We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yala Safari Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We really had a great safari throughout the day. Our main target was to see the leopard and the driver helped us so much and he had to race all the way to the spot when we heard the news leopard was roaming somewhere around and yeah we did not miss it!! As driver said, we were lucky enough to see a bear as well at the end of the day. Our food was served at a beautiful location near a lake. Overall it was wonderful experience. Thanks a lot Mahesh and team.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank MA1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a wonderful safari thanks to the well run operation of Mahesh and his team. The weather was very helpful and the drizzle brought out the animals. Understood later that we were very fortunate that we could see virtually all the animals in the park - leopard, elephants, crocodiles, deer, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Surendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a great experience with Yala Safari Camping. They were very professional and gave us great value for the money. We were excited to see a leopard, elephants, deer, water buffalo, many small animals, and a wide variety of beautiful birds. The camping was much better than we thought it would be. It was luxurious! The food was gourmet and the beverages were plentiful! Great friendly staff who made sure all had an amazing experience! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We enjoyed one day of Safari in the beautiful Yala Safari Park. We had made arrangements to be picked up at the Hotel in Kirinda early in the morning for one full day of Safari. We experienced a day full with animals, birds and beautiful scenary. The guide was very professional and seemed to be especially good at birds. We were very fortunate to spot the elusive Leopard twice! Ones just hundreds meters in front of the car.
We highly recommend Yala Safari Camping.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Patrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had chosen a two day safari and will highly recommend it.
First of all we also booked the pickup from our hotel in Hikkaduwa with Yala Safari Camping it was very easy to make the arrangement. The driver to the park was very friendly and tried to help us in the best way. Sam (our safaridriver) was very experienced and he was very quick to spot any animal. We were very close to most of them, and Sam the driver tried to fulfil all our wishes.
The night camp was awesome. All new tents with bathrooms and new double beds. The food was homemade and really tasty and the vine was great. All persons involved in our trip, tried to do their very best, with an outstanding service. We will recommend Yala Safari Camping to anyone and we will love to return another time.
Thanks a lot from Hanne, John, Susanne and jan from Denmark

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank 居酒屋やまちゃん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank sdallafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
8.9 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,568 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,681 reviews
8.2 mi away
Uga Chena Huts
Uga Chena Huts
#3 of 39 in Yala National Park
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
#6 of 39 in Yala National Park
225 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ruhunu Safari Camping
Ruhunu Safari Camping
#7 of 39 in Yala National Park
118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 5 in Katagamuwa
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yala Safari Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yala Safari Camping

Address: Yala Block II Road, Yala National Park 62800, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Yala National Park
Price Range: $607 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yala Safari Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2004, the team of Yala Safari Camping has built up its own well-earned and well established reputation as one of the best safari adventure provider in Yala National Park. We have more than four and half years’ experience as a high quality safari camping provider in the National Park of Yala and the campsite is located in the buffer zone, alongside of the border of the park. The campsite is run by a talented and a customer oriented team and each has their special talents relevant to their role and years of experience. Thus, the campsite and the staff guarantees first class amenities and services that each and every guest remembers for life time. Our all the safari guides were born in Yala village itself and educated, English speaking and have experienced the jungle from their early childhood. A genuinely warm welcome of Yala Safari Camping awaits for you with fresh and delicious food. Guests are free to select traditional Sri Lankan cuisine along with Barbeque, Chinese, Mexican, Italian, Mongolian and Indian cuisine. Our campsite is the best place to see Sri Lankan leopards by bare eyes or to capture them by a camera on sight. Sloth bears, elephants, wild water buffaloes, deer, elks, a huge variety of colorful aquatic birds, crocodiles, toque macaque, golden palm civet, red slender loris, fishing cat and other reptiles are some of the wildlife that guests can discover at Yala National Park. All the guests can uncover the secrets of the quality of safari camping and hospitality of us, If You Decide to Stay with Us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Yala Safari Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing