We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castlereagh”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Castlereagh”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the most wonderful experience! We loved everything about it! The service was superb. The setting was glorious. Our butler was most attentive. We rang the bell and we were amazed to hear the butler knock within three seconds. We had a very early start on our departure and we were served breakfast in our room. Everything was great!

Room Tip: This is a very small hotel. Only five rooms in total. Our suite was very large. Three of us were s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    63
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
207
796
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Officially I have now time travelled - from 2012 and back to the days when Sri Lanka still was known to us as Ceylon and the plantation owners
lingered in places like the bungalows at TeaTrails.

I have fond memories of my stay in september last year in the classy and tasteful Norwood bungalow and its lush and breathtaking surroundings.
Pampered and looked after by a discreet and attentive staff I soon felt like a planter myself, recovering from the demanding tea growing business -
however that must have been back in those days…

Standing by the pool one morning admiring a pair of enormous bamboo trees, the chef turned up entirely uniformed, asking me how i would like my
dinner later that day and what preferences I had considering my meal! Well, that became a routine every morning throughout my entire stay and everything
- the opulent breakfast, fantastic soups, the best scones with clotted cream i´ve ever tasted and the amazing curry for dinner - made me ask for less:
I just couldn´t eat that much and felt guilty leaving so much delicious and nicely presented food unfinished - but not untouched though!

The tour of the tea factory should be mandatory even if your not entirely into tea, just because the "guide" Andrew is absolutely fascinating.
He is an intriguing and amazing ambassador and encyclopedia of tea - if he doesn´t know, nobody knows - I could have taken the tour more than once.
Thereby getting every single answer regarding tea plucking, tea growing, tea fermenting, tea cooking, tea drinking and so on. Stunning, just stunning.

Being four bungalows spread widely across the valley, you might wonder where to stay and how to get around. As mentioned before I went for
the Norwood bungalow and in terms of location and style it still is my favourite. However you can feel free to visit all of them and - as I did - have lunch here.
It´s part of the concept and the price. I went for a nine mile hike through tea plantations and lovely villages, amazed by that evergreen hill country, to have
my lunch and a much deserved Lion Lager at the Castlereigh bungalow - another terrific reminiscence of a time long gone.
So is the Tientsin bungalow, and every single bungalow is unique, witnessing the past decades and beautifully preserving them with their wonderful
gardens, period architecture, exquisit furniture and truly inviting swimming pools.
Perhaps the Tientsin offers the most stunning view of the mountains, the Norwood being the most lush one cushioned by the vegetation and the Castlereigh
topping it with a stunning view of the lake - I only missed out the Summerville.
That will be saved for the next visit altogether with the urge to get another factory tour - just for that time warp experience of TeaTrails.

PS: the sausages for breakfast are among the best I have ever tried.

Room Tip: Garden suite does the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Castlereagh Bungalow: Great food, wonderful atmosphere/ambience, lovely staff, very friendly to kids. I suppose it's up to people to make sure they have adequate insect repellent. We got savaged. Perhaps if those mosquito tablets had been plugged in, it might have helped. Apart from that it was top notch.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deidinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Having read previous acclaimed reviews, I had very high expectations of my visit to Norwood Bungalow at Tea Trails. As astonishing as it sounds those expectations were exceeded by some margin. This is by any measure the most fantastic place on earth, and surpassed my visit to the Maldives, which was the 2nd leg of our trip. The food was truly fine dining and service unsurpassed. I was a bit sceptical about breakfast tea, which is not really our thing, however it was subtle, unobtrusive and just made the start of the day very special. If peace, tranquility, timeless elegance and the most beautiful scenery created by the tea plantation is your thing, then go to Tea Trails. It is expensive, but not a penny is grudged. It is that good. For us this has been the best stay in 25 years of travelling. By the way, two or three days as part of a Sri Lanka holiday is plenty, as it is just impossible to eat all the wonderful food which is presented. On Easter Monday, we had cooked breakfast, 3 course lunch, afternoon tea, which included sandwiches, cakes and creme scones, followed by a 5 course evening dinner. As I said, this is not sustainable for too long, but a for a few days, no problem. Susanta, the chef, is utterly superb and service provided by jakuth and his team was unparalleled.....

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L6YALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Tientsin bungalow. Difficult to express the feeling of pleasure: just a matter of letting yourself go and being pampered. The peaceful surroundings are magnificent, whether the gardens or the views and the walks through the tea plantations. Room was very well appointed, and the overall decoration of the bungalow a pleasure to the eye. The service was sublime, discrete but ever present, anticipating all our needs. The food was extremely good, whether Sri Lankan or more westernised, the chef did not miss a beat. And what to say of high tea ! Included is a visit to a local tea factory, lead by a competant and amusing guide, well worth it. If ever in the area again, we would not miss staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YangonPyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

It is hard to add to all the glowing reviews that preceed me but I'll try! To say that Tea Trails is a magical and special place really doesn't convey the true experience of staying here. I stayed in Tientsin with my friend for two nights and we were stunned by the tranquility and beauty from the word go. The bungalow is perfect in every way, not to mention the superb food along with excellent welcoming attention from Mahesh/Manager, Janaka/Head Steward and Pradeep/Chef especially. I haven't eaten better food anywhere and although there are huge quantities - 3 course lunch and 4 course dinner plus a lovely afternoon tea - I did my best to sample it all. it is expensive but a never-to-be-missed experience. Sitting for breakfast in the tea country with the mist surrounding the mountains and tea fields will be something I will never ever forget, would that I was a wealthy woman who could reside there for months at a time!!

Room Tip: The garden suites have a lovely view and large patio great for enjoying morning "bed" tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed one night at Tiensin, and two at Norwood. The service at the former was exceptional, and very good at the latter. The all inclusive food is really top quality, and you can choose to have your meals in any of the 4 bungalows owned by Relais & Chateaux.
They really know what they are doing here, and the staff are well-trained. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We particularly liked our garden suite at Norwood.
If you stay at Norwood you must do a morning walk to Castlereagh - a stunning wander through the tea plantations is a wonderful way to work up an appetite for you 3 course lunch. And your afternoon tea. And your 4 course dinner. You get the picture. Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Property: Ceylon Tea Trails
Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 26 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing