We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlos Quinto is clean and quiet”
Review of Posada de Carlos V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada de Carlos V
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Just back from 10 days in Guatemala - 3 nights in Coban. We really liked Carlos V ("Carlos Quinto"). It was relatively quiet (except for the car alarm that went off at 4 am but that could happen anywhere) and has a lovely garden. Ask for one of the rooms at the end (#10) on the bottom floor. The upper floor rooms aren't nearly as nice. We had a yummy dinner in their restaurant and were able to request service to our patio - beers in the evening and coffee in the morning. It was very clean and the shower was hot. We tried to stay there again after returning from 3 days in the north part of the country but they were full except for upstairs rooms. We walked over to Dona Victoria and wished we had taken the room at Carols V. The room at Dona Victoria wasn't very nice (and no hot water) but we were too tired to move on.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OneNorthwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es mejor tener habitación de primer piso en caso de ruidos externos y no subir tanta grada
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marco Tulio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank 5dx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres donnent sur une cour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank landais32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Leona U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mariano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaCarlosV, Director de Recepción at Posada de Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: las habitaciones del primer nivel creo que son mejores
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estuardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PosadaCarlosV, Director de Recepción at Posada de Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coban hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa Gaia
Casa Gaia
#1 of 14 in Coban
111 reviews
7.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 14 in Coban
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Duranta
Hotel Casa Duranta
#7 of 14 in Coban
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Casa Kirva Hotel
Casa Kirva Hotel
#4 of 14 in Coban
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Don Juan Matalbatz
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#9 of 14 in Coban
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Carlos V

Address: 1a. Avenida 3 - 44 | Zone 1, Coban 16001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Price Range: $57 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A different hotel in the Imperial City of Carlos V Hospitality and elegance ... one concept ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada de Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing