We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Corn Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ike's Place Vientos del Norte
Perth, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Came for a week and stayed a month more. Beautiful spot with a lovely breeze. Enjoyed having a mini kitchen and coffee make. As every one else attests Ike and Eva are wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Number 3 is top front. Best breeze, best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

A great place to stay we spent 5 nights at Ike's, and we could not have enjoyed our time there more. Ike is a delightful and super helpful host. The rooms were comfortable and great value, on the north end, which is bug free, slightly breezier than other places on the island, but nil need for air con at nights with the ocean breeze. Ike gave us a tour around the island and shared his local knowledge which enhanced our time on the island. He also arranged a fishing trip with local fishermen for my husband and friend, who had great success, bringing us home dinner, which was then prepared by Eva. A top spot with a great host.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnewbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at G and G which was good. Then moved to Ikes at the north end. It's simple to move around the island, 15 cordoblas (sp) to go anywhere in one of the constantly running taxis. Ike could not be a more hospitable or nicer man. He is full of info about the island and way beyond helpful. He will collect you from the airport, fill you with info, then be most hospitable. There were four of us in our group and we were all more than happy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Ike is great and made our stay on Big Corn special. You can tell he enjoys what he does and we really appreciated all he did to show us his island. The rooms are comfortable and clean and cool with the breezes at the north end. A great value. Eva cooks up a great breakfast. He took us on a tour also and was working with another traveller on a photo journal of the original houses that survived the hurricane. Check out his Facebook page. Wish we could have stayed longer and hope to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs especially the one on front are best if available for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julienbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Ike's Place was a wonderful place to stay on Corn Island. We have just come back to Norway from our backpacker trip in Central-America. Ike's Place was definitely one of the places we loved the most. And Ike him self of course! Corn Island is i beautiful island and Ike's Place is from what I can se, the best place to stay there. Ike is a wonderful person who does everyting for his guests, and makes the stay very pleasant. The rooms are nice and clean with an beautiful ocean view. You can enjoy a spectacular sunset from your room. The breakfast made by sweet Eva is also very good. I highly recomend the lobster dinner! We stayed in Ike's Place for nine days, took our diving licens (just five minutes walk away), and had a wonderful time. Look up "Ike's Place" on Facebook!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Located on the north end of Big Corn, with beautilful viewsvof the ocean, it is a bit of a hike to the scenic southern beaches but for the savings it was well worth it... plus, the beaches in the south were infested with sand fleas and the north near Ike's is free of those little buggers. Ike was amazing. He even drove us to the airport the next day himself. Warm hearted fellow who is happy to share the history of the islands with you and truly makes you feel like you're staying with family.

Quaint little table set up for us in the morning for a tasty breakfast. He rented us bikes and we cycled the loop around the island, which was one of the highlights of our whole stay in Nica. Its a really beautiful place along the east and south coasts. Ike will tell u the best route.

Awesome place and really wonderful guy. Highest recomendations.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshertravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

As all the other reviews say, Ike's place is fabulous. Ike himself is so accommodating and helpful. He was always checking to see if everything was ok or if we needed anything. I would totally suggest staying here if you are wondering where to go. We got a tour of the island, pick up and drop off at the airport and a lift to the ferry when we visited little corn, which also may i say is amazing! In the mornings he and eva always had a flask of coffee waiting for us no matter what time it was. We cooked a pasta one night and he said an avocado would go well with that and went and got us one! The room was cleaned everyday. You can rent snorkelling equipment and bikes.

Ike has travelled himself for 30 years for business but is from the corn islands and knows everyone. He understands what travellers need. It was a welcome break from my backpacking and a wonderful place to celebrate my 30th birthday and enjoy the delights of the crab soup festival!

Stop looking at other reviews and send Ike an email you won't regret it. Thanks so much for everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacking_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
0.0 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mimundo Corn Island Hostel
Mimundo Corn Island Hostel
#1 of 14 in Big Corn Island
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ike's Place Vientos del Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ike's Place Vientos del Norte

Property: Ike's Place Vientos del Norte
Address: North End, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ike's Place Vientos Del Norte Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing