We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Colonial Chic”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Tea Trails was the most expensive hotel on our honeymoon itinerary (although as it's all-inclusive it actually worked our cheaper than Ulagalla), and therefore held the highest level of expectation in mine and my husband's eyes. Having perused their website many times before travelling, dreaming about what it would be like staying in an exclusive bungalow, with chef, butler and spectacular setting etc., we were not disappointed.
Although it poured with rain the whole time we were there, meaning we didn't much feel like making use of the swimming pool or our private garden (we had a garden suite), it was even more magical in a way as we simply stayed in and made use of the beautiful living spaces, reading, relaxing, drinking and rather fortunately, spending social time with a lovely family who were staying in Summerville Bungalow with us (they were the only other residents until our last night, when a lone traveller joined us). On our last night instead of sitting out on the rain-soaked veranda on separate tables to dine, we all ate together from a long dining table in the bungalow and had a great time enjoying the culinary delights the chef treated us to. I have to say the food was of an exceptional quality, and by far the best we had on the trip.
The staff were attentive but never overbearing. The rooms were spacious, classically furnished with exceedingly comfy beds and pillows. The whole bungalow oozed elegance and class, without being pretentious. It felt like home. Not many hotels can make such a claim; I recommend it whole-heartedly.

P.S. Tea factory tour is a must!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I do not even know where to start. What a place, complete luxury. An all inclusive heaven. There are four suites at the Castlereagh Bungalow. The butlers are brilliant and quickly respond to all requests. All rooms extremely well kept and very clean. The food is fantastic. Each day you have breakfast, 3 course lunch, afternoon tea and 4 course dinner. And anything else you want in between times - not that you would need anymore food. Great drinks selection. The chefs discuss the menu with you each day and change it to suit your tastes. The butlers are quietly around in the background and make the whole experience seamless. While we were here we did one of the walks around the tea plantation, the views were stunning and we watched the tea pluckers getting on about their work. The hotel also organised us to visit a local tea factory which was fascinating. A wonderful experience, it feels just like your own home and we met some lovely people during our stay. A magical tea journey!!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank xJMadzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This will be one of the most amazing stays you will experience. Only 5 rooms and 24 hour butler service. All meals and drinks included along with an excellent tour of working tea factory tea factory. Set among tea plantations in a gorgeous garden setting, you are reminded of the days of British aristocracy in this country. Every room was a great size (we were 4 couples so had a look in each), beautifully furnished, high ceilings, sitting area and stunning spacious ensuites. Most rooms have doors to patio and garden. Plenty of pleasant self guided sign posted walks to be undertaken in the area or reasonably priced hikes and tours with guides. Your day commences with push of a button for butler tea service or pre order as your wake up call!. Breakfasts are table service on the outdoor verandah overlooking gardens and pool and your choice of full English or Sri Lankan or eat light if you desire. Our lunches and dinners were sumptuous and any request is cheerfully and courteously met by bungalow staff. Oh, and not to forget our delightful high tea each afternoon. We slept well in comfortable beds in such a quiet setting. Absolutely outstanding. We only stayed for 2 nights, I will be back for a 4 night stay at some future time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

If there were 6 stars to give Ceylon Tea Trails then I would!
Admittedly, a very, very long and slow drive up from Kandy but it was worth it! From the first to the last the experience was exceptional in every way.
We were made to feel so welcome and special - nothing was too much trouble. The staff attended sensitively and seemed to know what we wanted before we did!
Peaceful, stunning scenery, lovely fresh air, comfortable, immaculately clean.
Our room was beautiful and echoed the colonial style of the place - the specially prepared Jasmine bath was a delight.
The food, well, what can I say? Superb - consistently - we could not and did not want to say no to anything. Beautifully prepared, lovely fresh ingredients, wonderfully presented. Probably the best food I have ever tasted.
And, of course, the tea - it has revolutionised the way we drink tea at home - what a lovely experience to drink tea picked and created at the local plantation.
We enjoyed the hour walk up through the tea plantation and were rewarded by some truly stunning views. We tried our hand at croquet, and pool in a room which reminded me of The Billiard Room in Cluedo (I expected Colonel Mustard and Professor Plum to walk in at any minute!)
It was too cool for the pool but it is in a lovely spot when you need some refreshing.
A truly memorable place which we would sincerely like to return to!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyGirl1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

1. Arrival - we arrived unannounced, however the team at tea trails had no problem with this and were quick to make us feel comfortable, refreshed and at home.
2. Rooms - we expected English colonial style, with elegant finishes, clean, and especially classic, and this is what we got. Amazing.
3. Bathrooms - clean 100%. every time we went back, had Fresh towels and no problems with water being cold or toilets running. Soaps were plentiful, and natural tea style shampoos available with a personal touch. His and hers basins, were perfect timing for us.
4. Delectable foods from original Sri Lankan curries to juicy steak or seafood. Fresher than fresh. As we were staying at Tientsin we were quite keen to lunch at one of the other bungalows, and this was no problem. They arranged menu and transport, whilst encouraging us to enjoy.
5. Things to do- tea tour with Andrew was funny and very interesting, would've liked to have tried my hand at picking some leaves, with the workers. Tennis was fun, and other activities on hand, plentiful so quite happy.
6. Wifi was a dream, very good connectivity and speed.
7. Logistics for the next part of the journey were no problem to and the manager genuinely got involved and gave us good advice.

All in all the the tea trails were run by an outstanding manager and dedicated team of professionals. Well recommended, thank you thank you.

Room Tip: Not necessary, everyone is epic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Asierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

A truly unique experience in a special setting. I stayed at the Norwood bungalow for two nights and it was such a remarkable experience. In short, the views were breathtaking, the food was exquisite and the service impeccable. It is pricey but certainly value for money. The highlight of our stay was the visit to the Norwood Tea Factory which was fascinating. Andrew Taylor (the tea factory guide) is brilliant and superbly knowledgeable. I have a newfound respect and appreciation for tea. I would recommend this place to anyone (although I do love its exclusive feel!)

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank GV1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Tientsin bungalow, and had a terrific time. The place is straight out of the 1930s, oozing colonial authenticity in a way that's very hard to find in Sri Lanka. Sipping a G&T on the verandah as the sun set over the tea plantation, I felt like something out of a David Lean movie. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and made no issue out of our two raucous boys. They even set us up for candle-lit dinner on our own in the beautiful wood-paneled old dining room with a roaring fireplace for added atmosphere.
Yes it's expensive, and no they won't serve you Michelin-Star quality food, but overall it was a superb experience and worth every penny. I'll gladly recommend this experience to fellow travelers.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank ernestoteles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,711 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
109 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
83 reviews
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,656 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range: $928 - $963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 27 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing