We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gem in Coban !”
Review of Casa D'Acuna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa D'Acuna
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Arcata, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem in Coban !”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Casa d'Acuna is a wonderful little hotel built around a courtyard with beautiful orchids. The food was delicious. I stayed in a dorm room with two bunkbeds, but had it all to myself. Bathroom was across the hall. Prices were very economical.
The experience was so delightful that I hope to return some day and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griggs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
22
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is odd - there is a very smart courtyard and very smart looking (and courteous) guard and front desk. The restaurant is busy, high-end and tasty. The rooms are completely incongruous to this! We (a group of four friends) stayed in a tiny dorm with two sets of bunk beds (which one member of the group referred to as the "commune"). Musty, very dark and pretty noisy as near the courtyard (where the swanky restaurant is!). The communal bathrooms are the real let down - tepid showers, ineffectual shower curtain (so the floor is always soaking and grimy) and an aggressive light timer which means you are plunged into darkness every ten seconds or so and therefore forced to flail your arms about (whether using shower or toilet facilities) to get the light back. Odd given the quality and clear standing of the restaurant (which we tried, food was good even though service was a bit slow due to how busy they were).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We were coming from a village Called Raxrujá, where there was nowhere to have breakfast and the hotel was awful. We decided to make the 2-hour travel to Coban to have something decent and delicious to eat. It ended up being like 3 hours because of the rain. It was my birthday so I really wanted something nice to start the day. There was a lovely fire and the coffee was excellent. We did have to wait for our meals but they were amazing, I had Benedict eggs, oatmeal, plantanes. The staff was really really attentive and nice. They decorate with orchids from their orchard which you can have a tour to. I saw the pictures and the place is beautiful with a guided tour and honey tasting, paid of course. I had a very special birthday brunch. You do share the restrooms with the hotel's, I saw the rooms from outside, they look good for sleeping if that's all you want.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We slept two nights but you would not repeat the experience of sleeping there, although yes I would recommend eating, dining and having a coffee&cakes.

Not liked the accommodation:-( rooms, toilets or showers. The room is very basic and the lavatories are found in a hallway pretty close to the kitchen... and you are shared it with the waiters; Ther are two showers very simple and old, low water pressure and little hot water showers. This accommodation is very cheap but does not correspond at all with the category that one thinks, I mean if you see the restaurant, there are like a different establishment.

In my opinion they should invest in some reforms that would allow Casa Acuña a better appearance of the baths, and water with more pressure and temperature, and they must also clean toilets more frequently because if you offer bathrooms to share, they have to clean them very often!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are very noisy especially on Saturdays that I believe that there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4n4Eme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Viuicio and his staff make you feel like you're home. Amazing coffee, excellent desserts, and the best food in Coban. I've never written a review for anything in my life, but I decided to because of my experience here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briansherwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a hostel which includes only three rooms, one double and two and four.
Rooms have no shower, and no toilets.
The rooms themselves are very clean and the showers a little less but still very suitable for use without a problem.
Workers almost do not know English, but the director, Vinicio, knows English and is very nice. Is ready to help and assist with any problems.
We booked a double room via email but when we arrived at night the room was busy and we had to sleep in a room with bunk beds.
Room price is very cheap, but does not include meals and parking, for those who need.
The biggest advantage of this place excellent restaurant located inside.
The restaurant has a varied breakfasts and excellence. And dinner just great!
The place is highly recommended for those going through the city.
There is also organizing tours and packed meals.

Room Tip: There is 1 double room and 2 dormitory room for 4. All the rooms with shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytzahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berg
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I'm a solo female traveller and stayed at Casa D'Acuña twice while travelling in Guatemala. I liked the place a lot. This is not a typical backpackers where you can go and meet a lot of people but it's a good place to go, relax and treat yourself to some amazing food.

In total I stayed 4 nights and during 3 of them I had the room all to myself. The beds are very comfy, rooms and bathrooms are clean and there is hot water in the shower.
The staff of the hotel and restaurant were very friendly and helpful. When I told them that I was going to Laguna Lachuá on my own, they made several phonecalls to make sure it was safe for me to go (even though I wasn't actually worried about my safety) and asked the rangers about the food and water situation (you have to take it with you).

And once you're there, you have to eat in the restaurant! Yes, it's not cheap...especially if you're travelling on a budget. But still, do it! The food is great and totally worth the money. And breakfast is actually quite cheap considering what you get for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doedae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coban hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Luna
Casa Luna
#5 of 14 in Coban
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 14 in Coban
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel  Don Juan Matalbatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Kirva Hotel
Casa Kirva Hotel
#4 of 14 in Coban
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Duranta
Hotel Casa Duranta
#6 of 14 in Coban
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada de Carlos V
Posada de Carlos V
#14 of 14 in Coban
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa D'Acuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa D'Acuna

Property: Casa D'Acuna
Address: Calle 3-11 4a, Coban, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Also Known As:
Casa d`Acuna Hotel Coban
Casa d Acuna Coban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing