We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Bentota
Nearby Hotels
$108
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lanka Princess(Aluthgama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hemadan(Aluthgama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveler rating
277
344
140
57
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
344
140
57
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaparadise islandthe rivercurrywater sportsboat tripprivate beachevery meala wonderful holidaytennis courtshalf the pricesmall boatrestaurant staffbeach sidecolombo airportseakandy
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 872 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is paradise island alright the setting is just fantastic .
Rooms are comfortable with fridge, bottled water supplied every day and tea making facility so you dont need your travel kettle folks.
Food- great selection of fresh salads at every meal time , soup of the day every meal time a selection of currys at every meal time including breakfast ! and a choice of meats in sauces with selection of vegetables and the little cakes and mouses are just fab another big selection at meal times wine by the glass is at meal times only and you can have as many glasses as u like ! as well as other drinks like beer / tea/coffee if u want anything else get it from the bar and take it to dinner with you
currancy- for those of you first visiting sri lanka from the uk- i was unable to obtain rupees take sterling and change in the hotel / local bank no problem /dollars only at airport sri lanka
Visa- you obtain at the airport for 70 dollars for 2 people but i was later told you can apply on line
for much cheaper .
Airport AT SRI LANKA- only take dollars so spend all your rupees before u go home
Plug sockets - for those coming from uk we had adapters in our room provided by the hotel to plug in our 3 pins so dont worry
Heathrow airport- for u smokers out there like me !!!!! they wont sell u fags/tobacco to take in to sri lanka its forbidden you have to buy them there i went with none had to buy a packet at the hotel when i arrived tthey cost 800 rupees about £4 then i found a little shop and bought them for 540 rupees about £3 they have dunhill/marlboro at the hotel just ask at the bar they are not on show
Early morning calls for trips out - advise - take your own alarm clock dont rely on reception we asked for 2 calls on separate occassions and didnt get either and so did others not get there calls {only gripe about the hotel }
Shopping- TIP - catch the boat over the river- runs every 15mins even during the night - get in a tut tut - SAFER
its costs about 100-200 rupees return that is only a pound sterling your driver will take you to the shops of your choice as many as u want and wait while u shop and bring u back its best this way you dont get hassled walking up the street we got hassled the first time then we took a tut tut far better and hassel free
TRIPS- LUBA on the beach for every trip we did cant speak highly enough of him he has a heart of gold treats u like royalty- he is fantastic and you wont be disapponited with his prices believe me and his little surprises make your holiday he is one of the most sincere blokes ive ever met so LUBA for your trips folks .You will find him on the beach as you go through the fench onto the sand he is in a hut on the right ask for him he is a little guy fairly slim build
we went whale watching 6 hours out at sea and photographed them + overnight safarie at yala national park seeing leopards and other animals elephant orphanage men fishing on sticks tsunami museum , snorkling i touched and swam with the great leatherback turtle , swam in a waterfall etc etc all was top class i cant fault him the 2 day trip was about 120 pound sterling each all in and hotel which was beautiful what a guy once again thanks luba your great bloke and i wish you the very best hope this makes you all feel safe to book with him go on you wont be disaapomited and his river trip is just mind blowing .
Fantastic holiday all round
I would definatley return but i have lots of other places i want to see .
Sand flies and mosquitos - bites- spay yourself early morning if you are going out , around 4pm and again before dinner take expedition strength 100% deet their bites are nasty and very itchy be sure to take bite creams with you should u get them and antihistamines no one escapes them be warned !!!!!!!!!! you dont get 1 you get loads but dont let this put u off going go prepared its a fantastic hotel with a great atmosphere

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mandybakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have to say the rooms where incredibly basic and need an update, but we had a brilliant time here and the location is great. Ocean on one side and lagoon on the other. Loads for kids to do for watersports and some lovely boat trips in the mangroves. The location is spacious and spa facilities may not be the epitome of luxury, but very reasonable price and I had several lovely full body massages. If hotel luxury is what you want, this isn't for you, but if location and a holiday that suits all the family is your priority, then i think you will have a good time here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kupendeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Club Bentota is a relaxing resort hotel in a good location that blends in well with the natural look of the area, unlike many others that are simply concrete blocks. On one side is a wide clean sandy beach and on the other the Bentota river which is ideal for water sports. Across the river there are a number of small local hotels, and unfortunatly very loud music blasting across the river from these often shatters the peace and tranquility of Club Bentota.
The rooms are not luxurious but are very comfortable including the king size bed in our bungalow room. One word of warning, noise travels well between the adjoining room, so noisy neighbours could be a problem.
The buffet food is fairly good and plentiful, and although varied it could be repetative after a while. My only criticism is that it should be kept hotter for taste and health reasons.
There is not much to do in the evenings, and the disco is pretty awful with cover versions of old pop music a regular theme.
Look out for the harmless Monitor lizards and occasional snake in the grounds- it breaks up the monotony of sunbathing.
We travelled on the local train to Galle which is well worth a visit. The fare is no more than 50p each way, but get to Galle station early for the return to make sure of a seat.
While there we also took a Tut Tut excursion around the area visiting temples and Brief gardens (warning on Brief gardens, its 1000 rupees entrance fee which is expensive for Sri Lanka and three times the amount stated in my 2008 guide), and a river safari through the lagoon and up the Bentota river. Both trips were good value and organised through Luba on the beach. Thanks Luba, and our Tut Tut drivers Sudu and Roy for the experiences.
We went with an open mind, and while not expecting great things from a 3.5 star hotel it more than met our expectations.
One final warning it is in the tropics, and a number of guests including my sister were badly bitten by insects while there despite taking all preventative measures.

Room Tip: Away from the disco and noise across the river from other hotels.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderlustKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights in January and found it to be a comfortable,safe and well located.The hotel was comfortable but not luxurious which met expectations.The room had good aircon, fridge, kettle,comfortable bed and good shower.The general layout of the hotel was dated but well maintained and the pool clean and a good size.
We really liked the long broad beach which was great for swimming and walking and had its own life guard.At times the current was noticable but did not cause concern.There is no coral or snorkling in this area and we did not use our fins and masks that we had brought with us.The hotel is accessed by a short boat trip and this was great because it isolated the hotel from the town and gave a relaxed and isolated feel.The boat went accross frequently and the boatmen were helpful at all times.
Food in the hotel was fresh and varied buffet style but I would imagine that it could become repetative after a week.The downside - We had mosquitos like fighter planes due to a wet afternoon.So be aware of wearing insect repellant at all times and have plugins for the rooms (nobody escaped).
The bar staff were helpful and the local drinks were just fine.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a beach view room and it was good,we spoke to some guests who were in bungalows that were just too far from the the rest of the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPRedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our first trip to Sri Lanka, we chose this hotel for its location, good value and a great beach. After a long flight and an interesting, but fairly long car journey through Columbo and along the coast, a short boat journey was refreshing. Check in was quick and efficient and our room was small, but well appointed. The complaints about the size of rooms is fairly silly as you don't go all that way to stay in your room!
The hotel has all of the facilities you could possibly need, including an electric mosquito killer for the room and a candle to burn outside if you decide to sit out in the evening. Food is good quality and plenty of it, puddings are very good, lots of fresh fruit and the wine is ok.
The people who work there are incredibly friendly as is everyone that we came across wherever we went. However, any journey that you take will be an interesting experience as the rules of the road seem to be somewhat different to home!
The comments about Kuoni seem to be unfounded. We used them for two excursions, for each one, everything they said would happened happened at the time they said it would. The highlight was the two day safari trip, to Yala and the Uda Wale national parks. These were amazing and we saw Leopards, Crocodiles, All kinds of birds, deer and of course Elephants. My top tip for anyone interested in animals is, DON'T go to the Elephant orphanage in Pinwella, go to the Ude Wale national park and see them in the wild, then go to the Elephant transit home and give your money to them as they actually release the babies back into the wild and have a far better reputation the the Orphanage.
This is meant to be a value option from Kuoni and some the people complaining on here seem to think it is meant to be a 5star establishment. It s a 3 star option and should be viewed as such. As a 3star, it is a good hotel with very friendly staff who work very hard. The only thing that was really frustrating was the wifi, which needs to be sorted out, either you pay but once for te entirety of your stay or it should be free.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dtaylor65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews