We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine among the orchids”
Review of Casa d'Acuna

Casa d'Acuna
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Coban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dine among the orchids”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This delightful courtyard garden restaurant serves excellent food in a garden of orchids. Both the food and the service are excellent, accompanied by mellow music - classic American oldies. There are some very reasonably priced wines to accompany your food. A lovely, tranquil place to linger, with well spaced tables and a romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A very special surprise, dAcuna is a showplace for an exquisite orchid display. We first stopped in to see the orchids and have coffee. The coffee was great and a small butter cookie sparked my enthusiasm. The kitchen knows its métier.
The next day it was our choice for lunch. A perfect setting for any occasion, it is airy and refreshing to sit in the atrium with all of the orchids. There are however, private dining rooms on one side lined with interesting local art. Lunch was excellent. It consisted of one of the best steak entrees ever,,very tasty fresh salad, breads, fish and selection of five different sauces for the entrees including chutney. More expensive than some other local restaurants, d'Acuna is notches above. At least go for coffee if you can't do breakfast, lunch or dinner. Service staff are warm and seem to enjoy their work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Coffee!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I had breakfast here, but what I was searching for was a good cup of coffee. I found it. The server refilled my cup without me asking at the perfect time too. I loved it! I had the eggs Benedict, which was great too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank soibhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent service, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The staff were very attentive right from the start and the owner came and offered to explain a little about the Orchid Exhibition which was lovely. We first came for coffee and carrot cake - delicious and huge!

After this we decided to return for dinner - spaghetti bolognaise and lasagne. These were on the list of smaller meals but there was a very generous portion of bolognaise for the price.

You should most definitely try their delicious cakes, but if you get the chance, come for a meal too! It's a lovely place to dine day or night, with great service.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly staff, highly recommended”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I ate here on a business trip to Coban and was very impressed by the quality of the food and the cordial attitude of the staff. I had the pork chops with salsa and those were the best pork chops I've ever had! The atmosphere is comfortable with a lattice-covered courtyard, Koi pond, and flowers including the famous "White Monk" orchid renowned in this area. On another occasion I ordered the grilled chicken sandwich and papas fritas, which were both excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Tuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa d'Acuna also viewed

Coban, Alta Verapaz Department
Coban, Alta Verapaz Department
 
Coban, Alta Verapaz Department
Coban, Alta Verapaz Department
 

Been to Casa d'Acuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing