We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not particular good or bad”

Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Aluthgama
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Nebula Pier 88 Restaurant is located on the Bentota River next to the Nebula Supermarket in Aluthgama. The Restaurant specialises in sea food and asian cuisine and has a fantastic view.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not particular good or bad”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Most of the restaurants around that area have the similar menu. There is not much to choose. After couple of meals there, we preferred to do our own cooking despite there is not enough kitchen wares.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    135
    32
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place for spending your vacation in relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I spent my winter vacation in this place, for three weeks this place became the second home for me: very friendly staff, tasty food, fresh seafood, if you want smth special - the chef will be glad to please you.
I stayed in river view apartment, it was really bright, wide and clearing every day extremely carefully!!!!!
The supermarket is downstairs (very convenient), on Fridays (if I'm not mistaken) the market is hold where you could buy fruits and local delicious..
And the last, but not the least - 3 minutes by walk to the beach!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olesya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2015
dear sir/madam
hope you are fine.i am the owner of Pier88 Restaurant Aluthgama, Srilanka.
we are relay appreciate your kind and helpful comments for our thumbelina appartments,srilanka.
when is your next visit to srilanka?we wish you nice day !
greetings from tropical srilanka
nishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great staff, great food”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Located on the riverside just down the side of the Nebula Supermarket, my wife and I loved this place, and went there several times during our stay in Bentota
The location and the atmosphere are great, More importantly so is the food which is very reasonably priced. Do try the devilled food.
There as live music on a Friday and Saturday night and the trio making up the band would wander from table to table serenading the customers. I won't comment on the quality or choice of the music, lets just say we really enjoyed it, it really contributed to a relaxed atmosphere.
The head waiter, I cant spell his name (Sorry mate), but it is pronounced Re-en-cy, was great making several recommendations which where spot on. He looks a bit grumpy, but don't let that fool you he's a really friendly bloke
They also have holiday rooms over the supermarket which the staff were happy to show us and I have to say didn't seem bad value at $50 a night.
If you're in Bentota, do yourself a favour and try this place

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
dear Sir|\Madam,
thank you very much for choosed Thumbelina apartments & Pier88 restaurant Aluthgama.we appreciate your great feed back!
hope to see you next time!
wish you and Your family happy and Good health!!!
greetings,
nishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Recommend”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Tucked away near the market area and easily missed but worth finding. Clean, good food and service. Very reasonable prices. Good choices. Never sure about eating ice cream when on holiday but choose banana fritter which came with it and it was delicious. Ate several meals whilst staying at Bentota Beach and tried both Sri Lankan curries as well as western, all were enjoyable with the bonus of a relaxing view of the lake.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
dear Sir|\Madam,
thank you very much for choosed Thumbelina apartments & Pier88 restaurant Aluthgama.we appreciate your great feed back!
hope to see you next time!
wish you and Your family happy and Good health!!!
greetings,
nishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good food. Good value. Good service.
The best place to eat in Bentota.
Can recommend the devilled chicken if you can handle a bit of spice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sally64sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thumbelina88, Owner at Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
dear Sir|\Madam,
thank you very much for choosed Thumbelina apartments & Pier88 restaurant Aluthgama.we appreciate your great feed back!
hope to see you next time!
wish you and Your family happy and Good health!!!
greetings,
nishan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to Pier 88 Nebula Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing