We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a motel than a hotel !”
Review of Posada de Carlos V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada de Carlos V
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“More a motel than a hotel !”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I made my reservation by Internet from Canada and got an answer a day or two later to confirm it with the proviso that I neeeded to reconfirm on the eve of my arrival by phone
.
The Posada day front desk employees are quite a welcoming bunch but I did arrrive late at night (about 9 p.m. on a Tuesday) to discover the front desk managed by a young man (mid-twenties) who was notin the mood in exchanging pleasantries and after registering my personal information, handed me the room key and TV control and motioned for me to proceed to my room without offering to help me carry my 2 suitcases .

The front desk was hardly lighted and located in a small building separated from the main building containing the rooms.by a small alley lane good for the circulation of one motor vehicle .

It was raining hard (as is common in Coban during the fall) and no umbrella option was there to make pleasant the installation of a guest for crossing that lane .

The building housing the guest rooms is structured on two floors and for some reason the porch leading to the rooms is poorly lighted ( money-saving measures?) all evening and night.

After 10 p.m. , the front desk is closed and only a night guard in a small cabin close to the guest rooms entrance is on duty,

The gate to the entrance alley (40 feet) is locked and if you did venture out before the gate closing you must ring a bell and wait for the nightwatch to come and let you in.

Why ? The Posada rules do not allow a guest to invite a friend to his)her room nor to bring in alcoholic beverage purchased outside.

Besides these annoying rules, the rooms are decent with a comfortable double size bed assorted with bedding fitting the rather chilly nights( 10 - 15 Celsius degrees). TV with cable , a bottle of drinking water every day, good hot and cold water shower, as well as furniture to store your luggage are provided.

The location right in the middle of the farmers market , though well isolated from, detracts from its image of a respectable place, as the market street allows for the passing of one motor vehicle at a 5-mile an hour pace to prevent hurting the mostly aboriginal crowd who seems to think cars have no place there.

Room Tip: If you carry a Wi-Fi computer , ask for a room on the second floor for better connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnazaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I don't know how they did it, but this quiet retreat is just a few yards from a busy market street in Coban. If you're driving, you can pull your car up right in front of your room. We had TV and private WC/shower. There are also two covered seating areas if you want to get out of your room. They accommodated our group of 14 nicely. I didn't personally have any contact with the desk staff, but the housekeeping people were nice--in spite of my poor Spanish.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterjibowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochiltree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

motel type accommodation, in a quiet patch in a very busy city.The room was spacious,clean with ensuite facilities.They had tall security gates locked at night. You will need to brush up on your Spanish as nobody spoke English.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkkk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel is located in the most busiest part of the town at the market. It is despite this fact very relaxed and quiet. It has room in the oldest part of the hotel This is like sleeping in a swiss or austrian chalet. THe only thing is that is very noisy but very charming.
the other rooms are in a dependance at more quiet but with less charm.
The staff is very friendly. The hotel is very clean and hot water is provides all day. Price is good in compare with the quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Just back from 10 days in Guatemala - 3 nights in Coban. We really liked Carlos V ("Carlos Quinto"). It was relatively quiet (except for the car alarm that went off at 4 am but that could happen anywhere) and has a lovely garden. Ask for one of the rooms at the end (#10) on the bottom floor. The upper floor rooms aren't nearly as nice. We had a yummy dinner in their restaurant and were able to request service to our patio - beers in the evening and coffee in the morning. It was very clean and the shower was hot. We tried to stay there again after returning from 3 days in the north part of the country but they were full except for upstairs rooms. We walked over to Dona Victoria and wished we had taken the room at Carols V. The room at Dona Victoria wasn't very nice (and no hot water) but we were too tired to move on.

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Tips/Secrets — Lower your expecatations for Coban Guatemala - it's a bit off the beaten path
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OneNorthwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coban hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Luna
Casa Luna
#5 of 14 in Coban
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Don Juan Matalbatz
7.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 14 in Coban
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcazar Dona Victoria
Alcazar Dona Victoria
#12 of 14 in Coban
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Duranta
Hotel Casa Duranta
#6 of 14 in Coban
69 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa Kirva Hotel
Casa Kirva Hotel
#4 of 14 in Coban
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Carlos V

Property: Posada de Carlos V
Address: 1a. Avenida 3 - 44 | Zone 1, Coban 16001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A different hotel in the Imperial City of Carlos V Hospitality and elegance ... one concept ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Posada de Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing