We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I am a very experienced international traveller, and I consider the the Ceylon Tea Trails one of the best places I have ever travelled to. The magnificently renovated bungalows ooze relaxation and elegance. The service is second to none and every aspect of care is lavished on the guests. The small number of guests ensures a friendly convivial atmosphere in which to enjoy the beautiful setting amongst the tea plantations

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    64
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
208
802
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed in Tientsin Bungalow in May 2013. We were very well looked after at every level. Our visit to the tea factory was well organised. The setting of the bungalow and internal decoration/bathroom in Master Suite was great, service and food could not be faulted. Attention to detail on every level. There have been some very positive comments in previous reviews which is not surprising. Our visit to to Tea Trails was a high point of our Sri Lanka tour and this gets 10/10. Outstanding.

Room Tip: Master Suite at Tientsin Bungalow has superb extra sitting room and loads of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I cannot recommend Castlereagh Bungalow more highly, what an amazing stay we had! We stayed in the Palmer Garden Suite with it's own private garden and views of the lake. (Rooms round back of the bungalow have views of tea trees but not of the lake). Beautifully furnished, spacious room. Sitting area facing patio doors which opened up onto the garden. Luxuriously comfortable bed with mosquito nets. Our daughter & her boyfriend stayed next door in the Jamieson Room. Twin room equally spacious, beautiful decor, no private garden.
Sitting on the verandah to eat all our meals was a delight. Stunning views of garden, pool & lake. Food was outstanding, biggest problem being, working out how we would fit all meals in!!
Don't waste any hours of your luxury stay, away from the bungalow hiking up Adams Peak-you want to stay in your bed as long as possible! Adams Peak is definitely worth doing, but do it before (& recover at the Tea Trails) or do it after!!
Staff were exceptional, I felt a bit embarrassed ringing the bell for the butler, only did it once! Manager was extremely helpful assisting us with onward travel arrangements.
We didn't realise until too late that you can have any of your meals at any of the other bungalows. You can also boat across the lake to Summerville.
Definitely the best place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Palmer suite has private garden and stunning views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wow. This was a fantastic place to stay. We stayed at the Tientsin Bungalow, which is the original bungalow and set high up in the tea plantations. The rooms were large and airy, with a lovely old fashioned bathroom and extremely clean. Located in such a beautiful place and being so peaceful it was a lovely place to relax after quite a hectic trip up until this point. I would like to have stayed longer. The tea factory visit is well worthwhile and really interesting, if a little long. The quality of food and service was extremely high. It is difficult to find a negative about the Tea Trails other than they advertised teas for sale to take with you that they did not actually have. I am really pleased to have stayed at the original bungalow, however would consider other ones in the future which could save you about an hour on your journey to get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at The Castlereagh bungalow, visiting the Somerville bungalow for High tea. The sevice from all the staff was exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed some lovely Sri Lankan curries on 2 of the 3 nights and a Sri Lanka breakfast on the last morning with delicious fish and potato curries and egg hoppers and string hoppers. If you are fit enough, make sure you hike up the challenging Adams peak and 5000 steps for the sunrise view. A staff member wakes you shortly before 1am and you drive 1.5 hours to the start of the walk and climb 5000 stairs to the top in the darkness with thousands of other pilgrims.

Personally I thought the view from the terrace and the infinity pool at Summerville was even nicer than Castlereagh. Tea trails is highly recommended and definitely deserves all the TA awards they have received.

Room Tip: We stayed in Alston, but the Tate room looked wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiDiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I consider my reviews hard but fair and I rarely rate a property with 5 points as I usually find the infamous hair in the soup. However, our stay at Tea Trails (Norwood bungalow) was top in every aspect. The location is stunning, the service is very good, rooms are big and spotless and there is little to complain about the food. No fixed time for meals. Wonderful pool. Had the chance to meet the Swiss CEO of this enterprise who is a true hospitality professional. Relais & Chateaux standard throughout. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We loved Tea Trails. We stayed only one night at Castlereagh just to check it out as we currently live in Sri Lanka. The scenery is really worth the trip to the highlands.

The service was the best I have ever encountered at any hotel in the world. We will definitely go back in the off peak-season.

Our double room was lovely. This place is hard to fault.

The only problem was that they didn't have nearly enough bikes for all guests to have even a chance to ride them. Maybe 2 bikes among 10 people. So our only option was to walk the trails - which was amazing anyway. But we did have our hearts set on cycling. If you live in Colombo it is probably best to bring your own bike. The trails are fairly steep and bumpy so it is definitely a mountain biking situation. Upon booking they said they would have soy(a) milk for my vegan friend but in the end there was none so might be safest to bring your own soy millk.

The local people (tea pickers and their families) who live around the trails are very friendly and don't seem to mind us tourists rambling around. One lady even let me use their bathroom as we were quite far from the hotel and I had to go. People didn't mind us taking their pictures - especially the kids. I really want to get a Polaroid camera because I always wish I could give them a copy of their lovely photos.

The train ride is very beautiful. The second class train is pretty good - with assigned seats. but it can get really crowded with many people standing in the aisles. This got quite irritating with people leaning on me and swinging bags around as well as aggressive altercations about seating assignments in a nearby row. The second class train is better for photos as the doors and windows are open and you can hang outside of the train if you are bold enough. Next time we'll take the first class "Expo" air conditioned train just to avoid the crowd. We ended up getting a mini-van back to Colombo which was nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "luxury" room and it was excellent - spacious and beautiful with lovely vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transientduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeaTrails, Brand Manager at Ceylon Tea Trails, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I’m glad you enjoyed Tea Trails. We have 4 bikes per bungalow, which clearly wasn't enough during your stay. We have now ordered additional bikes. We noted your soy milk requirement and special ordered it but our supplier informed us of a stock issue at the last moment - being a limited availability item we could not find alternative vendors near Tea Trails. I’m sorry that we let you down, we have taken corrective action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,505 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
98 reviews
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
153 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
271 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tea Hill's Bungalow
Tea Hill's Bungalow
#1 of 15 in Hatton
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Property: Ceylon Tea Trails
Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 26 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing