We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Independent Bo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Independent Bo
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Trat
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

It is sad to know that so many people downgrade this wonderful and beautiful place. In my mind it is a pearl within the masses of standard guesthouses all over South east Asia. Independent Bo's is the perfect backpacker retreat, a unique and aesthetic surrounding, lovely staff, good conversation, a beautiful beach, sunsets, plenty of hammocks and nooks to chill out, a self service bar. It is a trustworthy environment, I myself never locked the bungalow, as I felt it was not necessary. You can find both quiet and fun time here, really whatever you're after. If you're looking for fancy bungalows with fancy bathrooms you probably shouldn't be backpacking anyway. Many people, myself included, get hooked on the place-for good reasons. I would advice this place to all of my friends, and will definitely be back myself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singlemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
13
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Independent Bo is one of the few hold-overs from days past when accommodation on Koh Chang was a basic and simple bungalow next to the beach. The atmosphere is what really made me stay here. Funky art and practical construction give this place an edge. I'll never forgot my time here and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: You can't book rooms, you have to turn up and see what's available. Best time is around 10a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offRAILScrazytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place is by far the worst place i have ever slept in my life. The rooms my friends and i were in were dirty, ant infested, rat infested, the doors didnt lock properly and over all completley unnacceptable by any standard of living. The location was terrible, the ascent to the room was dangerous and not well lit. I dont know what possessed us to check in here but luckily we only booked one night. I would only reccomend staying here if you enjoy sharing a bed with presumably dirty and rabid vermin. Stay away from this place at all costs. Worst night of our lives.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cactusjack267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trat hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Cute quirky looking place from the beach. Cool little common area/ bar.
Steep steps up to huts. Huts are basic but brightly painted and funky, and ours had a nice view over sea.
Good mosquito net over bed, lucky really as the windows dont shut. Bathroom is awful. No sink, manual flush toilet, and the shower head is about 5 inches from the naked light bulb!! No towels or toilet tissue provided. No bin provided for tissue even though its not flushable.
Owner is very opinionated, whether asked for or not, and some might say downright rude.
Laundry was all washed together, and obviously ran, which ruined a white cardigan. 20 baht was apparently knocked off the price for this, not very helpful.
Overall, the place is one of the cheapest on white beach, but it definetly shows.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Cool layout outside and cheap prices, but that's about it. The room and bathroom are tiny, the sheets/pillows had mold/mildew on them, fan didnt work, and the room was full of smoke from the bar right outside the window.

Much better off staying at one of the nicer/friendlier places next door and stopping by Bo's during the day for a beer and to check out the interesting patio/seating areas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

You have to walk along the beach from the 7-11 at whitesands to get to Bo's and you can't miss it - there are brightly painted huts stuck on to the beach and the rocks. You can guess what it is going to be like as soon as you see it so don't go in if you are expecting luxury! Rooms are basic with fans and beds with mosquito nets and attached bathrooms with manual flush toilets and cold water showers. In general, the further up into the jungle you go, the cheaper (starting at around 300 Bhat / £7) and therefore, more basic the rooms become but if you are too close to the sea then the noise from the bar will keep you awake. If your room is high up in the jungle, it can be quite a climb and therefore may be difficult if not impossible for people with mobility issues. You can't book, just have to take your chances and it was pretty much full the whole time we were there. Turn up around 10am and you are more likely to secure a room. The people who run it and stay there are friendly and a bit mad and will happily stay up all night partying every night but obviously you can get as involved as you like, just make sure you don't upset the owner by not at least being civil! The setting on the beach is idyllic compared with the horrible tourist bit at the other end of the beach and the atmosphere is relaxed and chilled. Open your mind and you will love it! There is also a Bo's in Trat which is even cheaper and is very nice and a good option if you are spending the night there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleeplessUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton Bay Region, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

This place does not take bookings, you just walk in. The rooms are all separate bungalows which go up the hill. The bungalow has a separate bathroom which has a cold water shower and toilet, no sink. There is no flyscreen provided on the windows but a mosquito net covers the bed. I found the bed to be really comfortable and did not need to use the fan at night. You can hear the waves from ocean at night. There is a beach right outside the door that is suitable for swimming and a few beach swings.

The bungalow has a little balcony complete with hammock and double bed. There are cupboards in the room to store your stuff. Two powerpoints for charging up your equipment. There is no wifi available, but I used my iphone to tether my laptop too and it was easy to do and worked fine.

The Irish manager speaks excellent english (as you would expect) and is very chatty, which is especially great if you are a solo traveller. So no language barrier. So if you want to find out more about Thailand's people and where to go and what to see, you can. Very easy to meet fellow travellers here. There is no loud music at night which is great!!!!

The price for low season was 250 bht, a bargain.

Room Tip: They actually show you all the rooms and then you get to pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trat
0.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#42 of 72 in Ko Chang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mac Resort Hotel
Mac Resort Hotel
#58 of 72 in Ko Chang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cookies Hotel
Cookies Hotel
#60 of 72 in Ko Chang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Sand Beach Resort
White Sand Beach Resort
#56 of 109 in Ko Chang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independent Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independent Bo

Property: Independent Bo
Address: 102/2 Moo 4, Haad Sai Khao, Ko Chang, Trat, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Trat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Trat
Number of rooms: 247
Also Known As:
Independent Bo Hotel Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing