communities like that.

We can definitely recommend Hotel Paraiso to other travelers.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SubiWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

My Corn Island adventure was a girl’s vacation, we were looking for something out of the ordinary and something we could brag about for years. We have stayed is some pretty rough accommodations in the past so I might not be a good judge if this hotel is rugged, I did not feel that this hotel was very rugged, the rooms were clean, there was hot running water and we had a room with AC. I was not disappointed with the hotel itself or the location. The cost was a little more expensive than other hotels on the island but felt it was well worth it. The staff was a little slow and spent a lot of time flirting and talking to other locals but overall was not bad. It was not loud nor was there a lot of partying when I was there. I would not stay here again and the reason is that, the owner was not very accommodating. Upon arrival there was no one to greet us one of the staff handed us a key and pointed us in a direction. The next morning we ran into the owner and asked a few questions on things to do in the island, asked the who/what/when/where questions and got very vague answers. So we set off on our own and for the most part found everything we wanted. When we arrived back at night and discussed our adventures with other travelers we found out that the owner had arranged a boat to go snorkeling and had arranged a tour to take guest up to the high point on the island. The same questions I had asked early. For the next few days I felt pretty discriminated against in various different ways. My recommendation is that if you are looking for an adventure take the commuter boat over the Little Corn Island and stay in one of the charming/rustic hotels there. There is a totally different vibe and very friendly on Little Corn.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank GeoTravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

As is the case with most hotels in Nicaragua, this is hotel is a bit on the rugged side. There is no hot water, very small rooms, and very friendly, but very slow, customer service. It boasts a great location, and the cabanas are very cute. Note that travelers seeking a restful island experience should not stay here. The island bar plays LOUD reggae music late into the night (well past midnight), and it is advised that those with early dive trips should bring ear plugs. The internet service is spotty (also common in Nica.) The food in the restaurant is excellent. As well, the convenient location provides a good spot for any reasonably attractive and willing woman to hook up with local men. The local men hanging around here are quite aggressive, and female travelers may wish to use caution and avoid conversations with local men to avoid being perceived as interested in something more than conversation (unless of course, she is. :-). This is a party place--good for singles, or travelers seeking a party.

  • Liked — Location is close to beach. Restaurant is excellent.
  • Disliked — Not the slightest bit restful. Very loud all night. Too many leering local men. (hide your daughters and wives)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Unbelizablegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#7 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#6 of 7 in Little Corn Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Beach Hotel

Property: Paraiso Beach Hotel
Address: Shipwreck Beach, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paraiso Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paraiso offers great service in a fantastic setting right on the beach. Your private cabana is well equipped and close to restaurant and bar. Paraiso is located right on the beach and close to the village and shops. We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paraiso Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Club Hotel Big Corn Island
Paraiso Hotel Big Corn Island
Paraiso Resort Big Corn Island
Paraiso Beach Hotel Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing