We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of Casa D'Acuna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa D'Acuna
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We did not stay at this hotel in Coban, but we used it as a base for tours and dining. We had a lovely breakfast and evening meal on Valentines day.The number and types of orchids at the restaurant was amazing. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we couldn't have wished to have had it anywhere else. They had spread freshly cut long grasses on the floor and decorated the restaurant with balloons etc. They had a pianist and then later a local lad playing his guitar. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The owner has an orchid and honey farm. Here they grow all the greens for the restaurant. We had mentioned to a member of staff that we wanted to visit an orchid farm and were fortunate that the owner does allow organised visits to his farm. This tour was incredibly interesting and I'm very glad we made the time to go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkkk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Casa D'Acuna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 59 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is an excellent hostel and with the most wonderful restaurant adjoining it.The owners and staff clould not be more helpful and I would more than hihgly recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms overlook the restaurant but one is not worried by any noise
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WidgeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Casa D'Acuna December 17th, 2011. After a long day of riding motorcycles through a muddy unpaved road we were ecstatic to find an amazing staff and wonderful restaurant at the hostel. We stayed in the double bed room, which is nice and private. We aren't used to shared bathrooms and don't usually stay at hostels but our stay here was really nice. The restaurant is excellent and you should try it even if you don't stay there. We were freezing from riding in the rain and they had a spiced hot red wine that was excellent. They brought several things to our table compliments of the house, including the first two glasses of hot red wine. We had a great meal and the wait staff was by far the best I have encountered in the last two months on the road. One of the waiters even made a point to remind us that a 10% gratuity was included in the bill - so they are obviously sensitive to the previous criticisms on this site. The restaurant might be out of the price range for some backpackers, but for my wife and I it was a wonderful treat. Every member of the staff that we met was exceptional. I would not hesitate to stay and eat there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nolatraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I've just spent 2 very enjoyable nights in this lovely place just off the Plaza Central (3 Avenida, at the bottom of the hill).
The rooms are two- and 4-bed dorms and the rate is 50Q a bed. If you want to you can opt to pay for both beds and have the room to yourself (Note: You only pay the extra 50Q if the place fills up and they have to turn someone away from your room. A nice, creative approach to thrift). I had the room to myself during my stay.
Lots of hot water for showers. The toilet/showers are immaculately clean, the numerous staff (how do they keep this many gainfully employed, I wondered) are helpful and friendly; the food is excellent but not cheap (around 80 - 100Q for main course).
They have the best coffee and DESSERTS that I tasted in Coban. Everything is to die for!
The rooms, kitchen, large dining rooms are set around a lovely courtyard, with two- and four-seat tables (all with crisp white tablecloths) placed within the courtyard for open-air dining.
The owners are orchid-lovers and keen gardeners and there are beautiful displays of monja blanca (white nun) and other orchids in full bloom throughout the dining areas.
There is also a full bookcase of novels (English, German, Spanish) for sale at modest prices.
I also enjoyed long chats with the owner, Ashley D'Acuna (an ex-pat from Vermont); always helpful and informative.
The whole experience highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnholland4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed here two nights and arranged a trip to Semuc Champney and then a shuttle onwards to Antigua with their front desk. We couldn't rate the restaurant attached to the hotel highly enough. Excellent food and service and a nice garden and lounge for residents staying in the hotel to use. Unfortunately, less can be said about the rooms..they are more an after-thought compared to the high standard of their bistro. We stayed in room 7- a small box-like room with a double bed, a table and a small cabinet. The walls and floor tiles require cleaning and perhaps some decoration! There are only two bathrooms for the hotel guests and quite ridiculously couple up to be the toilets used by restaurant patrons! They have seen better days but do have hot water from the decent shower...Prepare to be traipsing to and from the shared bathroom in your dressing gown passing diners dressed up! Given this, the room was dirt cheap- we paid Quetzals 50 ($14) however, i would have felt aggrieved if we had paid $25 as a previous reviewer had done so. Although I'm not really sure why you would have to pay more than $14/room as this is the price quoted on showing up and on the tourist-board advice sheet hanging in every room. Come for the food, wifi, lounge use and pleasant gardens with their orchids- just don't hang around too long in your room...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcs094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

The rooms in this hotel barely reach the most basic standard and for $25 are an absoloute rip off. Tiny room, grubby, damp walls, a single overhead light, no bedside tables, no hooks or shelves for clothes and shared toilet not working. In four months of travelling through South and Central America ths was by far the worst value for money. Hostal Dona Victoria round the corner has beautiful rooms with cable TV, private bath and two comfortable beds for the same price. We do, however, reccomend the Casa D'Ancuna restaurant which is excellent, although expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlespenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and overall it was a pleasant stay. The room was large enough for the one double bed, small table and very small cabinet. It was clean, safe (there is CCTV onsite), free wi-fi, and the staff were courteous.
Private bathrooms are not available and having only two toilets for the hostel is insufficient. Fortunately we found another toilet designated for the restaurant and used it when the others were occupied. We stayed during the off season, so I can only imagine how long the line ups/queues are for the toilet in the summer!!
The restaurant is very expensive, but the food is of a high standard. So if you want to treat yourself or don't mind shelling out, than I would recommend. As a previous reviewer mentionned, I would always take the receipt from the waiter so that you can see it in its entirety and ensure they aren't covering some of the figures with their fingers.
It is possible to book tours to Semuc Champey here, although we booked a transport only option in town for much less and then bought lunch from the restaurant. (The tour's packed lunches also come from the hostel restaurant). We also booked shuttle transport to Flores from here without any problems.
Laundry service is available, but expensive. Instead, we found a good laundrette on 7 Avenida, near 3 Calle which did a good job.
Apart from the lack of toilet/shower facilities, my main gripes with the hostel was there was one front desk which acted as a desk for the hostel, the restaurant, the gift shop, and a receiving area for food and stock that came in. There were many times when I wanted to ask the person at the front desk something and they were busy for 20 minutes or more with someone selling chocolates, etc. It is obvious when you walk in that most of the money is earned from and reinvested into the restaurant. It really looks fab. And then when you walk into your average sized room and have to stand around waiting for a toilet it is a bit of contrast.
In addition, the design of the building is such that the rooms run along a central corridor that leads to the kitchen. The opposite wall of the rooms face onto an external pathway which also leads to the kitchen. Not a huge deal except that kitchen staff and others were constantly hurrying down it. OK, you don't think much of it in the day, but in the evening and especially early morning, you don't want to wake up to people yelling
to their colleagues down the hall or making lots of noise from lugging various crates/supplies down the external pathway. We were woken every morning when the breakfast staff arrived.
On the plus side, the evening manager was very professional and frequently came over to ask us how we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything we could do.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sc3traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coban hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Gaia
Casa Gaia
#1 of 14 in Coban
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Duranta
Hotel Casa Duranta
#6 of 14 in Coban
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 14 in Coban
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Posada
Hotel La Posada
#9 of 14 in Coban
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Kirva Hotel
Casa Kirva Hotel
#4 of 14 in Coban
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel  Don Juan Matalbatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa D'Acuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa D'Acuna

Address: Calle 3-11 4a, Coban, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Coban
Also Known As:
Casa d`Acuna Hotel Coban
Casa d Acuna Coban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing