We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ceylon Tea Trails - Relais & Chateaux
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Niwasa House(Hatton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,336)
Filter reviews
1,336 results
Traveler rating
1,234
71
17
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,234
71
17
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastlereagh bungalowgarden suitesri lankaour honeymoonother guestsstayed nightscourse dinnerinfinity poolmaster suitefactory tourworth every pennysea planewalking trailseach morningpre dinner drinkscolonial styleoverlooking the lake
Filter
Updating list...
867 - 872 of 1,336 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A definite must for those seeking a bit of downtime. Be completely pampered in any one of the 4 residences - it will be misleading to call them hotels. It is more of your weekend luxury home, complete with a butler. We stayed 2 days in different places. The tour to the tea factory was very informative. Wonder who is getting unnecessarily enriched as they sell the tea for approx $5 per kilo.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Wilson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Summerville bungalow in a garden room (Garnet). Upon arrival you are met at the door by your butler, and from then on in the experience begins....your personal chef runs through any dietary requirements & tells you what in on the menu for the rest of the day. We had lunch on the verandah overlooking the most peaceful, picturesque view of the lake. The food is top notch & every 4 hours we were fed. It was small portions (this isn't a criticism....you couldn't possibly eat everything otherwise) , but to a very high standard.
We then went for an walk that they supplied a map for informing us it would take an hour (it took 25 mins as we are somewhat younger & fitter than some of the clients) All the walks we took were breathtaking but do take good walking shoes & a stick if it rains as it can get very slippery.
Our room was gorgeous, with French windows opening to our own private garden, where we had tea every morning.
The other great thing about the tea trail experience is meeting the other guests as you a encouraged to have pre-dinner drinks in the communal lounge, where we met a wonderful selection of people of all ages. It became a very sociable part of the day sharing tips & generally finding our about one another (& staying up late drinking together!) The canapés supplied with our drinks were divine.
Everyone we met thinks the bungalow they are staying in is the best..... But having visited all except Tiensin bungalows, I personally would return to Summerville or Castlereagh as they have the view of the lake.
We did the tea factory tour, and will never look at a cup of tea in the same way again! Truly fascinating. After the tour, to walk though the tea plantations really opens your eyes to the hard work involved in the tea making process.
For me, the local people made the whole stay so special....they were always smiling, waving, calling "hi" & so wonderfully friendly. The children too are adorable, so take some boiled sweets to hand out on your walks as they really appreciated this.
The staff at Summerville were excellent...so attentive, without making one feel uncomfortable. They seem to second guess your every need & quietly appear with whatever it may be that need topping up!
We plan to return someday as we were both overwhelmed with how special our wedding anniversary was by spending it at the tea trails. Yes, it is expensive, but in my opinion worth every penny for the memories we have now.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous, but we loved having our own garden to drink our tea & relax in the most stunning surroundings.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howshaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days at the Teatrails, staying at Castlereagh, Norwood and Tientsin. All were lovely and different (they are around 15km from each other so each location is different). Castlereagh has the most beautiful and tranquil (and only views) over the lake and seems the most intimate. Of the three Norwood felt slightly tired but really slightly and most probably because the others were so immaculate. Tientsin was our favourite, but is noisier than the other two as it is next to a local village. We used the Teatrails transport, the car was comfortable and well maintained and Lenin our driver was careful and calm.

The food was amazing - we were never hungry - and to a high standard. I notice some people discussed the high price but when you see that all the meals (of a high standard) high tea and drinks are included (plus anything else you asked for), it seems good value.

I could not recommend Teatrails highly enough. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband, his parents and I stayed at the lovely Castlereagh bungalow for four days in dire need of relaxing after climbing Sri Pada (Adam's Peak). In a bid to relax our aches and pains from the ardous climb, we were happy to go to Tea Trails for an English-type holiday. It took a good few hours and a bumpy estate gravel track to get to the bungalow but all that effort was worth it in the end. We managed to finally make it before dropping dead at the doorstep.
From day one, the Tea Trails experience has been a tranquil and peaceful one. Having a chef tell us what he was planning to cook for us, sipping pimms while eating scones during high tea and playing croquet on the lawn made our holiday more enjoyable. Even though we booked just two rooms for our stay, we were happy to have the place for ourselves with no hassles from other guests. Some would visit from other bungalows, see the Castlereagh bungalow and then move elsewhere but Castlereagh was the best because it had a swimming pool. The stunning view of the Victoria dam reservoir from the bungalow was a great sight to wake up to in the morning.
A delightful experience and amazing holiday adventure and highly recommended staying after a ardous journey up Sri Pada (Adam's Peak).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilmadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Castlereagh - if only we had time in our itinerary for longer ...! It was pure bliss and we were waited on hand and foot. Our garden suite and bathroom were huge. The cuisine was first class - the chef told us every day what he planned to cook and checked on any dislikes. The views over Castlereagh Reservoir are stunning and we had a very enjoyable morning with Andrew Taylor going around a tea factory and learning about the process of producing a cup of the best tea in the world. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews