We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alcazar Dona Victoria
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spent a week at the Alcazar Doña Victoria and I was very impressed. While it wasn't the most modern, elegant, or fancy hotel I've ever stayed at, it had a lot of charm and interesting design. The only thing I can even think to complain about was that my room wasn't very brightly lit. We had a couple of lights but our only window faced the courtyard inside. Our room did however have a very nice television, desk, and wardrobe which were convenient.

We didn't spend a lot of time in our room though. Most of our day was spent away from the hotel and in the evenings we hung out at the bar, in the dining area, or playing billiards. The staff was incredibly nice and attentive. While I am actually very good with the Spanish language, I got nervous when I had to talk to the staff members who were all native speakers. They were so patient and helpful as I tried to communicate with them. Even more, my roommate who knew no Spanish at all was able to somehow get help from the employees multiple times when she locked our key in the room or needed extra towels. The receptionist gladly gave us directions to the nearest shops. The staff helped us find a field where we could play soccer and the details about the traveling circus that was in town. However, my favorite thing about the employees at the hotel was that they always seemed genuinely happy to see us. They always greeted us with a smile and "¡Buenos días!" I felt at home when I was staying here.

The food at the hotel was delicious and they were very good at accommodating the vegetarians in our group (once they finally understood the concept of vegetarianism) and those who had dietary restrictions for religious reasons. I never went to bed hungry or even with room left in my stomach. They filled us up very well with multiple course meals, delicious drinks, and even more delicious desserts!

If I ever return to Guatemala (and by if I mean hopefully very soon!) I will definitely stay at this hotel. You don't get this kind of customer service at hotels here in the United States. I was very impressed and I was sad to leave. I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Cobán.

Room Tip: My room was upstairs with just a window facing inside. It was a little dark but I couldn't hear...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bergmaao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmandoCastillo, Community Manager at Alcazar Dona Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, Estamos muy felices que usted disfrutó su viaje
Estamos trabajando por mejorar ciertos aspectos mencionados
Esperamos que puede regresar pronto.


Thank you very much for your comments, We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip
We are working to improve certain aspects mentioned
We hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Alcazar Dona Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 30 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Entering the Alcazar Dona Victoria, I was impressed by the colonial style courtyard and typical Guatemalan wooden art objects scattered about. I wasn’t as impressed by my room.

My room was set up for three people on the first floor. The plus was that it was extremely large, clean, and the water in the bathroom was hot. The minus was that it was a little dingy and extremely loud from the street noise. Most my complaints about the room could have been resolved with a fresh coat of paint, some new bedding, and new bath linens. It was obvious that none of these items had been updated in the past decade.

The hotel featured free Wi-Fi, but it was not working three out of the five days during my stay. They also advertised that there was a laundry service, but when I inquired about it at the front desk; I was told that it didn’t exist. Aside from the courtyard, some other nice features of the hotel were the restaurant/bar with tasty food and the pool table. Both of which came in handy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor facing the street are extremely loud.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hipqtpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmandoCastillo, Community Manager at Alcazar Dona Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, Estamos muy felices que usted disfrutó su viaje
Estamos trabajando por mejorar ciertos aspectos mencionados
Esperamos que puede regresar pronto.


Thank you very much for your comments, We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip
We are working to improve certain aspects mentioned
We hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank albertolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank Ovidio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
4  Thank solat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrfch, Gerente at Alcazar Dona Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coban hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa Gaia
Casa Gaia
#1 of 14 in Coban
108 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 14 in Coban
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Don Juan Matalbatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Duranta
Hotel Casa Duranta
#6 of 14 in Coban
72 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Kirva Hotel
Casa Kirva Hotel
#4 of 14 in Coban
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#9 of 14 in Coban
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Dona Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Dona Victoria

Address: 1 Ave. 5-34, Coban 16001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Number of rooms: 150

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing