We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel rooms and an awful dirty dorm with bed bugs”

Bruno's Hotel and Marina
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fronteras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruno's Hotel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fronteras
Reviewed October 22, 2010

I happened to stay in the dorm, which featured a broken floor lamp, tied to the bed by a string, that would regularly shoot out some sparks from broken wires and go off, then one of not very friendly staff memebers would come and "fix" it with a bit of a tape. The beds were in a state as well, the shower in the shape of a pipe in the ceiling was dirty (but you can use the communal showers by the hotel rooms, which are much better) with only cold water and the toilet seat next to it, which was also used by all internet cafe clients. And I got rash from bed bugs there too, which is only clearing up after three weeks... £3.50 per bed and free rash included... They had a nice cafe though and it is a good jumping off point for exploring the lake and the rivers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SerpentinaDivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 64 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2010

Had the worst experience here, the staff took my luggage from the room and stole my I-pod and possessions. Had to get the police involved.

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank Holy186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Nice pool, nice room, good restaurant! I stayed in two different hotel, and Bruno is my first choice!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

My friend and I stayed 2 nights in Rio Dulce town (Las Fronteras) with a boat trip up the Rio Dulce to Livingston during our full day there. For such a quick trip Bruno's was perfect - close to the bus stations and town, right on the river so the colectivo boat to Livingston could pick us up on the hotel's dock. Our 3rd floor room was large and clean with a wonderful view of the pool and river through the tree tops. The restaurant was good and a decent value and we loved having the pool; internet was expensive and slow. If we'd had more time we might have chosen a more jungly, out-of-the-way option, but we were basically just breaking up the bus ride from Lake Atitlán to Flores with a day trip to Livingston so the location and amenities of Bruno's were a good match for our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I just needed an easy convenient place to overnight and catch the bus the next morning, and Bruno's did the job. The room was spacious, the AC was nice, the water was hot, and the price was right. I wouldn't choose Bruno's for an extended stay around RD, but for one night it fit the bill.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_in_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

The hotel is located alongside the Izabal Lake. It has rooms with or without private bathrooms (always private bathrooms recommended). It has a SMALL swimmingpool and a nice cafeteria (open til 22:00). Rooms are OK. Cleanliness is a weakness and must improve. Very cheap and conformtable.
Noises (shouts, voices and screams) were heard from other rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pablossanchezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Fronteras, or simply Rio Dulce as most people call it, is altogether a hole of a place, where people just pass through on the way elsewhere (mostly to El Peten). The town (if you can call it that!) is mostly a single main street, actually the road leading to the monstrous bridge with constant, bumper-to-bumper traffic. Bruno's is located just off this main road, just far enough away to ensure some peace and quiet. The grounds of the hotel are quite large and serve as a parking lot. The hotel section is just a cement bunker with some pretty bare, but clean, and respectably large rooms with quite comfortable double beds. All come with a/c and TV. The bathrooms are as plain as the rooms, and some don't even have mirrors! Bruno's is quite popular with sailors as there is a marina and outdoor restaurant, the latter serving mostly American-type as well as local food. There is a small pool, which is a nice touch on a hot summer day. Lunch comes to about 10$ and dinner to 15$. Good and inexpensive Happy Hour drinks...If you absolutely have to spend the nice in Rio Dulce, this is the best place, without a doubt!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fronteras
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banana Palms Hotel Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruno's Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruno's Hotel and Marina

Address: Rio Dulce area, Fronteras, Rio Dulce 18021, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Fronteras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fronteras
Price Range: $13 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Brunos Hotel Fronteras
Bruno's Hotel And Marina Rio Dulce, Guatemala - Fronteras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing