We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Arenas Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arenas Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We spent 3 days in this hotel in April. First feeling was a huge disappointment: we were arriving from Little Corn Island where we had a great time, and this hotel in comparison has no charm at all: big concrete building by the beach. The room was very spacious, but we did not get the warm feeling we previously had, actually it could have been a room in the city, and not so clean too. Breakfast is also the worst we got in Nicaragua - not even fresh fruit juice, and basic toasts. That said, the location is good: the beach in front of the hotel is beautiful (but not the most beautiful on the island as every guide claims, we found Long Bay nicer), the food in the restaurant really nice and the staff was really helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Capuche29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 239 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We came here to take vacations, we had really bad experiences;
1. They told us the drinks costed 1,5 but they charge 2,50
2. We did not have allow to drink our own wine at the beach because we were using it's chairs
3. The continental breakfast was just bread and coffee
4. We order the menu at the beach and they never showed to take my order. When I said this to the manager he told me that he is not the waitress. How is that possible? A manager telling me that he can't take menu or do something about it? After 30 minutes I walked to him and said look I have the menu but no one showed to ask for my food.
5. When I spoke to the owner he treated me bad, he actually told me miserable, bad customer and all stuff that you NEVER say to a client.
He just talked about his experience traveling, the business he has and all stuff I don't care because I just wanted a solution because all problems but he didnt tell me anything.

The island is really nice and you need to come here but no with this owner (Alex) and no in this hotel. There's one near from here that has the same view and may be a better service. I don't know I just can talk about my experience in Arenas Beach hotel, sadly it was terrible.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kcs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

After reading these reviews we were reluctant about Arenas Beach Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful beach and crystal clear water. It is true that the "boat bar" was never open, but Roberto and Llorena provided excellent service to us on the beach for drinks and appetizers. The rooms was adequate; clean, comfortable beds, good AC; all that you need. We were three so we had a back room with no beach view, but we were not in it enough for that to matter. The desk clerk was very helpful in giving advice on things to do, places to eat and for calling taxis. We ate in the restaurant one night and I had an excellent lobster thermador for about $9. The breakfast that is included was toast/jam and coffee and was served promptly. If we had wanted an american breakfast we could have gotten one for a few dollars. Our overall experience was very good. An improvement would be to hang the drapes on the cabanas to block the sun (they were in the online photos; they said they were ordered) We came with several cans of insect repellant because of the reviews here, but we didn't need it. The beach at Arenas Beach Hotel is the best on the island. The taxis access the hotel on an unpaved road (remember this is Nicaragua) The Canada Hotel looks nice, but there is no beach, only a pool. The Paraiso is very quaint and would be an option, but there is no comparison with their beach. The La Princesa de la Isla was a planned dinner destination, however the road was impassable in a taxi when we were there so we did not get to see it upclose. Arenas Beach Hotel was all we expected. If you don't like a place with an awesome beach and nothing to do but swim, relax and eat lobster, then go to a developed carribean resort that lets you feel like you are in Miami.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, get a front room in one of the buildings where you can see the ocean. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Lovely really clean rooms right on the most beautiful beach. Lovely facilities ( hammocks, shaded areas on the beach) and friendly staff. The big disappointment for us was the food. Breakfast is nasty packet bread, orange juice from a carton and coffee. Come on guys - do fresh bread and fresh juice, and add a bit of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hartlgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great place to spend a day on the beach in a cabana. Food is good but I would stay elsewhere on account of the appalling bugs. Stay on the windy ( north) side. Enjoy the day on this beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Arenas Beach. Hotel and restaurant staff were friendly, the place was generally clean and the beach is gorgeous. The positives more or less end there, though. Good luck ordering half of the drinks and/or food on the menu... it's a coin flip on whether or not they'll have it. Bed was equipped with 2 pillows and a top sheet. That was it. A request for extra pillows and a blanket was turned down by hotel staff "Sorry, we don't have any extras.". Ask for more than one beach towel per person and you'll get a hesitation and a funny look... and then a ratty towel, if you are lucky. Some of the photos on their website are laughable... the Boat Bar was never once used while we were there.. just an empty boat with a canopy over it. The scooter/golf cart rental place next door is an absolute dump... they barely have anything that even RUNS. Took them about 45 minutes just to get a very run down and beat-up golf cart started for us, and it was very iffy if it would continue running at times... it took a deft touch to make it go. Also, the sand flies at the beach are horrendous... suffered hundreds of bites before the hotel staff finally clued us in to what was eating us alive. Worse than mosquito bites... lost a lot of sleep after getting home and required a steroid prescription to get through it! Poor water pressure and lukewarm water at best... although this seems to be the standard throughout most of Central America and wasn't that big a deal to us. In any case, we moved over to Casa Canada after 2 disappointing nights... there's no comparison. Casa Canada doesn't have the beach that Arenas does (or any beach at all), but is far, far superior in every other way. Having been all over the island during the week we were there, it's probably the only place I'd stay on Corn Island, although I'd consider giving Mary's a try... they are just down the beach from Arenas. Didn't tour their accommodations, but they do have a very nice outdoor restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalows... perhaps the hotel rooms might be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crkoester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Arenas is a nice hotel on a beautiful crescent beach. It is on the leeward side of island so there is little to no breeze and the water is clean and calm. Taxis constantly drive on beach, so watch for them. The beach has a real problem with sand fleas and no see ums so make sure to bring and wear bug spray all over. I had over 360 bites on the first day and still have them 2 weeks later. Hotter is clean. Hotel is well staffed including night security. Comfort rooms in main hotel are concrete walls, so quieter than bungalows. Bungalows are all wood, which makes them more attractive, but much noisier than main building rooms. Restaurant was good and decent value. Beach cabanas were awesome, but wear bug spray.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aarghmatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
55 reviews
11.2 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
269 reviews
10.8 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#2 of 7 in Big Corn Island
168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#6 of 7 in Big Corn Island
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas Beach Hotel

Address: Southwest of Corn Island, Nicaragua (Formerly Cesar Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenas Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Arenas Beach Hotel Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing