We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Royal Experience.. WOW”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Castlereagh bungalow on the furst day of our honeymoon we were treated and made to feel like royalty. The experience that Ceylon Tea Trails offers is next to none and we are so glad to have chosen to stay here as it was the most perfect start to our honeymoon. Our bungalow had a gorgeous view over the lake and was surrounded by lunch tea trees and vegetation. The bungalow itself is gorgeous with an old colonial feel. The common rooms all have fireplaces which make them so cosy for a relaxing drink or reading a book or playing a board game on the quiet evening before or after dinner. Upon our arrival we were met by Sanjay who looked after us brilliantly with the rest of his team throughout our stay. He then introduced us to the Chef who was fabulous. We told them we weren’t keen on eating Western food and they very happily obliged and treated us to some amazing Sri Lanka fare. We had one meal at Norwood organised by Sanjay when returning from our tea factory tour and that was fabulous as well. On our second and last night there they organised a beautiful 5 course romantic dinner in the Sala overlooking the lake with candles and torches. It couldn’t have been more special and we were so touched. Our 2 days here were so special and we got used to the relaxing atmosphere, abundant food and beverages, beautiful teas and the wonderful and kind team of butlers who made sure everything we needed was provided, they were always around without being seen and we cant express enough how special we felt. We would love to return soon and enjoy a few more days in this magical place.

Room Tip: The Baker Suite at Castlereagh as a huge private garden.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia I, Public Relations Manager at Ceylon Tea Trails, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Wishing you both a wonderful married life!

Best wishes,

Ceylon Tea Trails

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for Ceylon Tea Trails
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Tea trails exceeded all expectations and gave us a few days of relaxation and pampering whilst travelling around Sri Lanka. It made our holiday and was truly such a memorable experience. The bungalows are gorgeous, scenery spectacular and the service is the level you expect although so much more due the Sri Lankans quiet friendly nature. The chef makes your meals to order and was some of the best food we ate on our trip. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA-Blondes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for two unforgettable nights in the Summerville Bungalow and really cannot recommend this place enough.

Whilst fairly pricey, it more than met our expectations for a "special" place to stay and relax whilst you're touring Sri Lanka.

The service from the staff is faultless and the food amazing. The chef will, each day, meet with you to discuss / agree what he and his team will cook for you. And as part of the "all-inclusive" service, they will even do any laundry that you provide them - for free. I've never experienced that kind of customer-service before.

Highly recommended place.

Room Tip: Summerville Bungalow may be smaller than the other 3 bungalow locations but has stunning views over...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I first read about Tea Trails in the Australian Wellbeing magazine and as I had an upcoming holiday planned to Sri Lanka decided to investigate further via the website. My initial thoughts were that the setting looked beautiful and that a stay here would be a fantastic experience but probably beyond our budget.

However after our first week in Sri Lanka we had managed to save a lot more on accommodation costs than expected by travelling in the low season. So I had an idea...if there was a room available at Tea Trails at the time we planned to be in the area then I'd make a booking. Fortunately, there was so I made a reservation for Sommerville Bungalow.

We arrived with high expectations given the cost but were totally blown away by the level of service, food, accommodation, facilities and attention to detail. We were treated like royalty but in such a discrete way that it was never overbearing.

To say that our expectations were exceeded is an understatement! So much so that we didn't want to leave and we were luckily enough to be able to extend our stay by 1 more night which we spend across the lake at Castlereagh Bungalow.

It's difficult to put into words why the Tea Trails experience is so fantastic. You really need to be a guest to understand how perfect everything is. We have never spent this amount of money on accommodation before but it's one the best decisions we have ever made. The ultimate travel experience!

Room Tip: Castlereagh garden rooms are lovely with own private garden. Sommerville Bungalow would be our pick...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

During September, we stayed at the Castlereagh Bungalow which as everyone says is superb, rather like staying in a British colonial estate back in the thirties. So much food and all of it was delicious!

One day, when rain was threatening we decided to walk to 'Summerville' the neighbouring property and the manager was so concerned that we might get wet and tired that he organised for a tuk-tuk to follow us. And it was just as well as it did begin to pour with rain. That's what we call really caring for your guests!

It's a brilliant experince and one we can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

What an amazing place this was. We found just by chance as we were invited by the owners (Dilmah) to a complimentary night and service. From the moment of arrival it feels like no hotel/lodge you've been to. They treat you like celebrities. You decide the menu and their food is absolutely top notch. The only issue i had with it is that its a little difficult to get to and the price (If one were paying) was quite high. In the end its worth it if you're looking for a luxury getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ace222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A coworker mentioned this place when I was planning my trip to Sri Lanka. I wasn't sure since it is a bit expensive, but it is well worth the cost. I stayed 2 nights at Castlereagh, which is a little hard to get to by car but has amazing views. The room and staff were perfect. Everything was taken care of, leaving you to just relax. Food was excellent and each night there was a fire to read next to and enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine. I hope to come back for another relaxing break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texantraveler_009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,592 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
99 reviews
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,545 reviews
15.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
850 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range: $884 - $935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 27 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing