We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a family vacation or a relaxing...”
other travelers have booked this property
Night time at Haughian's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Night time at Haughian's Cottage
Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Night time at Haughian's Cottage
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ballymartin, Kilkeel, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nikolaus...
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
“Perfect for a family vacation or a relaxing weekend.”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in May 2018

The cottage could not have been more wonderful. It was tailor made for us and our two small children. The perfectly kept garden, fully equipped with swing-set, seesaw, picnic table etc. was just perfect to relax on and take in the stunning scenery whilst our son played with his ball, which was given to him as a welcoming gift (unbelievably thoughtful of Paula). We were delighted to find welcoming gifts for us as well. Although our consisted of wine and some other goodies! The cottage was immaculately well kept with all of the modern luxuries one could hope for mixed together with the rustic charm one expects of such a location. The area is absolutely stunning with more to offer than one could hope for. The owner, Paula, was extremely forth-coming and made us feel right at home and treated us like close friends from the get go. We could not have felt more welcome. I highly recommend a stay at the cottage. We will do our best to re-visit. I almost forgot to mention the two pet donkeys, Peggy and Sue. What a wonderful surprise they where!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2018
Thank you Nikolaus for being the perfect guest. Your family are so beautiful and charming. I really do appreciate your kind words. As you know this job is a passion for me personally and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I did feel you were friends and not guests! You were very courteous, respectful and appreciative of all that the cottage had to offer. You took care of the cottage as though it were your own home.I would dearly love to see you all back sometime in the future, only for a few extra days so you can squeeze in more sightseeing! Lots of love
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely cottage in the heart of some of the nicest walks in the Mournes . Lovely friendly host , comfy rooms , cosy stove and the nice touch of a welcome pack with wine and nibbles. Views are amazing all around - will be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2018
Thank you Joanne. I really appreciate your kind words. I’m so glad you and your sons had a very active few days. The elements definitely did not stop you having fun at Silent Valley, climbing Big Binnian and generally sightseeing. I’m so happy you enjoyed the simple life of the cottage and looking out at all the views. I would so love to have you and your family back again. Very appreciative of the fact that a previous guest, Robert, mentioned my cottage to you. Look forward to seeing you very soon, I hope.
Warmest wishes
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place,great location”
Reviewed April 8, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fourth stay in 12 months speaks for itself.The cottage is the perfect place to chill out and get away from it all.Paula who greets you is very friendly and welcoming and on our visits has always left nibbles,chocolate and wine!The views are stunning and loads of nice walks minutes away.You wont be disappointed if you decide to stay here,we are already planning our next visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
Thank you Robert and Carla. It is such a pleasure to welcome you back each time....you are guests of the year.....might be two bottles of wine next time! You are a lovely couple and I enjoy chatting with when you arrive. It is reassuring to know my wee cottage is in very safe hands, with people who respect and look after it with love. Thank you Rob and Carla, see you soon xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
Hello Eugene, Deborah and Daniel. It was an absolute pleasure having you as guests in the wee cottage. Glad I had a proper teapot for you Eugene! You treated the cottage with love and respect and enjoyed all the facilities surrounding the area. I look forward to seeing you back in June. Lots of love
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mrs Sarah...
1 review
“Simply amazing!”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The wee cottage is a cosy, comfortable home from home. The weather for the Easter weekend was .... changeable, but we didn't allow it to spoil our much needed break in the beautiful Mourne mountains. The cottage has everything anyone could need, it is spotlessly clean and it's owner Paula, is extremely friendly and whilst running a business is genuinely keen that her customers enjoy their time in the cottage. Coming from Co. Down ourselves we are a little biased but the Mournes and surrounding coastal towns and villages are simply beautiful, even when there is a gale blowing and the mist is rolling in from the sea and down from the mountains sometimes at the same time! We wish Paula well with this venture and would have no hesitation in returning to the cottage or recommending it to our family and friends. Thank you again Paula xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2018
Hello Joanne, Stephen and boys. Thank you for such a wonderful review, very generous of you. I loved meeting you and having a good old yarn. You are really a lovely family indeed and wish you some happiness and peace in the near future. I am so happy when my guests are happy, and you certainly made the most of your stay. Thank you for booking my cottage, it is a real pleasure to meet wonderful people such as you all. Good luck in the near future and I hope your dreams come true! Lots of love
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P M
1 review
“Great cottage for a stay in the Mournes”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Spent a great weekend here for our youngest sons 1st birthday. Located in the countryside with great views of the Mourne mountains, the cottage is within 15 minutes drive of Kilkeel & Newcastle.
Loved the comfy cottage with real fire, & large garden (older kid had great fun on swing & slide!).
Our host Paula was very friendly & welcoming (many thanks for the welcome pack & Joanne's Mothers day gift). Would definitely recommend this location to friends, and will hopefully return sometime to see more of the sights.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2018
Hello David and Joanne, Jamie and Johnny. Thank you for lovely review. I really enjoyed meeting all of you. I am so delighted you had a great time in the Mournes. The weather didn’t deter you from sightseeing and making the most of your time. Thank you for looking after the cottage so well, you treated it like your own home. I very much appreciate that. I would love to see you all back again some day, perhaps Jamie will learn off more card games! Gorgeous boys indeed.
Take care for now and see you soon.
Lots of love
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannecas...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage & location for a relaxing break”
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Had a lovely weekend in Paula & Colin's beautiful 100yr old cottage for my one year old's birthday. Cosy and unique with beautiful views as far as the eye can see. Central to a load of attractions, we will hopefully get back to explore some more. Thank you! Joanne, David, Jamie & Johnny x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2018
Joanne, David, Jamie and Johnny are such a gorgeous family, an absolute delight to have as guests. Unfortunately the weather was not kind to them, but they made the most of the few days. They treated the cottage as their own home, looking after it, cleaning it meticulously on their departure. Thank you! The boys enjoyed playing on the swings, slide and see-saw, they thought they had their own wee play park for themselves. I really enjoyed chatting with them, making me feel like a friend. How lovely. I would really love to see them all back again. Little Jamie can continue playing with all the ‘ old fashioned toys’ in the basket.
They so appreciated the welcome pack and indeed the Mother’s Day gift!
Hope to see you all soon
Warmest wishes
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing