We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer
Price range: $5 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The Buccaneer is one of the well kept secrets on Corn Island. Located on ship wreck beach, we open our doors to all visitors of Corn Island. We feel very connected to the history of the island and we prove this in all aspects of your stay. We offer great tasting food and good service from your reservation until the dishes. It is always a good time in our pirate inspired restaurant.The Buccaneer is located conveniently on the premises of Paraiso Beach Hotel on Corn Island. The restaurant is open air, decorated with a typical island style thatched roof. You will have a dining view on our garden, the beach and the Caribbean sea.Whether you like a private dinner, a family lunch or group catering, just let us know and we will accommodate you. Even live music is offered regularly.For everyone who likes great food and professional service, The Buccaneer offers all possibilities.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The title says it all. The staff did a great job with the food. Service was great and the food was even greater.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    23
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Buccaneer is an outside "ranchero" style restaurant located on the property of the Paraiso Hotel. It's fairly easy to find, the food is good and the price is reasonable. Unlike other places on the island the food was prepared and served in less than an hour.
If you're going for dinner, I recommend taking and using bug spray because the mosquitoes are as hungry as you.
If you're not staying at the Paraiso hotel I would recommend arranging for a cab to pick you up or have the hotel call one for you. The streets in the area are safe, but you are in a residential area and cabs don't pass that often. The walk to the main road is only about 5-10 minutes and there cabs are plentiful.
Safe Travels
Mike
www.TravelThruMyEyes.com

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike-TTME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicaragua and oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“always good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

been coming to the corn islands and staying at the Paraiso for many years and always had delicious food at the Buccaneer from lobster to thai soup to fried chicken and pasta -it has always been good

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lazytranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, international Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lots of fresh dishes with local ingredients, the restaurant is part of the hotel Paraiso. Food is served under a romantic and breezy palm leaf roof.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolapf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should be better.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Disappointed as many items were not available on the menu as well they were out of wine...for me that was a bit too much as it is one thing to be out of some fresh foods given it is an island but stocking wine should not be that difficult.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer also viewed

Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to The Buccaneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing