We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property”
Review of Ganga Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ganga Garden
Ranked #7 of 26 Aluthgama B&B and Inns
Sunderland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very nice property”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited the Ganga Garden with some friends whilst on holiday in Sri Lanka. We spent the afternoon relaxing in the garden admiring the beautiful view. This is certainly a lovely place to chill out. The lovely lady owner, Corrinne, showed us around and we were well impressed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the rooms were very nice, in fact they had only just been decorated.

Although we did not actually stay at the hotel, we were impressed enough to consider staying there in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank wavydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The rooms were simple but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good with lovely views over the river. No TV in the room but you're not there to watch TV I guess. They had a huge collection of books to read.
We had a couple of meals there and which were good, nothing extraordinary but still recommended if you don't feel like leaving the hotel as there arent many dining options around anyway.
Staff were friendly. Probably slightly overpriced for what you get though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dropbear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

A truly enjoyable and fantastic experience during our stay at Ganga Gardens. The English owner and local staff were very friendly. We e-mailed ahead to confirm our booking and the owner arranged private return transport from the Airport. During our stay we experienced the Sri Lankan New Year where we were welcomed to join in with the local traditions. A truly enjoyable and fantastic experience.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Collin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great location for the perfect day.
After decideing to get married without all the fuss this english owned guest house esured that everything was perfect.
Great place to unwind and relax with stunning views. Situated on the river with just a short boat ride to a stunning and quiet beach which we visited everyday.
Excelent food served by friendly staff, definately value for money.
Any excursions you may want to do including blue whale watching or the elephant sanctuary is easily organised by the owner and her helpful staff.
Rooms are cleaned daily and spotless and have the much needed air con.
Will definately return for our 1st aniversary.

Room Tip: All rooms clean and have ensuite and A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Great location on the river set back from the road but close to the beach and shops (easy to walk).

Best breakfasts we had in Sri Lanka, friendly staff and all round good food.

Good place to unwind and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acadia-wins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had a wonderful couple of nights in this very helpful, British run place.

It's location is right next to the river, so you have a feel of being cut off from the hussle of Aluthgama. It's a short walk along the main road to a nice beach or you can go down to Bentota and one of the exclusive resorts there.

The main rooms are spotless, and have A/C, but they don't get any light, so are a bit dingy in the day time. Having said that we were out and about in the days so that didn't matter.

One day there was a sri lankan wedding taking place which was interesting to see them getting ready for. Complete with plastic flowers and cardboard cake!

The food was great. It was up to standard and once again I recommend that visitors to sri lanka eat the sri lankan curry. The comments about steaks being tough are well understandable when local people have no real culture of cooking this type of food. We stuck to the local dishes throughout our trip and it was fine almost everywhere - and here is no exception.

Our room cost Rs6500 per night ($55) and the taxi to the airport, arriving at 23:00 cost Rs7000, ($60).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed here for five nights in November 2011. Before I say anything I have to say that the lady who owns it was not there supervising things when we visited. She had returned to the UK for a few weeks leaving it the hands of her partner, Our first thoughts when we arrived were that it was a nice little guest house and basically it is but there are a few problems.

Rooms
We stayed in an upstairs room but we saw them all as we were the only guests in the hotel. The rooms are reasonably comfortable, clean and they have A/C and usable wireless Internet. They are pricey by Sri Lankan standards but we had no major issues there other than that we had to ask to have the room serviced. When we did so we were told that there was only one key to the room and that we had to stick around while it was done. Strange?

Food
Someone said earlier that this was the best food they had eaten in Sri Lanka. If that was the case I shudder to think where they have been eating. Once again the food was quite ordinary. Breakfasts were fruit salad. followed by eggs, toast and tea or coffee. We ate lunch and dinner there on three or four occasions too mainly because there are not may restaurant options nearby in Aluthgama. Last time we ate there I ordered a "fillet" steak. It was tough and had a horrible taste that I could not identify. I could not eat it, it was disgusting and I am normally the last to complain. When I rejected it the chef came out and said there was nothing wrong with it as he had just removed it from the freezer. I ordered something else (cheaper) and was still billed for the steak.

Drinks
They only had basic drinks available. On one occasion we asked for the drinks menu, which listed several cocktails. My wife asked for one and was told that cocktails were not available. You have to wonder why they cannot make a cocktail on request? They seemed to be running a limited service because we were the only guests but they were charging full prices.

Staff
The staff were OK but there was an atmosphere of insincerity about the place. We could not quite identify it. The manager spent most of his time sitting around with his mates and there was often a large group of them. There was also something a bit odd happening in one of the empty rooms. On two of the days we were there we noticed some young people in one of them. They included a young guy and a very "attentive" young lady. I am not sure what was going on in that room but I know what it looked like.

After a couple of days I asked to settle my food and beverage bill and I was short changed by 2,000 SLR (about £12). When I went to the reception to query this the money due was offered to me immediately with no questions asked. It was one of these situations where you just know that it was not a mistake if you know what I mean.

That was a real turn off. The next day another waiter came to me at breakfast and started rambling on about it saying that it had been a mistake. They were obviously concerned that I was going to make an issue of it but AFAIC all they were doing was confirming that it had been an attempt to cheat me.

The person who gave us the best service during our was a little deaf and dumb guy. He could not do enough for us and was always offering to help us.

Relaxation
This guest house is located right on the river bank and they have their own small jetty. It is nice and peaceful sitting there having a drink or a meal but the mosquitoes can be a problem (they loved me). There is a problem however. Outside of your bedroom there is nowhere to recline or lie down in the sunshine, no sun beds or anything. You get a bit fed up sitting upright all the time. It would be nice to have a sun bed or two.

Given the choice I would not use this place again. The problems may have been due to the owner not being present but that should not happen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Andraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aluthgama
0.4 mi away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
1.2 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hemadan
Hotel Hemadan
#4 of 6 in Aluthgama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganga Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Garden

Property: Ganga Garden
Address: 126/27 Galle Road, Aluthgama 12080, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Aluthgama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Aluthgama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ganga Garden 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganga Garden is small, friendly, informal set in tranquil gardens on the banks of the Bentota River. Six ensuite rooms overlooking the gardens and river, with A/C, fan, hot water tastefully furnished with handcrafted mahogany furniture. Easy access to local beaches by boat. Ayurvedic treatments arranged. Ideal for a relaxing, quiet holiday away from the hustle and bustle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ganga Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganga Garden Hotel Aluthgama
Ganga Garden Sri Lanka/Aluthgama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing