We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff and Clean Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Clean Rooms”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Mary is super friendly and the rooms are clean. The Cafe is also right on some very nice beaches. We came from Little Corn, where we paid much more for a much more rustic room. This was a great value and the room had AC!

Mary also gave us great advice on where to go on the island, and we rented bikes from her for an evening of cycling. The cafe has delicious food (the lobster was great). I wish all the best to Mary and I hope one day I can return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    20
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Mary and Shawn, the perfect hosts, their staff awesome and helpful, beautiful view of the ocean, clean and comfortable, came for a few days , stayed a month, nice to have the restaurant and barbecue .... Suggested to everyone to stay here, can't go wrong, thanks for an awesome stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our last nite on big corn was spent at an exciting baseball game with a finish at Big Fish BBQ!
Lobster kabobs..tender barbeque chicken and pork with cole slaw, tortillas and of course red beans and rice. Right on the beautiful beach at the north end! A must for all visitors!

Room Tip: Great area to snorkle and a great meal after!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddieLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We absolutely loved our time on Big Corn in large part because of our stay at Mary and Shawn's place. You are immediately made to feel at home and welcome. Mary gave us a great tour of the island and an education on the island's history. We traveled Nicaragua and Costa Rica for a month and The Big Fish was the highlight. If you have time, ask Mary to arrange a guided hike with Jessie (tour guide extraordinaire). This exceptional young man took us on a two hour hike that was unforgettable . If you are going to the corn islands, do not miss this place. Shawn's nightly bbq on the beach capped off each day on a high note. Be sure to order sweet coconut french toast . Huge thankyou to Shawn and Mary for a great experience
ken ,erika and parker

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice people own and run this place. Clean rooms, air conditioning. Quiet, safe part of the island. Only stayed one night but would have gladly stayed longer had we been in the area. Wonderful service well worth the cost.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montanajrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Big Fish guesthouse is a beautiful place. it has 3 bedrooms that you can choose from (the prices varies between 25 and 40 dollars).
its located on a quiet part of the island, the beach is just in front of it. nice place for walks aswell !you can also rent bicycles to go around the island.
Its a very a clean, confortable and cosy place, with AC in the rooms !
Mary, was the most helpful. the food was also great.

you should definitly go there !

Room Tip: you should book if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyBlondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matagalpa, Matagalpa, Nicaragua
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Decided to go here for dinner one night and we were blown away by the food, the price and the customer service! After that one dinner we ended up eating there for lunch and dinner the next day and the next! We just always had a good time there and it was very relaxing! the owners were very happy cheerful people and had connections for just about anything you wanna do on the island!! IF YOU GO TO THE BIG CORN ISLAND STOP HERE! I promise you wont regret it! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse

Property: Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse
Address: North End, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse is located on the quiet, serene North End of Corn Island which is also vagrant free. You will experience fresh ocean breeze on a white sandy beach with crystal clear ocean to swim in. There are coral reefs near by for those who enjoy snorkeling and diving. Restaurant and Bar is onsite and open daily and offers a varied menu. As the island is prone to losing electricity for some short periods of time, we have a power generator onsite so that our guests don't have to be inconvenienced by the loss of electricity. Friendly and helpful property manager available for your needs. We offer bicycle and motorcycle rental and snorkel rental. There are other water activities and rentals available near by that we can assist with directing you to. Getting around is easy. Take a taxi, bus, bicycle, motorbike or just use your two feet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Fish Cafe And Guesthouse Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing