We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth seeking out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant

Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Aluthgama
Price range: $3 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Nebula Pier 88 Restaurant is located on the Bentota River next to the Nebula Supermarket in Aluthgama. The Restaurant specialises in sea food and asian cuisine and has a fantastic view.
horndean, hampshire uk
Level Contributor
251 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Well worth seeking out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice for dinner during our stay in Bentota. The food was very tasty, decent sized portions and very attentive staff. The location on the banks of the Bentota river could not be better. Add in the well made cocktails, a very reasonable bill, what more could you wish for, we most definitely will return to this little gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank elaineandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2015
dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    117
    26
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sevenoaks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Went to this restaurant, initially finding it by chance . But have to say it was brilliant. My friends were getting married locally and the night before the wedding the restaurant laid on a two piece band, a bouquet of flowers and went the extra mile, we didn't have to ask all we did was book a table and there was only seven of us!

The food is superb, they cater to your needs, be it mild or spicy but there is such a range and some traditional English mixed grill etc as well. A traditional Sri Lankan curry with rice and poppadoms amounts to three pounds sterling!!!!!!!

I would highly recommend this restaurant and thank the manager and his team for the superb experience we had

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SevenoaksKimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2015
dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming place with delicious food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

On the banks of the Bentota river situated nice garden restaurant offers a wide range of seafood, western and Sri Lankan dishes. I also appreciate very much the choice of foreign beers, especially the Erdinger Weizen!
The restaurant is often visited by tourists and in the high season it is recommended to make a reservation.
The service is friendly and fast, all your orders will be served on one time.
Good value!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Koni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2015
dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food great view and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Good service and food for really good price. Dont expect haut cuisine. Especially the view on the river is awsome.

Helpful?
Thank yokl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2015
dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aluthgama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“''nice place to meet a friend''”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

the place was good as friend or family. city of Aluthgama very known as nebula. you can order what ever you like. its located river side. now there are many tourist . you can do also boat trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thusitha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2015
dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 
Aluthgama, Western Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 

Been to Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing