We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was from start to end an excellent stay at the bungalows. I'm writing this almost a full year after traveling, but I still remember a lot of the details since it was so memorable. When we first arrived we were greeted by the staff and served a cool, homemade beverage. We were then led to our rooms where everything was clean and ready. They were always there and helpful when needed, but did not insert themselves when you were just trying to enjoy yourself.

The food was custom made and they were more than willing an able to accommodate my dietary restrictions.

Finally we took the tea tour and our guide was knowledgeable and very much into what he was telling us.

The only downside to this is that it isn't the easiest to get to for anyone with any sort of budget. While you could fly in and land on the lake you'll more than likely be taking a long train ride, long bus ride, or long taxi ride to get here. It's through beautiful (if not frighting) mountains at least.

Room Tip: These are very small bungalows so all rooms are generally good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enrique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
There are newer reviews for Ceylon Tea Trails
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Tienstin Bungalow is so archetypically British.....even down to the other guests. Men wore jackets to dinner (no ties though). Not sure my jeans and polo shirt went down too well. But the staff at the bungalow were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble but they didn't come across as being too subservient; the perfect mix.
My room - Fraser room - was huge and opened onto a small terrace and huge private garden. No aircon, but at this altitude it wasn't necessary. Just a ceiling fan, which kept the room cool. Very fast WiFi (free - take note major 5 star chain hotels!) in the rooms and throughout the bungalow.
A pleasant change not to have to check out and pay for all the extras; everything, but everything, is included in the price!
Nothing much to do, which suited me fine.....but if you have an aversion to pompous, stuffy fellow guests, best to avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Wow...we stayed here during our honeymoon in August. This was truly magical. Every second was perfect...the tour of the tea factory was brilliant and should not be missed. We are vegetarian and the chef made delicious meals especially and even made us a packed lunch for our journey to our next destination. Nothing was too much trouble and we were truly spoilt...my only wish is that we could relive it all over again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 139JCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in the day after the drive from Kandy.
The Planters house we stayed in was built in 1888 and the staff was fantastic. We shared the home with five other couples with our own butler and cook. The manager was always present to look after our needs. Breakfast was made to order with every kind of Western option and Local foods as well. Afternoon tea was great as well as the drinks in the reading room before dinner, so civilized. Dinner was fabulous as well with several options to choose from. The best thing about the stay was the views of the mountains and the tea plantation. So relaxing and being waited on four times a day. Really a relaxing stay, unfortunately we stayed on two nights, but would have stayed longer if we had planned our trip differently.
Overall fantastic experience and cannot say enough about the great service we received. Truly one of the best experiences if any vacation we have had in 35 years.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Atascadero53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

we spent a truly wonderful two nights at the Norwood bungalow - it was the highlight of our 16 day tour of Sri Lanka. The staff were superb - nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a gentle smile. The setting is breathtaking - beautiful hills all around - and the air felt so fresh. There is a lovely swimming pool and great walking trails. And the food... absolutely delicious and plenty of it! A really special place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshwomanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our mistake was only staying two nights in the Summerville bungalow, a minimum of three is a must. It has all been said in previous reviews, but staying here is truly luxury. The location of Summerville and Castlereagh have to be the best, stunning views over the reservoir and tea plantations.
Our butler, Bandara, and all the staff, run the place like a well oiled machine, and it all seems to happen as if by magic. The food is superb, and the chef is more than accommodating with regard to menu preferences. We tried both Sri Lankan and Western dishes and all were excellent. We took the boat to Castlereagh and walked the trail through the plantations, before returning to Summerville for afternoon tea.
We did the tea factory tour, which is very interesting, Andrew is indeed a knowledgeable guide, we learned a lot. But be aware that if there is a public holiday, and tea has not been picked, the tour will not run the following day. But you could always e mail to check on tour dates before finalising your booking. To return here is now on our " must do " list.
Thank you to all at Tea Trails

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAMember1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were a bit worried that Tea Trails could not really improve on an already wonderful and luxurious holiday in Sri Lanka. This was dispelled immediately on arrival at Norwood. Jagath and all the staff were absolutely top quality in every respect. This is magical, and absolutely worth the money. Instant calm.

Just the nuts and bolts: beautiful buildings and gardens, great rooms, top notch cuisine (including high tea) with a daily consultancy with the chefs for individual fine tuning, including the ability to take any meal at any of the bungalows, all drinks inclusive with a good wine choice, free transport between bungalows, free mountain bike hire (brand new, high quality bikes), marked walking and cycling routes, swimming in a proper 25m pool, croquet, tennis at Tientsin, a really excellent tea production tour - these are all included. Beat that in Europe for the price !

Then add a friendly, informative guide to bring the extraordinary flora and fauna to life - well worth the small fee - and the things that can't be bought: the location, the air, the light, the climate, the views and the fabulous people you meet everywhere, in what must be the most beautiful 'industrial' landscape in the world.

This works whether you want to lounge about, dash about, or both. A unique and faultless experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timatfoxdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,596 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
99 reviews
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,547 reviews
15.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
853 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range: $884 - $938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 27 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing