We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel choice in Coban”
Review of Hotel Casa Duranta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Duranta
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was definitely a little bit of serenity on a very busy/loud street. Centrally located, clean and beautiful, the hotel has a flowering courtyard and tastefully simple rooms. Unfortunately it is not equipped to deal with the cold in January which was about 40F at night!! We didn't realize how cold it could get at night and the room did not help matters. Even with two extra blankets (they were quite thin) per bed, we were still freezing. The show had an electric heater/shower head which they had to show us how to use. The lower the flow, the hotter the water. To get truly hot shower water, the head produced a trickle which wasn't nearly enough to keep you warm in the very cold air temps. It was a very very unpleasant experience. Washing your hands in the sink, you only had a choice of cold water. From what we were able to gather, this experience is typical of the hotels in the area. Other than the very thin walls, I would imagine this hotel nearly perfect when it's warmer out but beware if you are traveling in the winter/dry season.

Room Tip: Room #1 is closest to reception and closest to the main street which makes it very loud, I imagine t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

A nice clean hotel with a beautiful courtyard. There is hot shower (though the water heater is inside of the shower head, i guess because the town is old and there is no hot water plumbing) but it works. The rooms are very clean, the staff and the owner are super friendly and hard working. The restaurant on premises and the food is basically a home made food.

Brush up on your Spanish as hardly anybody speaks English. Great value for price!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Choices for decent quality hotels are limited and after reading the reviews I felt this might be the best of the limited options. Very reasonably priced and I got good service from staff. Would strongly recommend avoiding booking trips at the hotel desk if they are still using maya'ch expeditions as they were a real let down....not the hotels fault mind you.
On the plus side after coming back from a days trek and asking the hotel porter for a brush to clean my boots he took two pairs of boots from me, took them away and cleaned them himself.....all part of the service, which was superb (and worthy of the decent tip!)
Rooms are basic, showers aren't great and the wifi is not great either. Courtyard garden was lovely and full of hummingbirds, which was a treat. Also was very secure.

Was never going to be five stars, but not bad at all.

Room Tip: I had room 8, seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My adult daughters and I stayed at Hotel Casa Duranta at the end of our travels in Guatemala. The plain exterior gave no hint of the lovely old hotel and beautiful garden within. Filled with lovely antiques, clean, comfortable and reasonable-priced this was great. What a pleasant surprise!
The staff and Owner were very obliging in helping us figure out some transportation issues, and everyone was very nice and friendly.
Service in the restaurant was also very good, and the food was fabulous. We wanted something light, so we ordered the chicken tortilla soup and the black bean soup... They were both amazing! I am a soup-lover, and these were probably the best soups I've ever had!
I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Positives: Can't fault the hotel for cleanliness, also room was a good size. Breakfast was good, omelette and fruit yogurt granola were satisfying. Very friendly porters, cleaners and restaurant staff - all excellent.

Negatives: Customer service at reception was awful, they ignore you and generally make you feel unwanted. What further grated was when during checkout they added 6% to a tour that we had already paid for 2 days ago, apparently the original receptionist got the price wrong. There was little natural light in the bedroom (#4) and its disappointing that the shower is an electric shower, for this price I expect a powerful hot shower. Despite booking room #7 on their website (#7 is recommended by the Rough Guide) at check-in we were denied and put in another room without apology.

Summary: Not worth the price as the reception staff offer terrible service (which in hindsight the Rough Guide did warn about)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My family and I got to this hotel with no expectation at all.
When we arrived to the hotel with problems with an agency from another city it was the owner of the hotel who tried to help us as much as he could!
The rooms are big and clean and the garden outside is amazing full of beautiful flowers and birds.
The service in the hotel is excellent and I reccomend on this hotel!!!
We'll definitely remember this hotel, the owner and the staff for making our stay in Coban so good!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennyr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The setting right near the center of Coban means that Hotel Duranta is convenient to the market, cathedral and good restaurants. The best part though is that the hotel has a lovely courtyard with orchids growing on the tall fern trees. Our huge room was no. 1 and adjacent to the desk so earplugs at night blocked out lively travelers and also some traffic sounds. Restaurant offers light meals and breakfast was included. Room was clean and beds comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite front desk may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coban hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Gaia
Casa Gaia
#1 of 14 in Coban
111 reviews
7.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 14 in Coban
173 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Kirva Hotel
Casa Kirva Hotel
#4 of 14 in Coban
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Don Juan Matalbatz
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#10 of 14 in Coban
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada de Carlos V
Posada de Carlos V
#13 of 14 in Coban
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Duranta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Duranta

Address: Calle Entre 4a y 5a Avenida 3a, Coban 16001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Price Range: $55 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel that represents the comfort and peace that every traveler needs. We are located in the center of Coban, the Imperial City of Charles V. We provide you with a warm and friendlier concept, also you can visit the most amazing natural resources in Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Duranta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing