We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comedor Maris

Comedor Maris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Found the restaurant close to Sally Peachey and asked to waitress (owner?) to make us a mixed plate for 2. I was delightful! Lobster, shrimp and a fish steak that wasn't overcooked (how unusual!) Had a very enjoyable dinner on what is basically her front porch. A wonderful experience for sure.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank luczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    37
    18
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Rundown"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is the place to have rundown! You will never have another meal like it. Clean home cooked food but the rundown is Maris' specialty! Reservations are a good idea but not necessarily a must.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaddieLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Now the best of Big Corn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you like fresh fish, and a friendly place to eat it, you must try Comedor Maris, also known as Maris Danett on Big Corn. She cooks from her kitchen and serves on her patio, and you know there is a lot of special pride that she takes in her cooking. I give it five stars because it is in my opinion the best of Big Corn. It is also important to know that she has non seafood that is equally good, and she has a breakfast for $5.00.

I had kingfish as my last meal on the island and it was the best meal of the stay. My dining companion had jalapeno chicken and he loved it. We started with her shrimp cocktail, which was sort of a ceviche, with very fresh crunchy marinade that accompanies the shrimp.

To give you an idea of the value, on the first night we at there we had 2 shrimp cocktails, two lobster dinners, and a couple of soft drinks, for about $28.00.

I have now replaced the restaurant Seva's with Comedor Maris, for both the quality of food and the value. We ate at Seva's the first night we arrived at Big Corn, and I will report separately on that, but suffice it to say, Seva's lost some points from me, and Comedor Maris picked them up.

Maris would be pleased if I were to make note that she has a couple rooms that she will rent out for $25 and $35 a night.

One negative is the mosquitoes. She will burn some torches to help cut them down, but honestly, put some repellant on your legs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Innomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's not a trip to the Corn Islands without visiting Maris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I had ordered the Rundon (sp?) the day before and was very excited to try it out. It was AMAZING! Mari is a wonderful woman, the location is beautiful and the food is fantastic. My wife doesn't eat seafood so Mari went in the house and 'whipped' up one of the best meals of chicken, vegetables, plantains and rice, in about 15 minutes. If you are on the Corn Islands having some Rundon at Maris NEEDS to be on your list of things to do!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Don't judge this palce by the view from the road--it is so much nicer than it looks! We had breakfast and a dinner of lobster tails on Maris porch and will definitely return inthe future!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank COB1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comedor Maris also viewed

Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
Big Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to Comedor Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing