We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good area, average.”
Review of Residence House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence House
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Trat
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A good area, average.”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We did not book prior to arrival in Trat. We went to the old town area and this guesthouse had vacancies. This is the best area of Trat; a quaint road with many guesthouses and a few nice bars/ restaurants on. The bar opposite this guesthouse was friendly and nice, with good food and plenty of options. The Male owner of this guesthouse was not overly friendly, however the female owner was.

We were told the only rooms available had air con - and therefor emore expensive. However the air con was very primitive, with only an on off option. Needless to say, we didn't use it.

The bed was very comfy and clean. The shower was basic but was hot and worked fine.

The owner helped us book our further travel onto Koh Mak, which meant we were picked up outside the guesthouse instead of having to make our own way to the taxi area.

There was no real area to sit outside - only a few tables and chairs, but lacked any of the prettiness of other guesthouses in the same place.

Breakfast was not included but you could order it. We did not so I do not know how good it was.

Also, a small downpoint was that there was a curfew of 11pm, which you had to be back in the guesthouse, which felt a bit school-like.

Room Tip: If you can, fan assisted rooms are a better option that air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herbertberlin, Manager at Residence House, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We close the doors at 11:00pm for security reasons, and because it keeps the hotel quiet late at night, which many of our guests appreciate. As for the A/C, we are happy to change the settings on request (and the settings are adjustable.). We are a small, family-run guesthouse, but we try to make things as pleasant as possible for our guests. But we cannot read minds! I wish this guest had talked to us about his problems.
It might be better that guests,who like an anonymity atmosphere prefer an hotel .
We take care our rooms , the equipment and the guests very well, in case of any problems
or inquiries we always present.
It is amazing that many aspects of all the negativ critics we getting are held less, (like looking a hair in the soup)coming from guests who stayed short and avoiding contacts with us, when passing the lobby or restaurant.
thelobby/restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    47
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
52
23
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The big advantages of Residang are a very fair price and the location. When you are on the way to or from Koh Mak, this is a good place to stay for a night and explore Trat.

The owner has set up an array of house rules that ar pinned everywhere. None of them are a problem if you don't want to party in the house during the night but actually make sure you can spend a quiet night. Don't go there if you don't like keeping quiet indoors.

We did have some issues with cleanliness and the furniture which is somewhat on the tired side. A bit of investment could do wonders to the place.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carsten_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Nestled away on a quiet, funky street, this quiet and functional guest house is a comfortable place to crash on the way to the islands. Our room was large and well lit with a huge comfortable bed. A/C worked great. The German host spoke excellent English and was very helpful in setting up connections to Koh Mak.

But the place is quirky - extremely steep stairs to the second floor - and leave your shoes in the lobby, not your room. We were leaving before 8:00 so had to order breakfast ahead - but it was ready the minute we stepped into the lobby.

At 500 baht, these were bargain accommodations, very basic if you like to travel comfortably but luxurious for the average backpacker.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

.......we found our German host's impatient tone, endless rules and total lack of sense of humour quite funny in a Fawlty Towers kind of way. Our reasonably priced room was large and clean. We had a nice private balcony to watch the world of Trat pass below and by-in-large could ignore the dark, dismal, depressing reception area downstairs. And then, uh-oh, we missed the 11pm curfew (one of the rules and regulations) so wifey had to let us in wearing her PJ's and slippers at 11.35pm. Our host never spoke to us again! This guy doesn't have a clue about the hopitailty industry....perhaps the prison service would appreciate his talents!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lightup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herbertberlin, Manager at Residence House, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
We try to keep a quiet hotel, and this includes not letting people tromp around the halls and blast their TV in the wee hours of the morning. This is appreciated by some and resented by others.

We warmly welcome our guests, and we do our best to make them feel at home. Please take this customer's complaint with a grain of salt!

The writer's language shows how he relates to other people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Clean, cheap, good breakfast, good location, quiet and good food close by. Just what you need in a guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrowRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had one night here on our way to Koh Mak. Even though it is the low season I didn't feel a welcome customer here. It doesn't have a happy atmosphere. I was travelling alone with my 2 boys - 8 & 12 yrs old and within minutes there was a complaint made by a grumpy old farang guest there about my boys. They were just happy to be finished their day of travelling. Unless you can be quiet as mice - don't stay here. Other than that rooms were large for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookton west australia
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

from the moment i steped off the mini bus from the boarder,soaking wet from a motor bike ride from koh kong to the boarder during a thunderstorm, and the thai wife of the german owner greeted me with an offer of a warm bed, hot shower,and a clean room, WOW, that won me over. what a great place to stay, their friendliness and help was fantastic to the extent that they put my wet shoes in front of a fan to dry them for my bus trip to bangkok in the morning,also making me an early breakfast, as they arranged a taxi to pick me up at 5-45 am to catch the first bus to bangkok, im truely looking forward to staying there again, this was back in march 2008 thank you again . george linton western australia.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trat hotels
0.7 mi away
Trat Center
Trat Center
#5 of 16 in Trat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trat City Hotel
Trat City Hotel
#3 of 16 in Trat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pailin Resort
Pailin Resort
#7 of 16 in Trat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Banpu Resort & Spa
Banpu Resort & Spa
#9 of 16 in Trat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pop Guest House
Pop Guest House
#3 of 15 in Trat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
28.2 mi away
Mairood Resort
Mairood Resort
#2 of 16 in Trat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence House

Property: Residence House
Address: 87/1-2 Soi Thanacharoen Rd | Bang Phra Subdistrict, Trat 23000, Thailand (Formerly Residang Guest House)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Trat
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Trat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residangguesthouse changed the name into Residence House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residang Hotel Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing