We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By the rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulder Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalawana
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“By the rainforest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you’re interested to see the most accessible rainforest of the world, Sinharaja, Boulder Gardens is a decent place to stay. Constructed amid large boulders, the quiet boutique resort also offers a guided walk through the boulder caves in the vicinity.

The swimming pool, shaded by a large boulder, is the perfect place to relax your bones after a visit to the rainforest. The rooms are spacious and good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNightjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    54
    22
    19
    9
See reviews for
23
97
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Boulder garden is an excellent design, we couldn't believe how it was built in those huge boulders, actually it is a boulder garden. the room was very big and arranged, decorated very beautifuly and was very clean. the walls were excellently finished by using granite, it is remarkable. but there were some dunked gang (hope at the hotels' backyard) when we were check - in, i heard they were shouting looked like a hassle. that was terrible. i saw them clearly from the window, they were too angry, cant believe that kind of behavior from humans, because srilankans are very friendly. they smile every time. but trust me the hotel staff was great, they served us as friends, specially the restaurant and kitchen staff, the 7 course dinner was excellent. hope that kind of hassle will not happen again at the hotel. the management must think about that. that's' the only disappoint we hat at the great hotel.

Room Tip: standard room number 112, is really good for overnight, and it is on the top with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaminims76, Manager Sales & Marketing at Boulder Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Mr. william,

we acknowledge with many thanks for your review as A HASSLE ON 31ST DECEMBER. it is indeed pleasure for us to hear your great comments except the above subject. hope you hadn't knew the actual situation happen at there. the hotel staff members were practiced a drama at there to play for delight you on the 31st night. but we couldn't play it due to heavy load of work. if you had ask the reason for that from a staff member, that would be great. if that happened we would be able to explain the real thing happened at there. we highly appreciate your great understanding on this. trust you will be kind enough to contact us if need further clarifications.

Gamini Ranathunga,
Manager Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Boulder garden is truly an Architectural wonder! An absolutely clever design, and I agree with all the other travellers when they say that it is NOT for the faint hearted and strictly for Nature lovers.

The staff were great starting with the reservations dept.Chandimala, front office Ananda and Sarath and chef/kitchen Wijith.

The place is stunning and the dining area is majical in the evenings. Dining under a rock with the view of the beautiful pool reflecting the light of the lamps ....and the sound of rustling leaves and crickets! It can't get more romantic than that!!

The cave tour is a must and there's plenty to do....bird watch, trek, drive to Sinharaja etc.

Loved the whole experience.

The only negative points or rather improvements that I can point out is that the interior furniture/fit out could be miles better, esp with a stunning design like that!

Also there was no bar menu or wine available by the glass...so best to take your own.

Apart from this it was truly a memorable experience!

Room Tip: Only saw and stayed at 112 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oshani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

After two hours rough drive, we came to this lovely place located bordering the Sinharaja forest, which is the largest rain forests in Sri Lanka. My journey was much comfortable thanks to my 4w SUV and it is recommended to use a 4w vehicle for this journey. As some reviewers mentioned, this place would not be a perfect destination if you are looking for star class facilities. But it would be THE best place for nature lovers. I enjoyed the stay breathing fresh air straight from the rain forest without air conditioners and the dining area under the natural rock cave. Swimming pool was not that big but it's worth having a swim as the water is so clean and fresh than anywhere else.

Room Tip: Room located close to dining area and with a good view of the forest would be ideal as most of the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Boulder Garden is not for everyone, but if you love adventure, this is a place you'll never forget! The hotel is designed to harmonize with the surrounding rock structures. There are a lot of steps to climb, but the ascent is so worth it! I am a firm believer that destination hotels should be judged on their own merit, and aren't readily comparable to others. What The Boulder Garden seeks to achieve is accomplished 110%. It has a zen-like tranquility that emanates from the amazing rock formations and surrounding rainforest. There is a breath-taking serenity that comes from strolling among the numerous terraces and walkways surrounded by the rich fauna and flora of the area. The hospitality of the staff was excellent, and the cuisine absolutely amazing - a level of quality that we did not find elsewhere in Sri Lanka (and this was our second trip). But this is not a venue for the fair-hearted - there are leaches in the forested areas, there is no WiFi nor AC (in the spirit of eco-friendliness). There are a LOT of stairs (and no lift). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but the Boulder Gardens is best evaluated in the context of glamping - not the Ritz-Carlton.

Room Tip: I believe there are only twelve rooms at the Boulder Gardens, and each has its own character, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

From the moment we both stepped out of the vehicle….we felt totally out of this world. We did not see the hotel until we climbed up the steps into an open natural heaven of a lobby. We were greeted by the front office staff and reservations manager. The check in process was so relaxed and were treated to a very refreshing welcome drinks! Then we were shown into our suite! Well….what can we say???? Never seen any boutique hotel like this before, It had character, it was natural and luxury same time. We loved the open plan. We were in suit 115.
We loved all the stone steps that we climbed up to reach the stunning open restaurant that was under the rock. The fresh water pond with fish and the swimming pool was amazing with natural spring water. The Gourmet 7 course candle light dinner was so romantic, food was top class and great wine selection. Suite was very comfortable and romantic, the FREE cave tour from the hotel was a great experience on our first day. The welcoming and friendly staff of the hotel was so helpful!!!! Especially the restaurant staff. We did the Rainforest tour organized by the hotel and they provided us yummy breakfast picnics. Ananda from the restaurant organized a great tea factory tour free of charge. We thoroughly enjoyed that tip too. The 3 days we were here was so relaxing and we experienced the fascinating bird watching. We saw near 25-3-0 different kind of birds around the hotel. We will never forget the Boulder Garden hospitality and the warm welcome from the boutique hotel staff that made our stay extra special. So thank you very much!!!! We will recommend this hotel anyone who loves nature.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Outstanding location, the rock formations and forest setting are amazing. The hotel is so well hidden that you are inside the rocks before you make the reception. You need to be fit as there are many steps within the hotel but the situation is so extraordinary that it is all worth it.Our room had it's own roof terrace for watching the wildlife which was exceptional. Nothing prepared us for the location of the dining room under a large overhanging rock! The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent, and the service attentive. We stayed two nights and wished it had been longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CGPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalawana
17.7 mi away
OwinRich Resort
OwinRich Resort
#1 of 1 in Godakawela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
13.9 mi away
Ratnaloka Tour Inn
Ratnaloka Tour Inn
#2 of 2 in Ratnapura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Rainforest Ecolodge
The Rainforest Ecolodge
#1 of 11 in Deniyaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sinharaja Adventure Resort
17.3 mi away
Lake Serenity Boutique Hotel
8.7 mi away
Sinharaja Seyana Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulder Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulder Garden Hotel

Property: Boulder Garden Hotel
Address: Sinharaja Rd | Koswatta, Kalawana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kalawana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalawana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulder Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulder Garden is a unique hotel build in a land filled with extraordinary giant boulders and bat filled caves, very close to the Sinharaja world heritage rain forest.we are very close to the nature, hence your stay will be a remarkable Eco experience in an unbelievable construction.We arrange you complementary cave tour, Village walk, tea estate and tea factory visit as per your request.Boulder Garden is the best place for experience the true feeling of nature with the smell of Sinharaja rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boulder Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulder Garden Kalawana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing