We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Takua Pa
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
149
130
48
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
149
130
48
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature trail small sandy beach main entrance flip flops ice cream nice walk per adult selling cold drinks closed shoes beautiful scenery half day trip comfortable shoes southern entrance minutes walking shower and toilet small stand jungle experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 344 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We visited after a thunderstorm, so the paths were very slippery, the concrete paths around the centre soon give way to a mud path which is crossed by running water in the wet season, turning parts into a mud slide. The tide was high so there was not much beach at the end of the walk, and the ice cream kiosk was closed. This is one of those places where the experience is very dependent on the season and weather, in fine weather with low tide, so bigger beach, it is probably much better. The interpretation boards on the way nature trail made us laugh due to the very poor translations. If you are used to national parks providing lots of information on the fauna you will be dissappointed. We saw no rangers and there were no tours or staff to explain the ecology. Staff at the restaurant seemed bored and more interested in talking to each other than serving customers.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank den437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

A nice national park which is located near the resort we stayed during our two weeks holiday in Khaolak. We didn't expect the 200 baht entry per adult though, but it's okay it was about £5/adult, children are free. It was quite hard to trek as it was slippery due to the heavy rainfall and some paths were too close to the edge, but kind of doable, just take time and be careful. However, when it’s dry season I’m sure that this will be a lot easier to trek.
We entered from the main entrance which is near the restaurant. We didn't make to the beach as it was too slippery and I was worried about my kid, so decided to turned back and stopped at the restaurant and had lunch there instead. The view from the restaurant is also beautiful.
The restaurant served nice and cheap foods than most places in Khaolak but there weren't enough staffs so don't expect good service.
Regarding the national park itself, it is very beautiful. I’ve been told by a staff member from the resort I stay that there is another entrance a bit further up and it would be a shorter and easier way to get to the beach. So, maybe you can try that instead. We will try that next time we are in Khaolak. Overall, it is a nice national park, beautiful views but a bit more expensive than other places for the entry fees.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Peach K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

It was really stunning. The beaches were beautiful. Most of it is covered by rocks, although there is small sandy beach which is quite small. Crabs, Chiton and fish are easy to find, as well as mudskippers. In the rainforest, we saw multiple lizards and a Monitor lizard. We even saw a few monkeys!

Khao Lak Lam Ru: 10/10

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

A must walk throught the jungle. Then take your clithes off and jump into the beautiful warm water. Ahh all the sweat and mosquito bites disappear. Also u can purchase an icecream and diet cola at the end of your journey.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Woodyw378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Well here is What i was Looking for before going there But Could not figure out.

We are a young family youngest 3 month, 2,5 years and wife and myself.

So first questions taking toddlers, Pram or no pram and how hard is this nature trail.

Coming from Khao Lak, there is 2 entrances to the national park. First one is called headquarters and will take you directly to the restaurant, from the restaurant it is safe to say that if you are planning on transporting your toddler in a pram forget about it. We packed the little one in a sling and I carried the oldest in my back pack and the pram in my hand. That works but does require that you are used to jungle or let’s say challenging footing. Remember water, and bug spray. The trail is around 40 minutes long for a little family as mine and have a nice viewing point and loads of beautiful scenery and some big trees.

Second entry to the park is a bit further up the road and is normally just called little sandy beach. This is pram “friendly” meaning we had the little Viking in the pram the full time but had to carry the pram 3 times, last time is over a small bamboo bridge. But works really well. The trail is fairly fast and brings you to a awesome beach with white sand, toilets, some ok snorkeling by each side by the rocks and a small stand selling cold drinks and ice cream. There is plenty of shade to be had and it is a little paradise on earth.

Expect taxi from Khao Lak to be around 250 bath,

We actually started on the the easy pram access to the beach used some hours on the beach and then backed the nature trail and went to the restaurant which have awesome fish, built on wooden beams overlooking the jungle and bay. After lunch the called for a taxi for us. So all in all logistics rock.

Just to be clear. We did it as a loop. Little white sandy beach access from road, pram friendly jungle trail, bridge, beach, follow the beach to the right, nature trail, restaurant.

On shoes, I do recommend closed shoes with good grip. But I all depends on your experience with toddlers like mine and carrying a child on your back, trail running shoes is the safest. So leave your flip flops at home.

Access to park, beach and some little waterfall which is far far away from this area is 200 bath for adults and kids below 3 are free.

I highly recommend it to everyone looking for an awesome beach with few people, ok snorkeling and a great short jungle experience

Date of experience: March 2018
6  Thank FredGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews