We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful holiday , including:snorkelling trips, best massage ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paraiso Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Paraiso Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful holiday , including:snorkelling trips, best massage ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We were travelling around Nicaragua in June. We also visited Corn Islands and we stayed in Paraiso Hotel. We had such an amazing holiday there. We loved the Island! Drinking fresh coconut everyday while swinging in the hammock!! What a life! The staff in Paraiso were really helpful and kind!
Mike (one of the owners) took us out for snorkelling. He is a great guide. We saw many fishes, lobsters, nurse sharks etc. We also went on the snorkeing adventure to Little Corn Island. Oh, what a day!!! Snorkelling in 3 spots. We saw turtles and also on the way back to Big Corn, there were dolphins swimming around the boat! We were lucky!
We also tried the full body swedish relaxing massage in the hotel. This was our best massage ever. Thank you Ildi!! We will never forget this few days in Paradise:) We will be back guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Cabanas. Our room had a ceiling fan, air-co, great pillows, comfortable beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraisoclub, Owner at Paraiso Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Hello Luna,

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you around! Hope to see you again here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    90
    53
    28
    12
See reviews for
48
126
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Paraiso is a nice hotel and a prime location just a few steps from the sea. Nice staff and good food. Atmospheric rooms, perfectly clean with a good shower. We stayed two nights and we did a wonderful snorkling trip. The June Package was a top offer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annav90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraisoclub, Owner at Paraiso Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Hello Anna, Thank you for your review! Have a great time back in Holland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Full disclaimer! We did not stay here. We were at Casa Canada because we were traveling with our 18 month old and wanted a pool. But we did have dinner at the hotel restaurant, the Buccaneer, and got a tour of the hotel from the owner Mike.

This place is just incredible. It is very fitting of the island. We've blogged at FamilyTrek.org about our dinner there and the way Mike really took care of us at http://bit.ly/k0cY3i

I think Buccaneer is far and away the best restaurant on the island. Rooms are cool little huts. Not at all luxury but nice nonetheless. Massage room on site. Great spot for families. Sandbox next to restaurant could make a nice dinner actually possible!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkVand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornIsland, Owner at Paraiso Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Hi! thank you for your nice words. You are the kind of people that we remember, even though we met briefly. I hope to see you back some day. Please give a big hug for your son!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Hotel is great! I chose it for the price, and it worked out great! I was going to stay at some of the ‘hostel’ type places, but never did see any on the island….a lot of places there look ‘shady’ and not safe, but who knows.

Paraiso has nice spacious rooms. Bonus was the ceiling fan above the bed with the dial behind you for access. There was also an air conditioner, a huge bonus from a long day of hiking! Although, there was no hot water =(

The restaurant was good. Best nachos anywhere, seriously, I wanna go back just for them! The food was made all fresh!

The only negative, is the prices are high for Nicaragua standards. The beer was $1.80 which is expensive. If you venture our, you can find cheap places for food and drink for much less.

The beach just outside the hotel was nice, but the locals parked their boats on the shore, blocking the views. The trash along the beach was also very sad. The snorkeling just outside the hotel was great! Just off shore spotted a Barracuda, Star Fish and Trigger Fish! Onto the hotel fees, the tours and bike costs were also expensive compared to other providers on the island.

There is one laptop in the restaurant area for guest use - free. However the internet is VERY slow and is not always connected.

Overall, I’ll be back because of the associates. Everyone was very friendly and seemed to enjoy it there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmchf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

We have stayed 4 nights in Paraiso and I have to say that we really had a blast. The hotel’s location is beautiful, right on the beach and the garden is very nice and well maintained. The owners and all employees are very friendly and helpful and they really made a difference in our vacation. The rooms (they call the cabanas) are very nice and quite basic. We slept like babies because of all the sounds of nature like the sea, birds (and church bells on Sunday…). We also went snorkeling with them and although is was a bit choppy we saw amazing underwater life. It’s still very unspoiled there by the reef. Corn Island and Paraiso hotel are definitely highly recommendable if you want something other than the main stream locations and hotels. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellie1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for only three nights and I have to admit that the only criteria for choosing it was the price. The taxi (included in the price) was waiting for me at the aiport, as promissed. Even so, it wouldn't be a problem getting one by yourself, as 99% of the cars driving on the streets of the island are taxis. And the price/fare is fixed - 15 Cordobas (less than 1$)

I arrived on a rainy day after several similar days, so the bed and the sheets were dump, due to the humidity in the air, therefore the sleep in the first night was no so great. But that's not hotel's fault, anyway... It got better as the weather improved in the next days.

The food at the restaurant, I have to admit, was very good. For a change, I tried to reach the other restaurants on the island, but it was either hard to find them or not trustworthy, judging by the way they looked. So, everytime I returned to "The Buccaneer", at the hotel, for lunch and dinner. All the meals on the menu seemed to me way overpriced, given the remote location of the island and the place itself. The whole stay on the island (hotel, meals etc) way too pricey, compared to any Nicaraguan tourist standards.

The place has several huts, with two identical rooms each. The rooms have minimal furnishing, but they are spacious. The bathrooms are simple but clean (no hot water).

The ocean is just 20 metres from the huts, but the beach there is not great, as they also admit. A nicer and wider beach is on the other side of the island. Walking along the island beach I was really dissapointed to see the amount of garbage suffocating the place. I don't know if it is a permament state of facts or if it was due to the ocean's currents bringing all that garbage to the shore, on the beaches.

Gary and Roberto - managers of the hotel - were helpful and nice.

As a general remark regarding my stay there, I would say that it was...blunt. I have absolutely no reason or aspect to talk high about, but, on the other hand, nothing to complain about. Except the prices.

Thinking back at my stay there, I certainly cannot say that I felt papmpered in any way, as a guest. The services were provided in a correct way, without any extra effort. And one think was definitely missing from the stuff: smiles.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oltraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Their restaurant "the Buccanneer"is the best on the island, there you can have the best frito :-)
The staff is very, very nice and the service is great.
You will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meiklGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
10.4 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso Beach Hotel

Property: Paraiso Beach Hotel
Address: Shipwreck Beach, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paraiso Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paraiso offers great service in a fantastic setting right on the beach. Your private cabana is well equipped and close to restaurant and bar. Paraiso is located right on the beach and close to the village and shops. We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paraiso Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Club Hotel Big Corn Island
Paraiso Hotel Big Corn Island
Paraiso Resort Big Corn Island
Paraiso Beach Hotel Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing