We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really beautiful place but for a young couple the night life was a bit poor.”
Review of Club Bentota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Bentota
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aluthgama
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay and there are lots of daytime activities which will leave you tired at night but for the days you have around the pool and on the beach, I wanted to dance in the evening and the entertainment is a bit slow. Luba looked after us on the trips and their was also a local guy called ratu who took us fishing and made a beach fire with food and entertain the evening with his friends playing the bongos and walking on the hot coals. That was the best night. We paid for the food and drink and ratu cooked it. Great food.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley030185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 870 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just come home from our second stay, (4 weeks) this time in Club Bentota in two years and i still didnt want to come home!! We are repeat guests and they really make a fuss of you. We didnt do any tours because we have been to Sri Lanks many times and have done nearly all of them some more than once, maybe Yarla next year!!!! We enjoyed this hotel and the staff and everything about it so much, we just had to come back. If you are friendly with the staff, you will get ten fold friendship back. They love to help you in anyway they can. The bar and beverage manager, "I called him Mr Alfred",did everything he could to make us and everyone welcome and feel special with his special cocktails!!!!!
We especially like the little bungalows, yes they are a bit small but who goes on holiday to stay in the room?? We found ours very clean and the beds are comfy, towels are changed everyday. There is also tea and coffee facilities in your room and a nice little terrace to sit on if you like. We always had our tea and coffee sat on our terrace in the morning saying"Good morning" to everyone who passed, including staff hehe. Well if in doubt, give this hotel a try, im sure you will love it just as we do!!!
I would like to recommend NADEEN, he is a beach boy, you will find him just outside the gate or in the little hut on the beach. He is also a very good friend. We have known him for about 8 years We know his family and even had our wedding anniversary party at his home. Fantastic!! He will do everything you want to do on his trips and at a very good value price. He is the only beach boy who can speak Polish, and this he taught himself. Give him a try, you wont be dissapointed!! He also speaks many other languages. He is very clean and polite and friendly.
One of the lovely, unique things about this hotel is the little boat that goes back and forth taking you to the otherside.Dont be afraid to go to the local town, Aluthgamma, shopping, but sort out the price with the tuk tuk man first, They are an experiance in themselves but we love them. We are hoping to go back next year again to this lovely friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaniceYull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just come back from having a week here, should have gone for longer... The hotel was good, reception staff a little too business like for me but the hotel was clean and well maintained, having said that, the light over our washbasin stopped working so we reported it to reception. When we went back to the room later, it had been fixed, well, light removed and tape round the wires, simple, no light, it can't not work!! It was replaced the next day though lol. Went on a boat trip with Luba, cost us a fiver each and was really interesting. We did see lots and Luba was a good guide, we throughly enjoyed it so can recommend this. Beware the spice garden visit, they give you a massage if you would like one, oil goes on your clothes so wear something you don't mind ruining and be prepared to give the students a tip, in fact tip everyone!! Prices were a little steep for the herbal remedies, but they will charge things to your hotel for you if you'd like. The gem place was fantastic, but be prepared for really hard sell, they are determined that you will buy before you leave, the jeweller at the hotel had some lovely pieces and I opted for there instead, no hard sell, and able to look at things without someone breathing down my neck. The beach was glorious, we walked the full length of the beach each day in the morning and then I went back and did it again later in the afternoon, the sea is wonderful and it is all so relaxing. A visit to the temple on the island is good, take your shoes off to walk around and make sure that knees and shoulders and arms are covered as a mark of respect. There is a donation box but the young boy there, who spoke brilliant english, was happier for you to buy one of their pamphlets than put in a donation, although he did ask later if we wanted to give a donation to the animal trust. Talking of which......... chipmonks!! They are everywhere, and so charming. I know they are just like vermin there but they are so cute when they pop their head over the table edge to see if you have anything going spare!! It was a lovely holiday, but if you are planning on going on the trips then they are usually for 2-3 days so you will need longer than a week. All together it was a lovely relaxing time, all you could hear was the sound of the sea, the staff were really pleasant and helpful and it's a place to return to.

Room Tip: standard rooms are further away from the restaurant etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Busterbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First time to Sri Lanka.

BOOKED WITH KUONI - because we have in the past and always had great hotels and service... I feel this hotel is a little below the "normal" Kuoni standard, although it was a good price I would rather have paid a few more £££ and they used this to resolve the few niggles.

FLIGHTS via Sri Lankan airlines - all on time and friendly service but the standard of the aircraft interior was very poor - these are "tired" aircraft and really could do with upgrading.
The seats and interior were frankly "dirty" and the in-seat video system was poor - shame because its useful on a 9/10 hour flight - suggest you take a tablet to view your favourite movies rather than relying on the in-flight stuff.

CLUB BENTOTA - So on to the hotel - we booked a 10 day beach holiday and got a bit bored after a few days (our fault) so booked a Kuoni organised trip up country (more about this later).
Hotel met our expectations for the price but that does not excuse some of the issues.

CLEANLINESS - very dirty mattresses - normally I don't pull back the sheet to inspect (better not sometimes) but the sheets were ill fitting and often left the mattresses exposed... and they were VERY grimy - definitely not the standard I would have expected ....
This also went for the sunbed mattresses and seat covers in the bar areas - they all need at the very least cleaning
The pool was disturbing - although the water was clean the edges of the pool (where the sides met the water) were filthy - hotel please note - CLEAN THE POOL PROPERLY.

FOOD - good standard, no tummy problems, we found lots of choices, curries, western food (like roast pork!), plenty of salads, nice puddings, soups etc....no complaints here.

BAR - because its all inclusive the service could be variable - sometimes completely on the ball at others it was a "hassle" for the staff to serve - example: disappointing on our first night that we were lied to ... They told us at about 10pm that the Gin had "run out" - when questioned and said we would ask the manager at reception about this "suddenly" a bottle of Managers Gin appeared - somebody was on the fiddle!!!! (no we were not drunk :-) ).
Wine - we had this on our "dark green band" AI deal - again at mealtimes this was a variable service - 50% of the time having to "chase the wine trolley" around the restaurant because it is easy to get ignored.

TIPS - Eventually we came to the conclusion that variable service was down to the tips - at least that what we thought... if you don't tip/tip big enough then service was definitely reduced - eventually we joined the "merry tipping band" and service improved- just 100 rupees at each meal time (about 50p).

TIPPING :-( - I don't like the idea of having to provide tips all the time on AI - I know the staff don't get great wages - but I would rather pay a few more £££ on the holiday price and forget the tipping stuff - it just puts a strain on the whole thing, having to worry all the time - have I got change, who should i pay, how much and the staff are waiting ALL the time to get something.
We have always tipped - but at the end of a holiday based on overall service - this is different...

ENVIROMENT - Beach was fantastic - great walks and evening sunset

INSECTS - Biting insects - as others say - take plenty of sprays - it wont solve the problem but it will reduce it... they are painful and very itchy bites - beware!!!

BEACH BOYS - Took one trip with a "beach boy" - you get what you pay for - although we were definitely ripped off and had poor quality experience - booked later trip through Kuoni - yes you pay more but you get the quality of service - our driver Rafael was SUPERB and well worth this end of trip tip... great guy.

DRINKS - Bar drinks were fine, local spirits and beer were acceptable, no need to pay more for imported stuff but we were NOT there on a Poya Day (religious full moon holiday) where alcohol is not served - not sure what happens then.??
Plenty of guests took in there own favourite tipple into restaurant and bar... particularly the Russians who always appeared with their own bottles of vodka - not sure if they got them from the bar or took into the country themselves.

HMMMM - apologies for this comment but it has to be said - its not racist - but the Russians/Ukranians DOMINATED public areas and I have to say on a few evenings spoilt it... they were VERY LOUD - HEAVY SMOKERS (watch where you sit in the restaurant if you are non-smokers) AND MANNERS THAT LEFT A LOT TO BE DESIRED PARTICULARLY THE WAY THEY TREATED THE STAFF.

RECEPTION - Reception staff were very friendly - although the wake up calls never ever materialised (booked 3 times and missed 3 times... you have been warned!!!)

SPA - Wife had a pedicure in the SPA - quoted a high-price at first and when we said that was too much they immediately reduced by 20% - even then it was "UK prices" £37 - and they quality according to wife was poor - nails were chipping within a couple of days.

TRIPS - we went on organised Kuoni trip to Tea Country and Kandy - excellent - great tour and great driver - one of the hotels was not up to normal standard (in Nuwara Eliya) we stayed at the Galway Forest Lodge - normally Kuoni book the "The Grand" but it was full - do NOT accept the Galway - it is 10 minutes out of town by Tut Tut and in the middle of nowhwere with no outside public area so can only sit in room or on bench in front garden overlooking rubbish dump - rooms grubby and average food.

At Kandy we stayed at Regency - paid a small supplement but well worth it.....
Watch out for trip to GEM MUSEUM - prices are a rip off - we should know better and paid double what we should for a couple of stones... our fault we are big enough to know better but you have been warned - that was even after we bargained down 35% - so my suggestion is pay no more than 50% of their orginal quoted price - and even that is probably too much :-).

WHAT ARE THE REAL PLUSSES - The people of Sri Lanka - absolutely fantastic - yes there were lookie lookie boys at the shops but normally once you say NO then they stop - always a smile particularly in the villages where we were greeted like royalty.

PLEASE TAKE SMALL GIFTS FOR THE CHILDREN - Sweets and pencils and pens are much appreciated - it is like you have given them a new bike for Christmas - they appreciate anything and they are well behaved and lovely mannered - they are a fantastic advertisement for their country and the school system - WELL DONE SRI LANKAN GOVERNMENT FOR FREE AND PLENTIFUL EDUCATION.

LOCAL TRAIN TO GALLE - Took the train from Bentota to Galle -do it.... its fun but watch out for the scammers - they have all sorts of stories "I am your chief from hotel (they see the band - take it off and get a new one when you get back to hotel) I look after you" - "you need government Tut Tut not private I help you" (forget this, there are no government tut tuts) - basically if someone gets your attention on the train they are scammers and let they rest of the country down.

TIP - when you get to Galle station the Tourist Office is in the park right opposite, make you were into there and you will get good and free advice on what to see in the area.
Took also the train trip from Tea Country to Kandy - do it, do it, do it, get in the first class observation car (will need to make sure seat is booked) - its more than 4 hours - you do NOT want to be in second class for this long.... trust me!!!!!!

Would we go to SL again - yes in a heartbeart.

Club Bentota - probably not - maybe just for a night or two.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fatherofthechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Club Bentota, it was better than we expected and getting there by boat added to the fun. The staff are particularly hard working, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the food and thought there was a very good variety to choose from, The beach is outstanding as are the wildlife and birds around that area and in the hotel grounds. We did not like the chipmunks everywhere due to many guests feeding them, plus the house crows are only too happy to take food off the table if they get a chance, these raise health issues. One more concern is the many large monitor lizards which hide in the storm drains and then wander through the sun loungers, they should be removed for safety before someone gets hurt. If using the beach boys for tours then be careful who you choose (and don't believe everything they tell you) and how you deal with them, they vary in integrity and reliability. There are tiny flies like midges (people call them sand flies) which bite, especially around the pool area, seemed to be less of a problem on the beach area but we didn't see any mosquitoes.
Overall Sri Lanka is beautiful and we are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: probably get a deluxe room if possible. there is noise from the bar area some nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredblogs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After a week touring the island, we were looking to relax by the beach. The location is quietly beautiful and the resort is gat for a quiet relaxing break. The food was exceptional, especially the grilled prawns (which were not part of the Kuoni All-Inclusive deal), which were well worth paying for and very reasonably priced.

Don't expect five star, but at this price your shouldn't.

Some people prefer the Deluxe Rooms but we opted for Standard as they were single storey away from the main hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived at club bentota at the end of our trip to Sri Lanka and thank god we only had 3 nights here!
On arrival the boat trip across was great and check in was fairly quick but the room was horrible, the bathroom was no more than the size of a cupboard, it was moldy and looked unfinished and tatty (much like the whole room), the bed/bedding wasn't particually inviting with the pillows having stains over them and no mattress protector so you could see the grotty mattress through the sheet.
The same with the sun loungers and chair covers they were all stained and looked like a good wash/clean was well over due.
There was an average choice of food.
The staff were friendly and helpful which was a bonus.
Beach was lovely and to the right there is a lovely hidden monastery right at the end of the beach definity worth a look.
Over all in our opinion this is not a kuoni standard hotel - we have stayed in over ten hotels through kuoni from the basic, on request and luxury ones and this was by far the worse.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bumblebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aluthgama
0.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanka Princess
Lanka Princess
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bentota

Address: Paradise Island, Aluthgama 12080, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Aluthgama
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Aluthgama
Price Range: $77 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Bentota 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of the beaches of Sri Lanka during your stay at Club Bentota. A hassle free vacation for you and a fun-packed adventure for the kids: we provide exciting water sports, an extensive Ayurvedic spa and so much more on a secluded, breathtaking beach front. Built on a peninsula referred to as Paradise Island, Club Bentota is located on the South West coast of Sri Lanka and is flanked by the Indian Ocean and the Bentota River. Have fun under the sun with jet skiing, wind surfing, beach volleyball, croquet, river boat cruises and much more. Unwind by taking a dip in the pool or Ocean, play a game of cards with friendly guests from around the world, or read a book in our hotel book shop. Choose from our all-inclusive or full-board packages and book a vacation to Club Bentota, where the sun and sand await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bentota Hotel Aluthgama
Bentota Hotel Aluthgama
Club Bentota Sri Lanka/Aluthgama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing