We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service a major let down”
Review of Hotel Casa Duranta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Duranta
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Positives: Can't fault the hotel for cleanliness, also room was a good size. Breakfast was good, omelette and fruit yogurt granola were satisfying. Very friendly porters, cleaners and restaurant staff - all excellent.

Negatives: Customer service at reception was awful, they ignore you and generally make you feel unwanted. What further grated was when during checkout they added 6% to a tour that we had already paid for 2 days ago, apparently the original receptionist got the price wrong. There was little natural light in the bedroom (#4) and its disappointing that the shower is an electric shower, for this price I expect a powerful hot shower. Despite booking room #7 on their website (#7 is recommended by the Rough Guide) at check-in we were denied and put in another room without apology.

Summary: Not worth the price as the reception staff offer terrible service (which in hindsight the Rough Guide did warn about)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Duranta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 72 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

My family and I got to this hotel with no expectation at all.
When we arrived to the hotel with problems with an agency from another city it was the owner of the hotel who tried to help us as much as he could!
The rooms are big and clean and the garden outside is amazing full of beautiful flowers and birds.
The service in the hotel is excellent and I reccomend on this hotel!!!
We'll definitely remember this hotel, the owner and the staff for making our stay in Coban so good!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennyr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The setting right near the center of Coban means that Hotel Duranta is convenient to the market, cathedral and good restaurants. The best part though is that the hotel has a lovely courtyard with orchids growing on the tall fern trees. Our huge room was no. 1 and adjacent to the desk so earplugs at night blocked out lively travelers and also some traffic sounds. Restaurant offers light meals and breakfast was included. Room was clean and beds comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite front desk may be quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Step off the busy street, through the locked gate into a scene of tranquility. All rooms face onto the courtyard. Winding down after a long journey we spent a lot of time just sitting watching the hummingbirds on the feeders. The room was spacious and comfortable, the shower big enough to have a party in. I have a 'thing' about plugs in sinks (is this an English obsession?). So I was delighted to find a sink plug, the hotel gained extra marks for this, but lost them again when I found the chain wasn't long enough to allow the plug to reach the plug hole! Regained a mark for making me laugh!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ageing-hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had only planned to spend two nights in Cobán: To rest after a long shuttle bus trip and to arrange the next leg of our trip. I found Casa Duranta on Tripadvisor and it sounded perfect and they had a room even though we hadn’t made a reservation.

My boyfriend got food poisoning the first evening we ate out (this was not at the hotel!)so we ended up spending an extra night and Casa Duranta was a haven to stay at. Cobán is noisy and gritty but Casa Duranta is beautiful and serene. You would never guess what it’s like from the outside (which is basically a wall and a portal) There is a gorgeous atrium garden with hummingbirds, orioles and other glorious birds happily feeding on the flowers and bushes here. The rooms are clean and spacious and the decor is lovely. There is wi-fi and they get a big star in my book for having regular lighting and not those horrible new bulbs.
The people who run Casa Duranta are most polite and helpful. The staff are sweet and Julio speaks great English. You can enjoy breakfast on the terrace watch the birds. My boyfriend was healed and happy after a good nights' sleep. We came back and stayed an ekstra night after spending some days at Semuc-Champey. Highly recommend this place! * an ekstra star in my book goes to the fact that one of the rooms had two stands for luggage - which is something I so appreciate!

Room Tip: I read that the rooms vary in size. We had a large spacious room both nights, but you might want to...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The room was very clean and big. The hotel has a lovely courtyard. The receptionist was extremely helpful with arranging a tour to,Semuc Champney and our shuttle back to Antigua. They do not speak much English so we used google translate to organise tour plus transfer. Breakfast was not included but they have a good selection. Location is central but still quiet.

The only downside was that the room was very cold and they do not have heating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londongirl132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was in Casa Duranta on the first of November, i love it, its a very comfortable place, very good food and nice attention. it's in the center of Coban and they offer shuttles to Semuc Champei and Cuebas del Rey Marcos. They don't offer lunch service just breakfast and dinner. The prices of the food are good and i specially recomend the hot chocolate!! :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maju2577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coban hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Gaia
Casa Gaia
#1 of 14 in Coban
108 reviews
7.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 14 in Coban
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Don Juan Matalbatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa Kirva Hotel
Casa Kirva Hotel
#4 of 14 in Coban
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#9 of 14 in Coban
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada de Carlos V
Posada de Carlos V
#14 of 14 in Coban
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Duranta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Duranta

Address: Calle Entre 4a y 5a Avenida 3a, Coban 16001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Price Range: $55 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel that represents the comfort and peace that every traveler needs. We are located in the center of Coban, the Imperial City of Charles V. We provide you with a warm and friendlier concept, also you can visit the most amazing natural resources in Guatemala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Duranta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing