We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Casa Yuam Che

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Yuam Che
Ranked #4 of 19 Coban B&B and Inns
Atlanta
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Like the other reviewers, I cannot say enough good things about Guatefriends and the people that run it. This hostel is a breath of fresh air. From the moment you arrive, you are welcomed and feel like part of the family. I stopped in Coban on the way to Tikal, ended up staying three nights and didn't want to leave. It’s only a few minutes outside of the town center, but you feel like you are at a peaceful mountain retreat hours away from the busyness of a town. The house is beautifully situated on a hill with a great view overlooking the local community. Be sure to notice the paintings that litter the walls of the house. They are painted by Otto.

Accommodations: After staying in some other hostels on my travels through Guatemala, this place felt like the Ritz Carlton. It is very clean and has hot water – a nice luxury after staying a week in the jungle. They also have a hairdryer – again a luxury for backpackers! The third floor dorm room has a balcony and a great view. Nevermind the dogs barking at night. They sound like they are killing each other but hey, it's Guatemala. Wild dogs are everywhere.

Food: Pretty much everything you find in Guatemala is organic. I enjoyed fresh fruit juice and blended drinks with breakfast and cheese homemade by a local villager with dinner. Breakfast was included with my stay. Other meals were an extra cost and are highly recommended. Abdy and Elizabeth are excellent cooks and the meals are very reasonably priced. You eat family style which is a great way to get to know the family and meet other travelers. They also provide purified water and have wireless internet. Make sure you try some local dishes. Mush is excellent – thanks for introducing me to it Abdy!

I will always have a special place in my heart for Guatemala but especially for the family that runs Guatefriends. So if you go to Coban stay here (and bring Elizabeth vanilla extract which is hard to get as cheap as it is in the US – she’ll love you!).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alycatatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I can't really think of anything else to add to the previous reviews. I stayed here just after it opened and it really was such a special place. The house was incredible, like no other place I saw in Guatemala. The family are a fantastic group of people and I was made to feel so welcome in their home. I can't recommend this place highly enough. The only reason I stopped in Coban was because of the photos I'd seen of this place and I really wasn't disappointed in the slightest. Stay here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlestobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Without doubt a special place to stay!! Guatefriends is a gorgeous hostel (stunning building AND location) that is literally inside a friendly family's house!

It's new and the owners are lovely, not to mention fantastic cooks. It's 15 minutes outside of Coban and they'll pick you up and drive you back to town (if you can drag yourselves away). Well worth the effort because staying in the homely place is part of the experience in itself.

Definitely recommended if you're looking for a different kind of stay where you can interact with a family and/or while away hours on pretty wooden balconies overlooking the garden and cloud forest beyond. Happy days :)))

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Excellent location (in the mountains, five mins drive from town, family will take you for a few dollars)
Excellent hosts (Guatemalan family, lovely people)
Excellent house (Swiss chalet, made from Guatemalan materials)
Excellent food (Abdy is a good cook)

If I am ever in the area again, I will certainly be dropping by!

Room Tip: Top floor is the best!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This guesthouse is about 15 minute drive from the city center and well worth the trip. Not only is the house and surrounding property gorgeous architecturally, it is very comfortable and the family who runs are warm, welcoming and helpful with any request. They also provide a wealth of information about the local culture and area.

The food was excellent, breakfast was included in room price and additional meals (upon request) are not only delicious using many local ingredients but an incredible value.

This is a wonderful place that I can recommend highly enough and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nf_interactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coban hotels
3.9 mi away
Casa Luna
Casa Luna
#6 of 14 in Coban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa Gaia
Casa Gaia
#1 of 14 in Coban
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel  Don Juan Matalbatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 14 in Coban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Kirva Hotel
Casa Kirva Hotel
#4 of 14 in Coban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Duranta
Hotel Casa Duranta
#8 of 14 in Coban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Yuam Che? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Yuam Che

Property: Casa Yuam Che
Address: Km. 205 Aldea Chicuxab, Coban 16001, Guatemala (Formerly Hostal Guatefriends Coban)
Location: Guatemala > Alta Verapaz Department > Coban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Coban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Yuam Che, meaning "Tree of Life" in Qeqchi mayan language, its a house that was built with the purpose of being an out of the ordinary family home in a beautiful and quiet village close to Coban. Due to its exceptional architecture of wood and stone, and to the amazing family hospitality, the idea of making it a guest home for visitors came to life. Casa Yuam Che its the one exclusive hotel where both travelers from Guatemala and around the world can enjoy a unique experience in Coban, we welcome you to have a beautiful and different stay. Casa Yuam Che is located in Aldea Chicuxab only 8 kilometers away from the main plaza in Coban, Alta Verapaz.; its surrounded by a beautiful mountain landscape. As well, around the area you can find many natural and cultural attractions like Orquigonia (Orchids tour in a natural preserve), Cuevas del Rey Marcos (Caves), Parque Nacional Las Victorias (Natural Preserve in Coban downtown), Coffee Tours, and places to eat traditional foods; Coban is a natural stunning environment to be discovered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing