We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice people own and run this place. Clean rooms, air conditioning. Quiet, safe part of the island. Only stayed one night but would have gladly stayed longer had we been in the area. Wonderful service well worth the cost.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montanajrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
32
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Big Fish guesthouse is a beautiful place. it has 3 bedrooms that you can choose from (the prices varies between 25 and 40 dollars).
its located on a quiet part of the island, the beach is just in front of it. nice place for walks aswell !you can also rent bicycles to go around the island.
Its a very a clean, confortable and cosy place, with AC in the rooms !
Mary, was the most helpful. the food was also great.

you should definitly go there !

Room Tip: you should book if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyBlondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matagalpa, Matagalpa, Nicaragua
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Decided to go here for dinner one night and we were blown away by the food, the price and the customer service! After that one dinner we ended up eating there for lunch and dinner the next day and the next! We just always had a good time there and it was very relaxing! the owners were very happy cheerful people and had connections for just about anything you wanna do on the island!! IF YOU GO TO THE BIG CORN ISLAND STOP HERE! I promise you wont regret it! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ok easy choice here 35 dollars you get a big super clean room with ac tv big shower and bathroom,
Free good coffee not instan :) the service was out of this world. They made our room every day and change our linen every day you sleep in clean sheet. Its was the cheapest room of our trip and by far the cleanest. Me and my girlfriend were threathed like kings and queen ;) they come and get you at the airport they greated you with a complimentary cocktail when you arrive. The food was really good and cheap for a restaurant in an island. They made food for us whenever we were hungry at anytime. They made laundry for us. And your right in front of the sea for you breakfast cuz they have a terrasse with an incredible ocean view. So seriously for 35 it was perfect and left us a lot of cash to do some fun stuff on the island. So the choice of the big fish café is a no brainer in my humble opinion

Room Tip: We had the room and the back and it was really big and we slepted really well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doumdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our great stay started right at the airport when we were met by Monica who was waiting for us there. Then we arrived at the guesthouse and were given complimentary coconut water. The room was big and clean and every issue/ question was handled straight away. Staff is very friendly and helpful and food just delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannemcgavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This charming guesthouse was the reason we came back to Big Corn Island again this year! From the front, this little beachside cafe presents as a place to dine, with an attractive little patio and tables and chairs under tropical umbrellas. It has an almost bistro like quality that makes it stand apart from other establishments on the Island. The ocean is meters away across the brick road, and the sea breeze drifts across the tables, making outdoor meals very comfortable. The beer arrives in iced glasses, with wedges of locally grown lime (on request). The menu is varied and includes dishes such as Rondon (the local fish stew) to the most amazing snapper ceviches, drenched in lime, fresh tomatoes, cilantro, and garlic. Jamie Oliver cannot compete with the Big Fish seafood cocktails and ceviches!! The food was so good that the big hotels on the island would send their guests to Big Fish for a special evening. The food, in our opinion, is underpriced! Good coffee is hard to find on the islands, most of it being instant, but this place has traditional (Nicaraguan) freshly perked coffee with real milk! The service is lovely, and the staff make every meal a pleasure.

The rooms are probably the best deal on the island. The girls change the sheets every three days, and clean the rooms thoroughly every day. This includes fresh white fluffy towels, large colourful beach towels, soap, and any little item you may have forgotten to pack! There is a washer and dryer down the hall and guests are free to use them. Each room has a quiet air conditioner and a television with several English speaking channels. The large room that my husband and I had featured a big bathroom with a walk in tiled shower with HOT water! Down the hall were two other well appointed bedrooms that shared a clean bathroom and shower. And after ten in the evening, it is very quiet, with hardly any traffic or noise on this quiet side of the island, so one gets a good sleep! The beds are incredibly comfortable.

We stayed for 5 weeks in this little place, and loved every day!

We looked at several places on Big Corn and they didn't compare to Big Fish for value, service, cleanliness, and good will! We felt like this was a home away from home! The staff were truly outstanding, always respectful, helpful, and welcoming.

The comments we heard from other tourists was always the same: "What a wonderful place!"

Sincerely,
Marnie and Allan Faunt

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good, but the back room with the ensuite bathroom was the largest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trafalgar353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Big Fish Cafe unexpectedly when a storm came in and changed our plans for Little Corn. We had such a lovely time there that we ended up cancelling the other hotel that we had initially booked for the end of the week and stayed at Big Fish for the whole week. This is a family run business and they were so welcoming! We had many wonderful conversations with the owners and they were always keen to share ideas about places to go on the island. Ask about a tour with the local kids, they can arrange this informal tour and the kids were amazing guides! The hotel has 3 rooms, one with a private bathroom and two with shared. They were basic in appearance, clean, had a fan, air con, cable t.v. and hot showers. The prices were very reasonable for what you got. The hotel is right by the ocean and is about a 20 minute walk or a cheap cab ride to town. We didn't feel the need to be more central as downtown was small anyways and many of the restaurants are throughout the island as opposed to just being downtown. The Fish Cafe restaurant has delicious food and was one of our favorite restaurants on the island. The owners have plans to be doing some big updates and renovations over the next little while so there may be some new additions by the time you visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
0.0 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#6 of 7 in Big Corn Island
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse

Property: Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse
Address: North End, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse is located on the quiet, serene North End of Corn Island which is also vagrant free. You will experience fresh ocean breeze on a white sandy beach with crystal clear ocean to swim in. There are coral reefs near by for those who enjoy snorkeling and diving. Restaurant and Bar is onsite and open daily and offers a varied menu. As the island is prone to losing electricity for some short periods of time, we have a power generator onsite so that our guests don't have to be inconvenienced by the loss of electricity. Friendly and helpful property manager available for your needs. We offer bicycle and motorcycle rental and snorkel rental. There are other water activities and rentals available near by that we can assist with directing you to. Getting around is easy. Take a taxi, bus, bicycle, motorbike or just use your two feet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Fish Cafe And Guesthouse Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing