We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss the Grilled Prawns”

Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Aluthgama
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Nebula Pier 88 Restaurant is located on the Bentota River next to the Nebula Supermarket in Aluthgama. The Restaurant specialises in sea food and asian cuisine and has a fantastic view.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Despite the proximity to the source (the ocean) seafood is not inexpensive in this area. While the hotels do charge quite a bit more, we found the prawns and lobster options to be a tad less expensive. But, so what, it's vacation and time to splurge! I was thoroughly rewarded with the most divine plate of grilled prawns - a generous 12 on the plate - for a mere 3000 LKR - or about $24 USD. The Lion beer is ice cold and the view includes the river. We can't wait to return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2015

dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 257 of 420 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Location: Hidden away quiet location with tiny entrance by supermarket overlooking river which is a really pretty setting
Property; Wooden and charming thatch everywhere with fairy lights round trees
Service: Perfect - So friendly and helpful and really went out of their way. We felt really welcome.We wanted to go back for a second meal which was our last night and they offered to create a curry and rice selection to our own orders and it was perfect
Food: Totally delicious and spicy without burning. All curry dishes brilliant and wine also good
Prices: Very reasonable even the wine
Overall: We would happily have eaten here every night

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank seapink12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2015

dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at Riverbank BnB, just up the road and ate at Pier 88 every evening for 5 days because we enjoyed our first meal so much! Lovely food, in a beautiful setting on the banks of the river. Service was excellent, apart from one evening when the restaurant was extremely busy.

1  Thank viv_burgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2015

dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We found Pier 88 (Nebula) by accident while visiting the weekly market in Aluthgama .
Looking down the river it looked like a nice place to be. So we found the entrance (not so easy the first time !) and settled down in the garden with a beer and some lunch .
We revisited Pier 88 on several occasions both at lunch and for evening meals and were only disappointed once and that was on our last night (yes it was our favorite place!) the reason being we couldnt have a bottle of wine as the restaurant had to be dry because it was Independance day !
We tried several types of meals and were never disappointed our favorite being any type of seafood but especially the king prawns Dishes. All the meals are very good value and the staff are very accommodating . Recommended Thanks again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank nadenbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2015

dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We're introduced by our villa staff, just few minutes walk from our place, and it was nicer than we expected, so we spent dinner time for 2 nights there.
My husband loved their fish curry, and draft beers!
Seafood was nice, and staff are very nice.
They also have supermarket and rooms on it the entrance of the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank arichu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2015

dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing