We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
Review of Hotel Hemadan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hemadan
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Aluthgama
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is just what i have been looking for. It is a good value for money guesthouse one minutes walk from town, set on the river and a 5 minute walk from the beach. Its garden runs down to the river where you can sit and have a meal.etc. The breakfasts and food were good. The rooms are spacious with a room fan and big bed. Bathrooms good and clean. It is not a place for everyone. If your fussy about decor then dont go but anyone looking for basic and clean accomodation then this is perfect. I loved it here and will definately be going back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Located on the riverside with a nice pier to sit in the evenings. The rooms arent the cleanest in the world - but they are okay if you're on a budget. Service is nice and the owner is very accommodating with any request. Chances are that you wont spend much time in the room anyway since you're in a beach town - so its a decent sleep.

Room Tip: Try for the ones facing the river. Has a decent breeze flowing through the room, which becomes a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nice location in Aluthgama and good value for money compared to other equivalent places in the area. Bentota is a short tuktuk ride away. It's a very simple hotel and the rooms didnt have air conditioning and the bathroom was clean but very basic. However considering the price, you couldn't expect too much.
It's water front and clean. The meals also weren't too bad for the price. Like the hotel, the food was simple but good enough.
If you need, they can arrange for a water taxi to take you to the beach or lagoon.

Recommended for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dropbear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We visited Aluthgama in off-season, so this hotel was dead. And that was just what we wanted. I think there were two other guests in the hotel. The maitre d' was attentive, although not exactly friendly, and although the food wouldn't win any awards it was presentable and tasty enough.

There are options for Bed and Breakfast, half board and full board. The breakfast was pretty standard fare. As other reviewers have noted, this is a nice mid-range property with reasonalbe rates, a rarity in this part of Sri Lanka.

Recommended as a value for money proposition, and hence it's rating of "Very Good".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

With the cost of accommodation in Sri Lanka skyrocketing, The Hemadan was a welcome change. It reminded me of some of the cute little guest houses I stayed at on my honeymoon here about 10 years ago. It's no 5 star hotel but we had a great night. The room was clean, the food was tasty, the staff were delightful (I especially liked Minnie & Cherry the resident cocker spaniels), and the view was superb. At cocktail hour we sat and watched the windsurfers and water-skiers on Bentota River. So if you are looking for a place to stay while you check out the sites and sounds of Bentoa, why not consider staying on the other side of the bridge in Aluthgama.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Not so expensive as the Bentota accomodation. A well maintained hotel with nice rooms. Although some rats were cruising below the ceiling.... food and staff was nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, Kent UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Prior to our arrival date my husband and I did a recce along River Road and looked at all the accommodation which stands almost shoulder to shoulder along the lagoon edge. Hemadan was the only one which did not charge silly prices. We had quotes of 4,500 SLRP to 6,000SLRP at the various neighbouring establishments.

We entered Hemadan and it had a welcome feel. Nice surroundings, tended garden running down to the waters edge, free boat service should you wish to venture over to the beach and friendly staff. The owner showed us a room looking over the lagoon it was clean, and as good as we had experienced so far during our three week tou,r and informed us of the daily price, 3,300 prpr including tax and breakfast. Breakfast consisted of eggs, fruit, bread etc together with tea or coffee. Places to eat are not easily reached, unless you were to venture out to one of the large hotels in a, (rip off), taxi, but that is another story!, so we ate in there at night. Menu is an adaptation of what Sri Lankans think Europeans want in the way of dishes. This is not what we want personally, but the food was good enough, if not a bit bland. Well cooked and served by friendly staff. The family have two black cocker spaniels. The proprierers wife lets them out into the garden from time to time, such as when she is pegging the washing out. The dogs take the opportunity to do their business on the lawn in that time. We were sitting on sun loungers just a couple of feet away and witnessed this. She was not aware of it happening and no-one came to poop-scoop! The messes stayed until we left but was gone next morning, probably the boy sweeping the garden in readiness for the day did it. Not responsible pet owners!

We never have an issue with pillows.I bought two goose feather pillows which fold or roll up very smal,l held with elastic bands, and we cart them all over the world with us, so never experience smelly, stained offferings which some properties supply.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S7ARJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aluthgama
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.3 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.8 mi away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riverside Araliya
Riverside Araliya
#5 of 6 in Aluthgama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hemadan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hemadan

Property: Hotel Hemadan
Address: 25A River Avenue, Aluthgama 12080, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Aluthgama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Aluthgama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hemadan 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hemadan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hemadan Sri Lanka/Aluthgama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing