We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martha's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corn Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martha's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Corn Islands B&B and Inns
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

The staff is really friendly.
The accomodations are simple, but clean.
The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, coffee, juice, toast and 4 choices of entrees.
The one thing I wish they had ceiling fans in the rooms because the A/C can be pretty loud. We did enjoy the cable TV in the room, that was a nice bonus. As one of the kids in our group said, "Paradise has TV in English!"
The beach is clean and good for small children; the adults enjoyed it as well.
We found the beach in front of Martha's was the best on the island.
White sand was awesome and no rocks or trash to be found.

If I ever venture back to BCI, I would definitely stay @ Martha's again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1earthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

We have spent the last 3 days in Big Corn at Martha's and wished we chose this place from the beginning.
The location is at the end of Picnic Place, a great beach lined with other hotels.
Martha's at the very end and the only drawback was isolation at night. While security is not an issue with naval facility and armed guards next door, the closest restaurant is about 100 m walk with insufficient light on the beach, the sun setting about 5.30 pm.
The restaurant on premises is great but in November closes at 5 pm.
All staff are excellent and breakfast is great value, with choice of either Nicaraguan traditional or pancakes or omelette.
Martha and husband are great hosts and the other staff most helpful. Wally who is in charge when Martha and her husband are away and who manages the restaurant is a most helpful local guy.
Great little place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexdolezal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, nh usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

This was the kind of place we look for - it was laid back, right on a great beach, and was a good value. Hospitable, friendly owners. We walked around the entire island and did not see any place we would rather have been staying. The breakfasts were included and very good. Most evenings we ate at the restaurant and were very pleased. When we return to Big Corn Island again we will stay at Martha's.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

My wife and I along with another couple stayed at Martha's Bed and Breakfast for nearly a week. Nice rooms, their restaurant on site, and excellent hosts. Rooms are clean, air conditioning works well and right next to their beach front shelters that are prime for hammocks and reading. Ellery and Martha Foster are natives of the island bnut lived in Florida for many years. Returned to bulld a great place to stay and they also helped us make plans for other activities on thevisland. Island is wonderful with fishing, snorklilng, ralaxing available. We also went to a baseball game and it was a real slice of island life. They love baseball.

Met a great driver, Orlando Martinez. He was a friend by the end of th week. Ask for him if you go to the island.

Island does have poverty that is prevalent in the south American countries but family is strong, people are wonderful, and beauty of islands all make the visit very worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemphisTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

Martha’s Bed & Breakfast: Corn Island, Nicaragua:

Let me state at the outset, the B & B designation is somewhat of a misnomer for those who do the B & B route. It really is a small Motel with eight rooms, all with bathroom, TV and A/C, plus a cottage which has a fully equipped kitchen (US 1,000.00 per month at time of writing, but believe this to be negotiable).
As usual on these islands, no hot water, but with the temperatures usually around the
30 C mark in the shade, not an issue.

There is an adjacent restaurant right on the beach (owned and operated also by Ellery and Martha Foster), and one can use the open air dining room to retreat from the sun, read or meet with other fellow travelers. We did see the advertised “Large common living room and kitchen for guest use”, but were not specifically told to use it. It does appear to be part of the private rooms of the owners, and his “office” is also in this area. I assume it would be available on a rainy day.

The rooms are minimally furnished, clean and functional, but have none of the flair usually found in B & Bs. The rooms could use a little more shelving or a real hanging closet. Basically they are a place to sleep, and since in these latitudes the outdoors are the ”living room”, this was not really a huge negative factor. A small in-room bar fridge, or a larger “common fridge” somewhere, would be a nice addition for late night use. The restaurant does close at 19:00, and the bar shortly thereafter – unless a few guests are “hanging on”. The owners are really very flexible and extremely helpful.

There were sun shelters on the beach, chairs and hammocks. A few more tables under these thatched roofs on the beach would have been nice – only one was provided.
The beach in front of the property and also off to both sides is absolutely clean, and consists of almost white, fine sand, with shallow water out to about 35 ft and an all sandy bottom. Ideal for little children!
From all beaches on Corn Island, I would say this was the best one. Even the adjacent Picnic Center and Arena’s Beach, nor the further towards town located beach in front of Paraiso Club were as nice or as clean; and none of these places had sun shelters directly on the beach.
Due to the location of the beach, we never saw garbage on it, something which cannot be said for most other places – both islands suffer from garbage coming in with the tides and stuff the locals (and some tourists) throw away just about everywhere.
The establishment is at the end of the road (another misnomer – the road ends well before the place and the rest is half a mile of sometimes rough track), with only a few homes past it before you get into the rocky terrain of Bluff Point. This makes for quiet and not much traffic.
There is a covered lower and upper verandah at the main building, with deck chairs and little tables for a quiet read or sharing a drink. The grounds of the property are well maintained and pleasant to look at. The owners will provide laundry service through their personnel, and you do get daily fresh towels etc.
The room rate was US $ 50.00 plus a tax, which brought it to US $ 57.50. The restaurant prices are reasonable for the area – dishes around C$ 170.00 to 240.00, with beer at C$ 20.00/bottle. For comparison, in stores (they all sell cold beer) the best we found was C$ 15.00. – also a reasonable mark up. The food - they also served lunch and dinners plus snacks, was well prepared, tasty and always enough. The choices were also quite sufficient. We never felt the need to go to another place, although others did and found some nice places to eat: Arenas Beach and Dos Millas - Seva's was recommended to us by fellow guests.

The breakfast was always a choice of three warm dishes, plus a large plate of fruits, juice, toast, butter and a spread plus coffee. This was enough to tidy us over until late afternoon, where we usually picked up some fruit from a street vendor and pastry from one of the many stores or pulperias.
The town is a comfortable 20 minute walk and the bus stop is only about seven minutes walk along the beach. I would suggest taking the bus – runs a circuitous route around the island for C$ 5.00 per trip. There are bus stops, but you can flag it down anywhere. We usually waited in the shade of a store – they all have chairs out front and sell ice cold beer – a very civilized way to get around. The busses are old and in much need of replacement, but run well. The drivers will play often local pop music, which adds to the enjoyment of the trip. And don’t worry, if the bus looks full (usually with school children), just get on – there’s always room for more. You pay the young man who usually hangs out around the door.

To sum up: a good place for a few days at the quieter end of the island and with an excellent beach. The immediate neighbor to the east is a Coast Guard post, and the army is also just down the street in a very small detachment. Between the two is a car, bike, scooter, golf-cart etc. rental place – very convenient for those wishing to do some driving. We found the bus or a taxi a better and cheaper way to get around.


Note: C$ = Cordoba

map: http://www.bigcornisland.com/folleto_mapa.pdf

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amphitryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corn Islands hotels
0.9 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#7 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#6 of 7 in Little Corn Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Martha's Bed and Breakfast
Address: South West Bay, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Corn Islands
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Martha`s Hotel Corn Islands
Martha`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing