We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid their dormitory”

Bruno's Hotel and Marina
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fronteras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruno's Hotel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fronteras
Miami
Level Contributor
108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Avoid their dormitory”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Simply horrible place, dirty and not secure at all.
Maybe "normal" rooms are better, but for cheep lodging try to find some other place in town. Food at the bar is fairly good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    15
    12
    22
See reviews for
4
25
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The last little path off to the left before the bridge takes you down to Bruno's.
We found this place for breakfast after a terrible night at the backpackers over the bridge.
The rooms looked nice and quiet, set in gardens and overlooking a quiet section of the river.
The breakfast was stunning. Fresh fruit, massive portions and very friendly staff.
It als has the advantage of being 20 meters from where the bus will drop you off.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byrneharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Pity about the noise and sulky staff…
We were aiming to stay at Brunos for about a week, but left after 2 nights.
The good points were that our room (no. 7), even if it had seen better days, was very spacious for the 2 of us, it even had 2 bedrooms! …… as well as a fridge, stove, toaster and kitchen sink….in fact more like an apartment. There was (unsecured) wi-fi. Also, the manager Roy and his wife Jane were extremely pleasant and helpful to us.
Bad points were: lots of flies every day in the bathroom; erratic hot water…and then the BIGGIE: one of the noisiest places we have ever been to. It’s situated under the bridge with very heavy traffic screaming its way over at all times; deafeningly loud disco music carrying on well into the wee small hours, and loudspeakers blaring out their wares from trucks.
We also found the female employees in the restaurant/reception sullen and unhelpful (there’s a training need here!) Indeed, this was the very first time of nearly 2 weeks travel in Guatemala that we came across any unfriendly people at all…… let alone staff so plainly uninterested in the clients they are supposed to be servicing; even taking the money for our bill seemed like too much work for them.
The last straw was when I needed to ring the day before we left, to make a hotel reservation for the very next day. There are no phones in the room so I asked at reception if I could use their phone or if they could ring for me. This was refused. I told them it was important and I got the answer from the sullen young woman that they were “closed” This was 7pm in the evening! Not the sort of service you expect for $40 a night……
We moved down the road to the charming authentic little town of El Estor and have been staying in a lovely hotel here (Hotel Calle Real) for the past 3 days and the same money.
For the above reasons, I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quartetfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fronteras hotels

UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

I happened to stay in the dorm, which featured a broken floor lamp, tied to the bed by a string, that would regularly shoot out some sparks from broken wires and go off, then one of not very friendly staff memebers would come and "fix" it with a bit of a tape. The beds were in a state as well, the shower in the shape of a pipe in the ceiling was dirty (but you can use the communal showers by the hotel rooms, which are much better) with only cold water and the toilet seat next to it, which was also used by all internet cafe clients. And I got rash from bed bugs there too, which is only clearing up after three weeks... £3.50 per bed and free rash included... They had a nice cafe though and it is a good jumping off point for exploring the lake and the rivers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SerpentinaDivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Had the worst experience here, the staff took my luggage from the room and stole my I-pod and possessions. Had to get the police involved.

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holy186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Nice pool, nice room, good restaurant! I stayed in two different hotel, and Bruno is my first choice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
327 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

My friend and I stayed 2 nights in Rio Dulce town (Las Fronteras) with a boat trip up the Rio Dulce to Livingston during our full day there. For such a quick trip Bruno's was perfect - close to the bus stations and town, right on the river so the colectivo boat to Livingston could pick us up on the hotel's dock. Our 3rd floor room was large and clean with a wonderful view of the pool and river through the tree tops. The restaurant was good and a decent value and we loved having the pool; internet was expensive and slow. If we'd had more time we might have chosen a more jungly, out-of-the-way option, but we were basically just breaking up the bus ride from Lake Atitlán to Flores with a day trip to Livingston so the location and amenities of Bruno's were a good match for our needs.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fronteras
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 9 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruno's Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruno's Hotel and Marina

Property: Bruno's Hotel and Marina
Address: Rio Dulce area, Fronteras, Rio Dulce 18021, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Fronteras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fronteras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Brunos Hotel Fronteras
Bruno's Hotel And Marina Rio Dulce, Guatemala - Fronteras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing