We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great basic hotel with friendly owner in Big Corn's S. End”
Review of Sunrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Hotel
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband on our trip to the Corn Islands. This is a great hotel if you are looking for a basic, clean room. Our room was on the first floor and had hot water and AC. The layout was a bit strange as the shower was in the main part of the room, where the bed is located and the toilet and bathroom sink were located behind a door. It worked fine for us though.

We stayed at the hotel during low season, so things were very quiet. The hotel is located in the South End, which is the nicest part of Big Corn, across from Casa Canada. The hotel is not directly on the water, but this was ok for us. Casa Canada across the street is on the water, but only has a sliver of a beach, so small that you can't lay out there. A cab ride anywhere in Big Corn is 15 Cordobas/person, so it's easy to get around anywhere on the Island for cheap anyway and the best beac on Big Corn is Picnic Center.

During our stay we met one of the owners, Ms. Rowena Kandler. Ms. Rowena was very hospitable and was very helpful in answering all our questions regarding Big & Little Corn. We talked at length with her during our stay as we enjoyed her company.

Most hotels on Big Corn have a restaurant attached and this one is no exception. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and were happy with both of our meals.

This hotel is great for a basic, clean room, with a friendly owner. I hope that travelers stay here even though there aren't that many reviews of the hotel. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and in a good location. I definitely plan on coming back. There's also a Pulperia (convenience store) next door to the hotel, which was helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Sunrise Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Rowena and Lonmar (owners) were always warm and friendly. We stayed in an ocean view room which was lovely. The hotel is a little old, especially bathrooms (pressure wasn't great in the shower at times) but everything is kept in order and rooms are cleaned daily, sheets and towels are changed every few days or more often if requested. Aircon and ceiling fan were godsends as its very hot at this time of year. It's mostly easy to catch taxis to anywhere else on the island and we did one day trip to Little Corn which was also easy. You can walk to Long Bay from the hotel- reasonable beach (Picnic Beach is nicer and water is calmer for swimming there).
You can use wifi at the hotel but it comes from the office so front facing rooms don't have range so we'd sit out on the balcony to get access.
We had one dinner and one breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The cook is a nice lady and the food was nice (nothing spectacular though). Casa Canada's food across the road was of the same standard (except they gave fruit with breakfast).
Would recommend Sunrise to anyone staying on Big Corn for a short or long stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellmauo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

nothing on big corn was as good or as charming as places on little corn, but if you have to waste a night on big corn, you could stay here. clean rooms, a/c, tv, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Visiting Corn Island? Well go to Big Corn and stay at Sunrise Hotel, its only $35 a night and don't let the price fool you cause of all the over priced hotels nearby...ranging from $75/120 a night...Sunrise has it all, hot water, nice clean rooms, comfortable beds..full bar/restruant on the premise. The service there is so personal you will certainly feel like its your second home. I give this location 5 Stars Plus!!!!! Great Location,...and a taxi is less than a dollar anywhere around Big Corn

Room Tip: Truly check out the hotels before booking or go off of reputable reviews here, as what you see onlin...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here both the night before going to Little Corn and the night before we flew out again. It is simple and clean, with a hot shower and TV. The host Ruina is very welcoming. We had a downstairs single for $35, but if staying there longer than a night or two the upstairs rooms seemed more spacious.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms had more scenic views
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aliceelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed here for a few nights back in 2008 and I liked it enough to stay here again in November 2011. The manager is super nice, mellow and sweet. We got the ocean-view room with a king sized bed, 55USD/night. The hotel is a little old, but is very well maintained.. AC, TV, very clean, lots of space. The shower was alright. We had breakfast at their restaurant, and got a good amount for 5USD each.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leisurelif3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stay there 2 nights and we ate at the attached restaurant .
Ice cold beer ,happy hours ( but only on miercoles?)
The ladys there , are always smiling .Good service , we tasted their grilled fish (yellow tail) and we where quite happy with that.
It is nice to go walking behind ,toward the hill.you have place to dry clothes.
The room up stair are bigger and they have a nice balcony with view.( but you can enjoy the balcony too, even if you reside at the lower level.)
The locks and the nubs on certain door ,can use replacement , but it seem like a safe place .There is cable tv and towells.
It, is located very close to the sea.right accross the street!
Ena , the owner is vey helpfull , and she can garanty room room by internet, eazy !

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank djief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
0.0 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Hotel

Address: Southend | across from Casa Canada, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Big Corn Island
Price Range: $40 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing