We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms + delicious food = great base for Adam's Peak excursion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tea Hill's Bungalow
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms + delicious food = great base for Adam's Peak excursion”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Unlike some of the others who have stayed at the Tea Hill's Bungalow, we used it as a base for a short-term stay for two nights while visiting Adam's Peak. We had looked at some closer options to the mountain, but this was a much more inviting (and a well-chosen) place to stay. We arrived on a Friday evening, had a delicious meal of boar and chicken curry, dozed for a few hours, and then were driven to the peak a little after midnight. The chef prepared a take-away overnight meal of pizza for us for our climb (which was really good), and they had a fabulous breakfast prepared after our return. Sana (our driver throughout the stay) then took us on a tour of some of the local waterfalls and the tea estates the following afternoon before we had to leave. The area surrounding Hatton is extremely beautiful and the drive from there into Colombo, while curvy, is stunning in many places. Sana knew every great photo-op on the way.

Re: the Bungalow itself, our room was clean, quiet, and cool. In fact, the hills are so much cooler than other areas in Sri Lanka we didn't need to use the A/C or fan during our stay. The food, as we mentioned before, was fantastic, and we enjoyed just sitting and looking over the fields. The staff was very professional and friendly throughout our stay. Sana was one of the safest drivers we've had in Sri Lanka, which was very reassuring for my wife. The only minor con we might mention is that the staff sometimes seemed a little too eager to please, although they certainly met all our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamal-dubai, Owner at Tea Hill's Bungalow, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We feel fully satisfied when we receive the comment from our Guest. I will pass your comment to my staff's specially Mr.Sana for taking care of you, making your stay memorable. Tea Hills will look forward to receive you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
57
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you are thinking of a short break or a longer one and a relaxing place then Tea hill bungalow should be your choice. Don't think twice just pack and go and you will never regret.
What a place, beautiful, kind and a friendly staff who knew what they are doing everything was well organized..
Normally I don't think of going to the same destination twice for holiday as I like to explore new places but for sure I will go to Tea hills again, mainly cause I liked the place, people, food and the care I received, I just felt I was at home.

Amazing and well done The Tea Hills team...

Thank you
H. Ally

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hussein A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My holiday in Sri Lanka was one of my best holidays, I enjoyed the activities. Tea hills bungalow was very nice, my room was connected to a huge balcony with an amazing view of tea plantation.
The staff were very organized, friendly, kind and caring. The bungalow location was good, the cook at the bungalow was very professional and charming.
What you get at Tea hill is a five star service and more than what one can expect.

Me and my family are for sure going back for a longer stay.

Ayesha Hussein

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyeshaH103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamal-dubai, Owner at Tea Hill's Bungalow, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
I am delighted to see a comment from a young valuable guest. I will pass all your comments to my staff's., I am sure all your comments will motivate my staff's. Thank you very much for you time. I am happy to see you want to visit us again, we will do our best to make your holiday enjoyable.

Thank you again for coming to our Tea Hills Bungalow, we really enjoyed taking care of you and your family. We are totally depending on the repeat business by giving our best service to our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had an amazing and wonderful holiday in Srilanka. Entire trip was very enjoyable. Very personalized service. We were looked after from the time we landed until we left Srilanka. My family enjoyed each single moment and each single activity organised. 5* service provided, staff were very friendly, helpful and caring. Sanjay and his team was there all the time to make sure all your needs are taken care. Tea hill bungalow was amazing, so huge, so beautiful, so clean, it was just home away from home. Without forgetting about the food which was just excellent,

I highly recommend everyone to visit Tea Hill bungalow for a relaxing time.

We are definitely going back again soon.

Nuru Al Junied & Family

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuruA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was our second marriage anniversary and we planned to visit Sri Lanka at the Tea Estates Bungalow. We stayed at the Tea Hills Bungalow. Right from the pickup from the airport the journey has been memorable one. Bouquet of one of the most beautiful and colourful flowers is waiting for you at the Airport. Sanjay the manager of the resort is there to receive you with a smile at the airport. A little far from the airport you are served a very refreshing and fresh coconut water followed by lunch at a nice restaurant. That was our first meal in Sri Lanka and we had Sri Lankan cuisine. What a way to start your vacations. The Tea Hills bungalow is in Hatton which is around 3 hours from the airport. One doesn’t feel the distance as there is lot to see on the way to Hatton. The best part about the entire trip that each and every day is well planned and designed by Kamal and Sanjay (Manager of the bungalow). But they are flexible and you can plan it out yourself as well. The food throughout the journey was great. The Chefs at the Tea Hills bungalow can prepare Sri Lankan, Indian cuisine along with Pastas and pizza. My wife is a vegetarian and she had ample options. The team of 5 working at the Tea Hills bungalow is very organized and proactive. They take care of each and every request of yours. They are very friendly and will always have a smile on their face. On the day of our Wedding Anniversary the Chefs prepared some excellent Barbeque chicken and Fish alongwith some mouthwatering vegetarian preparations. It is a perfect place for the nature loving people. Another interesting thing is that one is always connected to the world thru Wifi which is available wherever you go (Be it bungalow, car or hotel) and is provided by the team at Tea Hills Bungalow. All in all it was a great experience and we enjoyed a lot. Waterfalls, tea estates, Church, Buddha temple, Adams peak, Elephant orphanage, Sri Lankan dance are a few attractions which are part of the entire package. The entire tour was well organized and all credit goes to Kamal , Sanjay (manager) , Sana ( intern) and the entire team at the Tea Hills bungalow for making it a memorable and one of the most enjoyable tour .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gkumar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Me and my husband had amazing 5 days in shrilanka,few hours ride from the colambo airport we reached to tea hill bungalow,a very beautiful location, had a warm welcome by the staff.from there we went to different places,loved the elephant orphanage and the ride on kumari(a female elephant).got to see beautiful waterfalls,We got much more then expected.staff was very polite and courteous.Food was freshly prepared and was delicious.manger Sanjay was really helpful and made our trip really comfortable.we were celebrating our wedding anniversary,and the staff made our anniversary memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepti_par83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I really enjoyed holidays in Sri Lanka. Travelled with my friend and my father and must say everyone was really happy and satisfied with the services provided in Tea Hill's Bungalows. Good central location within the island allowed us to travel around and see many places in very short time. Package offered was amazing and full of activities which you can also modify a bit according to your taste. Staff working in Tea Hill's Bungalows is very friendly and helpfull always trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Most of our nights we spent in comfy Tea Hill's Bungalows but stay in natural tree cabanas was amazing too. Cabanas surrounded by nature and tea plantations is memorable overnight experience which was even enhanced with 2 fishing trips to a nearby lake. Short trek through the tea plantations took around 30 min to reach the lake in one way. There were many other activities waiting for us - water rafting + jungle trekking, night climb of Adam's peak (here expect many stairs and paved way to reach the top but it all had its spirit and beauty). We also explored Kandy - ancient city in the heart of Sri Lanka, went to see elephant's washing and experience elephant's riding and went for a short stroll to see main waterfalls within the mountain area. All this in 5 days so if you are looking for adventure, beautifull views or a little bit of culture this is the great way how to comfortable arrange your trip to Sri Lanka. No need to look for transportation, accommodation in different parts of Sri Lanka on your own - just follow the itinerary which will be even modified according to your needs if needed and enjoy it all. Everything will be arranged for you and this package is really worth it. Value for the money - great holidays, memorable experiences and especially great staff who will be taking care after you all the time. Many thanks to everyone who made this time spent in Sri Lanka special for us. All the best and keep it up :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
2.9 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
98 reviews
17.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,505 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ceylon Tea Trails
#1 of 1 in Hatton
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Greendale Bungalow
The Greendale Bungalow
#2 of 18 in Hatton
37 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hatton Summer House
Hatton Summer House
#2 of 15 in Hatton
21 reviews
1.6 mi away
Daynish Rock Bungalow
Daynish Rock Bungalow
#4 of 18 in Hatton
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Hill's Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Hill's Bungalow

Property: Tea Hill's Bungalow
Address: Lynd Hurst | Fruit Hill, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tea Hill's Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Hill's Bungalow Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing