We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Park on the beach, not too many animals:)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yala National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yala Safari Game Lodge
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This game lodge works with respect to being in a great location with access to the park,

efficient staff provide nice local cuisine - and the sit outs next to the rooms provide a comfortable are to relax and for us to have a drink with family travelling with us.

The mosquitos were a bit of a nuisance, but its nothing an odomos or any other repellant cannot take care off...

Overall very nice place to relax, but the game reserve itself was not much to write home about

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zia_zaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 61 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

Rooms were very basic - a note in the room said that was so there were fewer places for bugs to hide, shame there was a massive dead beetle that nobody had cleared up since the last guests!
Food wqas very basic compared to other hotels in Sri Lanka, with limited choice and not such helpful staff as elsewhere. The bar area was tiny.
We did two safaris, the first was great and we saw a lot of wildlife (including elephant, leopard and lots of birds), the second was not so good as our driver was rather speedy and the guide was busy texting his friends so we spotted a lot more than he did!

This is one of the only hotels you can stay at to get into the park, so you are a captive audience really unless you stay further away and get up super early to get in. I wouldn't recommend teh hotel itself but I would certainly say the Yala is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Having been on safari in South Africa I was very excited about the chance of staying in a safari style environment again. Yala was wonderful and by far the nicest place to stay in the area having visited a few hotels and rejecting them for lacking character and atmosphere! This was a lovely place, wild boar and monkeys everywhere! On safari we spotted leopards, elephant, huge python, buffalo etc - brilliant. My husband had never done safari before and was addicted!
Nice food at this hotel too, staff were attentive, pool was clean and there was table tennis and pool for the evenings entertainment. Lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbernator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

worried about booking this hotel after seeing some really bad reviews early in the year. Trailfinders assured us they had had no problems so we did book because of its location.
The cabins are clean, showers are as reported scratched plastic so don't look too good but acceptable. We had a problem switching the bedroom light on all the other lights worked. Within minutes of picking up the phone to report it a couple of men came and checked the switch in a fusebox on the wall, couldn't ask for quicker service.
Outside the room a family of wild boar wandered passed, big squirrels were in the trees by the pool, crocodile by the lake, monkeys everywhere. Didn't see any elephants here this time.The pool was a shallow one more suited to cooling than swimming but was very welcome.
The staff in the snack bar, bar and buffet couldn't have been more helpful and friendly if they had tried. The food and drinks were we thought fairly priced and fine considering where we were. All in all we were very pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2003millie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had stay the Yala safari lodge for 1 night in order to visit the national part.
The hotel is located within the park areA and same is very convenient for the visit to the park.


The hotel is nice and we would like the small lake in front of the restaurant. The restaurant is located on
the 2nd floor of the small tower and offer great view. The best view is offered on the top floor which during the day it offer
an amazing view of the park area. Rooms are of average side and it rather basic but ok for a night. In general the cost is rather on the high side
but the alternative in the area are limited.

Food was just ok and breakfast was nice.

A Good place of you want to visit the Yala park


We went for safari in the afternoon and we avoid the early weak up in the middle of the night if you wish to have the safari in the morning as you must star at 0500.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROULA-THANOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The hotel is definitely geared towards mass tourism but the rooms are clean and very comfortable and the service excellent if a little inpersonal. The food however is dreadful, buffet style with odd choices and the night before's curry appearing for breakfast the following morning is a bit of a stomach turner!!! The safari on the other hand was fantastic. We were unsure what to expect as we clambered into a pretty old defender but our guides despite their limited English tried their upmost to show us as much as they could. We saw 3 leopards (apparently they can go for a few weeks without seeing any as there are only 35 in that area of the park), 2 elephants, a few crocodiles, monkeys, deer and plenty of exotic birds. Note - as with everything else in Sri Lanka the guide and driver will expect a tip and as they had clearly tried so hard for us we gave 1000 rupees each (approx £6 each) So worth a stay for the safari and morning trips out are apparently the best!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank owengle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Really great - inside the National Park which makes a HUGE difference. Go on at least 3 game drives to maximise chances of seeing leopard - evenings tend to be best and avoid rainy times. Great view, good pool, lovely accomodation - good family bungalows. You will see elephant and have a good chance of leopard - be quiet though! A little over exuberant drivers when a big cat is spotted.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StockbrokerbeltCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
0 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,657 reviews
0 mi away
Thaulle Resort
Thaulle Resort
#1 of 14 in Tissamaharama
369 reviews
0 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Saraii Village
Saraii Village
#8 of 14 in Tissamaharama
293 reviews
0 mi away
Ekho Safari Hotel
Ekho Safari Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tissamaharama
600 reviews
0 mi away
Laya Safari
Laya Safari
#5 of 47 in Yala National Park
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yala Safari Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yala Safari Game Lodge

Address: Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yala National Park
Price Range: $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yala Safari Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Also Known As:
Yala Safari Game Hotel Yala National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing